Terryz_ Posted January 7, 2004 Share Posted January 7, 2004 I was thinking of getting AquaC EV 120 for a 4ft tank(90 gallons)... Will it be effective... can it overskim my tank... Or should i get a AquaC EV 180... thkz.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member trevally Posted January 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2004 Was oso thinking abt getting a bigger skimmer for my tank. thinking of getting either H&S skimmer or Myreefcreations skimmer I rather overskim then under skim.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Coral_ClamS Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 so which can actually overskim a 4 footer. izzit and aquaC EV 120 or EV 180 ? which model of H&S is also suitable for overskimming? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 so which can actually overskim a 4 footer. izzit and aquaC EV 120 or EV 180 ? which model of H&S is also suitable for overskimming? definitely ev180 will skim better Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanggy Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 no harm getting bigger if can afford rite! thanks roidan for the ride bro. nice tank you have! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 no harm getting bigger if can afford rite! thanks roidan for the ride bro. nice tank you have! no problem... shhhh...dun praise lah....anyway..just a modest tank....no problem for the ride....... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 So which is just nice for a 4 ft... No extra money liao... hehe... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 i using h&S the 2001 model.. suitable for tank up to 850L.. my tank 4x2x2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 How much the H&S... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member trevally Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 hhhmm...terry, will u consider this? MR-2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 i have done similar homework before... deciding between MR2 or H&S 2001. MR2 needs at least the resun/iwaki clone pressure rated pump to perform since it is a beckett skimmer. so if u add up the $$, its around $800-900. H&S 2001 cost $633 if you get the promotional discount (buy 2 get 1 free, original $950). IMO, for a 4 footer, 2001 should be more than sufficient even u go for SPS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member trevally Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 ya..if only the promotion is still on, however if there is no promotion and the price for H&S 850L skimmer is going to be $900++ after new yrs. i think it is cheaper to get MR-2 . IMO, MR-2 seem to be a much better skimmer then H&S Skimmer, dun u agree? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 fully agree, if the price is the same, go for MR-2, afterall its a beckett skimmer the same consideration goes for EV-180 which cost only $700++ if u go with a Rio pump. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 maybe shld have a competition of skimmate qty ... (collection for the week, but of cos same capactiy range .. or does it matters) Gp1: first round : AquaC vs H&S second round : MR2 vs H&S third round : AquaC vs MR2 Gp2: first round : Becket vs ... second round : AquaMedic vs ... third round : paiseh knowledge/brand limited .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 9, 2004 Author Share Posted January 9, 2004 Is MR-2 sold in singapore.... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 not sold in singapore.. must order from myreefcreation in the US. andy is a very friendly guy, try email to him. he is able to customize to yr dimension too and needs. to consider a skimmer, i will consider the following in addition to skimmate: 1. pump needed and wattage (running $$) 2. ease of adjustment, whether its sensitive to water level 3. max gal it can process 4. dimension, whether it fits into your sump 5. wat are u keeping, SPS ? 6. finally, $$ the only disadvantage of H&S (which in fact its also its main advantage) is the needle wheel pump which if damage, can cost u $300+. but so far, feedback is that the pump is very reliable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member trevally Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 ya lor...if S*al**e has the promotion again, then i wont hesitate to get a H&S skimmer...else i will order from myreefcreations. Anyway, to get a MR-2 to singapore will also cost abt me abt SGD$600++. it only that MR-2 need a strong pumb to run while H&S skimmer is cheaper in a long run. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
choobaba Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 what about jetskim 100 ?? is it good ?? dont really c ppl talking about it ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...