Giant Clam

harrywwh

Thinking of keeping some Giant clam, but don't know much about them...Also heard that some crabs might pose potential danger to them, is it true and can anyone share his experience in keeping them.

I have only 2 X 20W FL tube, and is on around 10 hours a day.

A weipro 2011 skimmer and 7 fishes in 2.5 tank. :thanks:

post-7-1073533815.jpg

Thinking of keeping some Giant clam, but don't know much about them...Also heard that some crabs might pose potential danger to them, is it true and can anyone share his experience in keeping them.

wad attached pic is this?

u r using FL tube huh..

then forget about it.. dont waste money...

you need MH lighting for clam...

well not really crab will pose a danger unless it's too big..

clam worm and other worm also pose a danger.. not to mention about other shrimp too..

dun think your PL light will be enought for the giant clam

for your tank, you can consider upgrading your light to ATI T5 light instead..then you can consider keeping this giant clam..

crabs and pyramid snails do pose a danger to clams~~~

hmmmz... mine is the one wif blue lines on itz legs... or maybe itz blue legged... not very sure... and oso got one halloween.... clam/reef-safe? den got a few noe the tiny tiny hermits... but i see ML's display tank... got clam and snail.... crab dunno got... but his clams like open until quite nice lehz...

The lightings r not enough. BTW is that the clam in ur pic. attached?

Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben!

I guess some of you guys might think that you really need MH to keep Clams and those light-demanding corals, but the actual fact is the death of the tank or the animal from the source of the lighting itself, not about whether is it MH or PL or FL, MH is the best choice is due to the fact that the ray of light can penatrate deeper into the tank.

precisely, the quality output of metal halide is much better than FL or PC. therefore you would need less watts per gallon to raise SPS and clams under MH than you would using PL or FL lighting. Therefore MH is the best choice, energy saving. raising SPS and Clams under PL lighting has been done successfully by quite a few ppl. But the general guideline is to go with MH as they give quality light output. otherwise get sufficient PL lighting over your tank and you MIGHT be fine

Hi !

I read on clams....saying that some clams species requires less lights than others...and smaller clams require less light than larger ones. As a whole, clams do require stronger lightings.

I also read a foreign article posted, courtesy by AT on "LIGHTINGS" requirements for Marine Tank. It mentioned and explained the importance about "INTENSITY" of lightings received; NOT on WATT per Gallaon.

Exaggerated examples...if you have a MH light...but light source is 10~20ft away from tank surface ....as compared to an FL, 3 inches away from tank surface....does it mean that MH is definitely better and brighter...considering watts per gallon ?

Bottom line :- It is the measure of Intensity of light reaching the Corals/ Clams. Not measured by the Watts per Gallon.

Quote and unquote : Given by the expert opinion, FL (VHO - Very High Output type) and T5 provides sufficient intensity and it is most energy efficient. Only 30W to 60W as compared to MH's minimum 150W~400W. Not forgeting you seriously need a chiller if you use 250W & above MH. But MH is widely believed to be the best...since it has the highest intensity and rippling light effect ; given the deeper depth penetration (especially if you have a deep tank).

However, if it is a shallow tank...say 1.5ft depth, I wonder is a MH really neccessary or cost/ energy effecient (150W to 400W) ? However, it would be good for some who thinks long term...and do not need to ungrade its lightings if future.

:whistle There had been a lot of "EXCHANGES" on this topic...but personally, I use 4x 36W FL (10K ~20K) tubes on my 4x1.5x2FT tank. I placed all my four clams (3" to 5")at about 6~9" from light source. (Distance from light source/ intensity is very impt) Had them for about four months.....growing in size...with nice colours.

:evil: I know many may disagree....but I think what the article mentioned on "lightings" make sense.

:shock: Please dun kill me......Cheers !!!

Golf

watt per gallon = rough but lousy gauge,. Used to gauge FL lights..

Giant clams with very vibrant colours need better light intensity. Infact one of the smallest of the giant clams, the crocea clam, need much more light than one of the biggest clam, the Squamosa clam, Therefore light requirement not dependent on it's size, but the colouration of the clam, in other words the amount of light demanding zooxanthelle algae present. Watts per gallon rule is phased out in the marine reefkeeping hobby because it does not work for small tanks, and different lightings have different efficiency. PL and t5 lights will actually, compared to the same wattage of MH, light your tank brighter, but bright doesn't mean intense. PL = efficient as it gives off bright light with less wattage. PL lights gives 3 times or more the intensity of FL lights. Therefore 60watts of FL can be equivalent to using 20watts of PL. MH however gives good spectrum, intensity and PAR. I am not an expert on this, This is just from what I understand. Maybe some lighting expert explain better?? :fear:

Thanks for not killing....otherwise no chance to comment liao! Ha! Ha!

I agree, Brightness NOT EQUAL to Intensity...right on man ! Intensity and not wattage the true neasurement.

Hey, just to clarify...the FL you refer to are those normal ones....article mentioned on "VHO- Very High Output" FL type. They are different, you know..ke...ke...

Golf

From someone who has started up marine with FL, and upgraded to a hood jammed packed with PLs.... to 150w x 2 to 400w x 4.... trust me when I say.... MHs are the best thing since roti prata and fish curry.... :)

You can keep everything you want with MH.... so if you can... skip all the FLs and PLs and pershaps even T5s... you won't regret the high intensity, glitter lines and colours of MH.

I wasted so much money on bulbs that lose intensity within a few months, overheating with PLs so much so that the bulbs will blacken due to heat, the caps can melt, the glass shield can crack... all these need replacements and they are not that cheap in the medium and long term.

Why worry about how much nearer you have to place SPS and clams to the water surface? It may not be very natural in the reef tank to see clams right under the water surface when they look better on the sandbed... and sadly... FL/PL/T5s have their limitations in depth penetration.