Metal Halide 150Watt 10,000Kelvin

ryz

Just bought MH 150w 10,000Kelvin lughting. And I find it too yellow!!! What should I do? I'm gonna mount it over my 3 ft soon. SHould I add actinics?? But If I push the actinics to only the front or the back, only one side will get the light. What should I do? Get 2?? Then it'll cost me almost as much as the MH. Do anyone have the same problem with 10,000Kelvin bulbs?? Not too yellow meh?? I Like white and blue light better than I like yellow light.

What brand?

Ushio/BLV brand. Should be white but definitely won't be a bluish white bulb which I think is what you want. Anyway, the human eye has a built in white balance so how white a bulb is, is relative. I'm quite happy with the whiteness of Ushio bulbs. If you compare this with an Iwasaki side by side, I'm sure you won't think it's yellow anymore.

You mean my bulb is Ushio?? and is whiter than Iwasaki?? Maybe Haven't fully light up. I on for a while to test only. Haven drill holes in ceiling to hang. But what do I do if it's really too yelowish to me? Even my PL lighting looks nicer leh.

Yes the bulb is Ushio or BLV, but they are the same thing. They take about 5 minutes for the colour to stabilise at white. If you find it too yellow then you can either change the bulb to a bluer one or supplement with actinic or blue tubes.

Oh and one more thing. I find that my MH light is like damn heavy. The person who sold it to me said that these hooks can hold up to one ton. But I don't know how it works. I drill hole and just stuff it in?? But wouldn''t it just slip out?? My ceiling is not flat one leh. It has like blobs sprayed on. damn rough like got small stones in the ceiling to make it look nicer. So will the hooks still attach to the ceiling well?? Cuz I noticed theres a flat disc thats suppose to rest on the surface. But for my ceiling that cannot be flat on the surface. Therefore think the hook will be pushed out slightly.

Can someone teach me?

post-7-1073494178.jpg

slight correction....not the metal plate go bigger...but the shaft end into the wall will get bigger...hehe

thus gripping the hole you drilled.... ;)

if i am not wrong...its a 10mm size right?

start by drilling a 10mm hole and try to fit into the hole...

it may be hard to put it in....but its damn secure and definitely can hang heavy stuff :)

and reminder..dun overtighten....coz it will expand and expand till the spring inside may get damaged and then you end up with a permanent hook on the ceiling..hehe

as for the ceiling..i see that there are not so lump areas...drill into those non lumpy areas...

post-7-1073495182.jpg

If you feel that your tank still looks yellow even with blue supplementation, a very chance of it being rectified is with the usage of GAC.

You probably have a high level of tannnic & humic acids in your water and the yellowing compounds are blocking/reflecting a lot of light.

With regular usage of carbon, you will find your water much clearer... and the overall colour of your tank whiter.

Like to add that you can test for it by putting a strip of white paper or plastic underwater and see if its white or not. If its yellowish, you need to use carbon to 'polish' up the water.

More accurately, if you draw a thin yellow line on the white surface.... it will make it more apparent when you can't spot the difference.

:) ok doubts cleared! :) But have to wait till after CNY then my mother's friend will come to drill holes for me in the ceiling... :(

have to wait for so long.....

:(

Oh and btw, Tried the MH again. Switched it on for abt 5 mins and it was white! HAHA thanks guys!!!

sad.... long long long wait....

getting abt 40 kg of LR for the tank soon. Now only Water and substrate. It's a 3 ft tank BTW.

What are you saying, fuel? Did you just drink some reef builder by mistake?

hmm..no..tiger beer..not reef builder...

but yellowish tinge of the light should be around 6500K? I thought light around that color temperature accelerates sps growth well? Although they might not color up that well? :rolleyes:

Oh and btw, Tried the MH again. Switched it on for abt 5 mins and it was white! HAHA thanks guys!!!

:rolleyes: Did you not know that MH bulbs need time to warm up to the correct temperature? heh! Now you know!

hmm..no..tiger beer..not reef builder...

but yellowish tinge of the light should be around 6500K? I thought light around that color temperature accelerates sps growth well? Although they might not color up that well? :rolleyes:

I just drank a bottle of Hoegaarden and a heinekan... and I am still writing fine... u weakling!

Hello... lower colour temperature doesn't mean that it will produce better growth! It's higher PAR that's associated with 6500k MH bulbs that causes faster growth. 6500k is full spectrum.... unlike 20k... which is strong only in the blue end.

I am the person that sold him the lights.

The BLV will be very yellow when you just switch it on. Let it run for a couple of mins and it will turn blazing white :P

The size of the hook are M5 so you need a M5 drill bite. Don't worry about the strength, no problem to hold the MH lights.

Oh and one more thing. I find that my MH light is like damn heavy. The person who sold it to me said that these hooks can hold up to one ton. But I don't know how it works. I drill hole and just stuff it in?? But wouldn''t it just slip out?? My ceiling is not flat one leh. It has like blobs sprayed on. damn rough like got small stones in the ceiling to make it look nicer. So will the hooks still attach to the ceiling well?? Cuz I noticed theres a flat disc thats suppose to rest on the surface. But for my ceiling that cannot be flat on the surface. Therefore think the hook will be pushed out slightly.

Can someone teach me

Hi ryz, i believe the light u got is floodlight . if you find it heavy, you can relocate the ballast by using longer cable for the connection. that will surely lighten the weight. ;)