White patches on LR like mould

Hihi...Sorry to do a second hijack...

I am really new to marine. Just added LR into my 3 ft tank, got a EHIEM Model 2213 cannister filter and a Ocean Free 1000 Power head for my tank...

I think they are rather insufficient for my 3 ft tank, but will it have any side effects?

Today I realised that some of my LRs have patches resembling white moulds growing on them. When I used my hand to rub it, it sort of disintergrate and falls off. Why and How to prevent?

• 6 months later...

could be coral remains or sponges :lol:

post-6-1090334154.jpg

Could be some form of rot. Had the same problem with my tank too when I was doing a new set-up. If it smells then it most probably is. Was advised by a lfs to wash it off. Then add in some multi water conditioner and increase the water movement.

We have already cycled the tank for a week with some live rocks and 1 hardy fish (as advised by the LFS :( ). Then we went to get more live rocks to add to the tank and noticed the white patches forming... felt a bit slimy too.

Auberon,

How did you wash the LRs? And what does the multi water conditioner do? Can we get them from any lfs and how much did you pay for yours? Any idea what caused the rot? (Oops, so many questions :paiseh: )

Blueheaven,

Thanks for the pic... the white patches didn't look like that though.

Actually should wash off with water from the tank during a water change. I did the no-no thing of washing with water direct from tap. Too lazy to haul a bucket of water from tank. Anyway the water conditioner I was using de-chloronates, is anti-stress, etc... Cost about $10+. Got mine from ML but any good LFS should be able to help you out.

My rot problem was most probably from over loading the system. Was transferring some LS from another problem tank. But too much at one time. some fishes died but didn't get to it in time so water was contaminated.

Though not to sure about why it happened to your week old cycle. Not really an expert but only know from experience. And of course my mistakes... :cry2:

I find that the white patches kind of sticks to the LR... so washing (I assume rinsing only), wouldn't really get them off. Any suggestions on how to clean it? :erm:

My hubby bought a solution that declorinates and stuff when we first started our tank... will go back and read if it's the same as the multi conditioner you mentioned.

Anyway, I suspect the "rot" problem to come from the new LRs we bought... cos after adding the LRs, the problem started. Oso realised that our original LRs didn't have the white patches. But LRs from lfs will have such problems one? Cos before that the water was fine... our old LRs are still fine (last checked this morn). We took out the new LRs last night... so hoping it won't "contaminate" our old LRs. :cry:

IMO : if u r cycling ur tank, it should be fine. Most likely it is some sponge but it is roting away while yr tank is going thru the cycle. I experienced that too, try to took it out but not easy as it just broke away. so left some of it to rot...........haha...no need to use mkt prawn to cycle the tank.

We have already cycled the tank for a week with some live rocks and 1 hardy fish (as advised by the LFS  :( ). Then we went to get more live rocks to add to the tank and noticed the white patches forming... felt a bit slimy too.

1 week old cycling tank. ;):eyebrow:

U'll see this happening in a cycling tank n actually don't need that hardy fish to do the process. No adding of LSs for now. :P

Hope u got those test kits to confirm. Enjoy the process. B)

Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben!

You can use an old tooth brush to brush the effected areas off.

ALso agree with Golden Tooth on not adding any more LS for now...

Took my LR about a week plus to recover.

Yes I do that too. Using toothbrush to brush off the mould. I do that in the tank while still cycling.

Ooh... can brush the LR in the tank. But so scared it'll "stress" the bi-colour fish in the tank. :erm: I do find the sight of the "patches" a bit gross... cos it's slimy and stinks :sick:

So this is normal in the cycling process? I thot it smelt like terrapin water. But after taking out those "new" LR... no more smell liow. :blink:

Can try using a power head to blow off the white stuff on the LR....had mine when I was cycling my tank too....took about 2 weeks before the white stuff (like tissue in the water) to get over....patience is the key.

sometimes if lucky, you won't get the white stuff. When I was cycling my new tank. No problems for three weeks. That was until I put more stuff in too fast.

Anyway you either brush the slime off in the tank or out of it. Personally couldn't tahan the stink so i did a quick brushing out side of the tank. Also changed a portion of the water.

Then of course had to put my hands in antiseptic to wash off the smell! :P

Hmmm...didn't had that problem when i cycled mine over more than 1/2 years ago - maybe it'll be good to post a pic of how it looks like? Then it might help problem solve better?

I am going to cycle another tank again !!! like falling in love (first love) once again so exciting !!

hello....just stumbled across your thread.

my tank also same as yours....1+ week cycling only. i cycle with fiji LR and damsels

that liverock slimy white thing you came across...i did too!

they're like this white grey stuff and very very slimy....i just brush them off with tooth brush....but some hard to reach ones will be left....not to worry because when i put the LR in, they start to fall off.

for me when i get the LR, i try to get rid of anything that "looks" feels or smells hostile....like that slimy thing i just mentioned and some ugly looking sponges. my LR is doing quite fine actually...so u might wanna try what i just said

also, i've found lots of tube worms baby ones, growing on the liverock....how cool is that! can sell somemore!!! muahahaha :yeah: