HOB skimmer for 32 gallon IOS tank

Hi all, i am thinking of getting a HOB skimmer for my 32 Gallon tank.

I do not have sump, but does have a IOS at the back of my tank.

Currently looking at Reef Octopus OTP 1000 and OTP 2000

OTP 1000 is recommended for up to 100 gallon

OTP 2000 is for 120 gallon

Their difference in price is around 50 dollars.

Will OTP 1000 be enough for my tank?

or is there a hidden specification between OTP 1000 and OTP 2000 that are not stated?

Any bros using OTP 1000 or 2000 care to share your experience?

Any suggestion for places where i can get them for gd price ? hehe :lol:

Should i let the skimmer run a few days before adding LS ? or can i just add the LS and skimmer together?

hi Fayeth the link by Tunicate is the 1 where a few hob skimmers were discussed.

btw, how much does the ro1000 n ro2000 cost?

pasar malam got mce600 selling $300

bh-1000 will cost around 160+- and bh-2000 will be 210+-.

Hi guys just reach home awhile ago, tried taking some photos... but my IOS is covered with black sticker and acrylic, so it's too dark to really visualize the compartment...

hence instead i drew a diagram of my IOS system with dimensions.

Do you guys think i can fit a in Aquarium Skimmer in?

post-19103-0-26693400-1300377336_thumb.g

Hi guys just reach home awhile ago, tried taking some photos... but my IOS is covered with black sticker and acrylic, so it's too dark to really visualize the compartment...

hence instead i drew a diagram of my IOS system with dimensions.

Do you guys think i can fit a in Aquarium Skimmer in?

Saw someone selling MC500, you guys think i can fit that in?

The only possible location for skimmer is your middle compartment because you need constant water level. (BTW, what's the baffle height between 2nd & last compartment?)

Nope, MCE500 has footprint of 21cm x 9cm. It's not going to fit. :(

I think a Bubble Magus NACQQ would fit in there. Check with our sponsor Dr evil.

I have one 24 jbj nano and had tried tunze 9002 and BM QQ, I would say BM QQ is impressive. Initially wanted to use mce 600 to over-skim my tank but due to some hinge blocking the mounting(unless modify), gave up the idea and proceed with BMQQ. Cheap and good I would say. For yr 32 gallon, u might want consider. Mce 500 is internal, thus if u want to use and cannot put in yr ios, u will have to sacrifice yr tank space. For mce 600, might be possible for you to use but u will likely need to modify to fill nicely(resale value will be affected unless ppl buy yr whole setup), not in yt ios. Actually mce600 has no exposed joints unlike RO, thus leak risk is reduced.

Vote BM QQ unless u wan to go for over skimming.

True as the spec mentioned supporting 25g. If following spec and space constraint, he might have to consider tunze 9002, etc. Though 9002 can support up 50g , I personally tried and felt BM is more effective on my 24g. For BM nac, he got to chk whether it fits in or not. That is the reason I asked whether he wants over skim or under skim more.

Thanks all bros for all the great information and advice! :ThanxSmiley:

After much consideration, I bought Reef octopus BH-1000, for the price and seeing lots of pretty good review about it.

The set up is pretty straight forward, but the manual they provide are crap :thumbdown:

(Actually i went to tian house, the skimmate is pretty gooooood, lol)

Decided to hang it at the side of my tank.

Reason for doing so is that when I tried hanging it on the back, I notice that it will cause a lot of inconvenience when I wanna clear my cotton or do maintenance to the IOS, CRAMPY~~

Hence, after trying differently positions for the skimmer, I decided to hang it in a way such that, the inlet is in the main tank compartment, and outlet in the 1st compartment of my IOS from the right.

Currently breaking in the skimmer with vinegar. (lol kiasu a bit) 1 part vinegar 3 parts water.

In case any bros are interested, be warned that the length of the inlet and outlet pipe is fixed, and the outlet pipe is pretty short.

So.... if the water level for the compartment where the outlet sit is not high enough, it will probably create lots of water pouring noise (not dripping noise!!) and micro bubbles :angry:

However, the good news is that the pipe can be easily extend (without any form of permanent modification) by connecting it to with a extension pipe pretty much available at any DIY/Hardware Shops. :groupwavereversed:

bought my reef octopus bh-1000 a week ago and its skimming like crazy in my 60gal! very good skimmer for a price like tt. I have to agree with you, they need to do something about the manual. lol.

Reefing since 2003
 4ft x 2ft x 2ft Mixed Reef (BB):-
50 Gal Sump,

Apex Controlled System (Lab grade),
Deltec SC1455 Protein Skimmer,
Vortech MP40wQD,

Jebao RW-15

Maxspect Razor 320w
Eheim 1260 Return Pump,
Hailea HS-66A 1/4HP chiller,
TLF Reactor 150, running HydroCarbon 

Here is it running in my tank, for roughly 3 hours:

5550498580_3bbb81ffc9.jpg

Just 3 hours, and i see skimmate o.O and i only got 2 cleaner shrimps, 4 snails, and roughly 15-20kg of cured LRs

5549916673_718e5eb8c7.jpg

Like i say, inlet in the main tank, outlet in the IOS, solve the micro bubble issues, yeah~~

5550498798_e3ea04c9dd.jpg

Too bad i cant push the inlet cup any higher =(

5549916915_5aecdec05a.jpg

bought my reef octopus bh-1000 a week ago and its skimming like crazy in my 60gal! very good skimmer for a price like tt. I have to agree with you, they need to do something about the manual. lol.

haha ya, here is the manual!! epic~

5550528078_7fc7c948fe.jpg

5550527644_5602358f84.jpg

I didn't resize it too much, so you guys can try reading it to see what i meant haha

hey bro nwyk153 did u manage to get the inlet cup slightly above water level? or is it suppose to be totally submerge in the water?

Any idea if the inlet pipe can be shorten? my cup is still sitting roughly 1cm below water surface :(

hey bro nwyk153 did u manage to get the inlet cup slightly above water level? or is it suppose to be totally submerge in the water?

Any idea if the inlet pipe can be shorten? my cup is still sitting roughly 1cm below water surface :(

you mean the surface skimmer? ya, mine's like tt too. cannot shorten the inlet pipe unless u cut it.

Reefing since 2003
 4ft x 2ft x 2ft Mixed Reef (BB):-
50 Gal Sump,

Apex Controlled System (Lab grade),
Deltec SC1455 Protein Skimmer,
Vortech MP40wQD,

Jebao RW-15

Maxspect Razor 320w
Eheim 1260 Return Pump,
Hailea HS-66A 1/4HP chiller,
TLF Reactor 150, running HydroCarbon 

you mean the surface skimmer? ya, mine's like tt too. cannot shorten the inlet pipe unless u cut it.

Sian, dun wanna cut it also, but i guess it doesn't really matter ba

Hey Fayeth,

Your wall color matches your Avatar nicely. :lol:

BTW, do you really need the blue sponge? Micro-bubbles at the outlet?

LOL, ya loh, originally was white, and one fine day, i went out, and by the time i came back, my father paint the whole living room "GREEN" :excl: :excl: ..............

worst is, it's same color as my old NS army bunk .................. :chair:

The blue sponge is to act as the sound buffer, my outlet is not long enough to submerge fully in the water, so there are water running sound <_<

and~~ here's the skimmate after nearly 24 hours:

5552819053_5270539c7e.jpg