roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 hi all, i noticed some lice-like things near my floridas that look like pods or amphipods.... and a few floridas seem to have been eaten up slowly by them....coz i see the wriggly things moving around the floridas.... issit really possible that the pods eat floridas?? Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member CalciumReef Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 eaten up??take a pic to show us Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 sure not baby slugs??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 look like these leh... those i circled Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 they are around my sump like armies...i even see them fighting each other head to head... dunno leh.... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 eh.. my wife tik I surfin porno webby.. see the monitor so near n intense.. haha.. ! I no idea leh.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 I think everyone with ricordea at home will start doing that now...I go check mine later before I sleep Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 i think they are sea lice if i not wrong Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 sea lice???? wah liew...must isolate my rics from the sandbed liao.... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 oh wow! how many floridas have they eaten already. I think I better run go see mine if have any a few leh...they shrink and i see some of these creepy crawlies around..all along i tot they were harmless pods.... is different from melting....i better move them up to the main tank tomorrow on the rockworks... or maybe the pods crawl all over the floridas and they get irritated by the pods moving on top of them....so they shrink but i notice some of the edges like got eaten marks leh... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 that i think only might not be truth cos the shape look like and is the colour white in colour ?? Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 bro joe: any idea? got any cases of pods eating floridas or not..hehe Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 sorry bro.. hijack abit.. wad type of lighting is good enough for rics and yumas? PLs? or t5? or must be MH? temp must be at 26 ar? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 IMO.....T5 enough liaoz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 i had that in my tank too..... dunno wats that..., but all my corals seems ok...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 Tried enlarging and sharpening... but still can't really make it out... can you shoot in high res... and do a crop? Use macro mode. Looks like a copepod to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member CalciumReef Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 Copepods!I have them all over my tank walls..they dun disturb rics at all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 Copepods!I have them all over my tank walls..they dun disturb rics at all yeah..that was what i tot all along.....then i notice them very near..or even under the ricordia frags hiding....so i begun to suspect they eating ricordias for banquet dinner...LOL cant really get any better pics...they are really quite small...lol... anyway, i think they are pods too.. Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 Amphipod..those look exactly like the stuff that comes out from my canister after power d/c.... Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 ok...so everyone here can confirm that watever pods whether copepods or amphipods are not meat eaters hor......hehe Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 Get a scooter or mandarin your problems will be solved. I would suggest scooters...easier to wean onto frozen food. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 4, 2004 Share Posted January 4, 2004 They are eating detritus and stuff around your corals.. that's all... they won't eat corals... if something is eating your corals... I suspect shrimps... do you have hungry camel or skunk shrimps? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 They are eating detritus and stuff around your corals.. that's all... they won't eat corals... if something is eating your corals... I suspect shrimps... do you have hungry camel or skunk shrimps? ok....thats what i tot all along...that they are harmless little stuff the scurries around.... no shrimps around......no crabs even....just rics and clams.... think i get a mandarin to keep the population in check..hehe a spotted mandarin seems cute ;P they dun shift sand as much as gobies also Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nutx Posted January 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 4, 2004 This happen in your sump tank, right? Any problem with your clams? Could be some kind of mushroom disease that is spreading inside, and the pods is just happened to be around? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 4, 2004 Author Share Posted January 4, 2004 This happen in your sump tank, right?Any problem with your clams? Could be some kind of mushroom disease that is spreading inside, and the pods is just happened to be around? no problem with clams... most rics are fine..just a few that i see them not in good shape...maybe just a one-off thing....got myself worried..hehe probably dip some in iodide solution and see how.... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...