lightningstrike Posted January 2, 2004 Share Posted January 2, 2004 hi all, was thinking of getting myself a flame angel for my aquarium. but am wondering whether they r reef safe or not...... been asking a lot of lfs but wif conflicting comments........ some say yes some say no...... pls share wif me ur experiences. thks. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted January 2, 2004 Author Share Posted January 2, 2004 anyone out there can help??? pls Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted January 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 2, 2004 i keep it! i dun dare to gif my opinion.. mine is reef safe.. but general case..they are not! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted January 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 2, 2004 my is safe too. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted January 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 2, 2004 angels are prone to nip at corals. therefore, they are not reef-safe. so must see whether u heng anot. if heng den ur angel won't bite corals lor. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
acce Posted January 2, 2004 Share Posted January 2, 2004 haiz, my flame nip at my prata & brain so they r not opening very well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 2, 2004 Share Posted January 2, 2004 I rather give angels the miss altogether. Why play with fire when you know you will get burnt one day? Unless you like the cheap thrill? Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted January 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 2, 2004 Problem with angels in the reef is best summed up by Agent Smith, "Not impossible but inevitable." Seemingly reefsafe specimens will one day turn on the corals if kept long enough. Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted January 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 2, 2004 Yeah.... But Flame Angels are just so so so so so beautiful!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
akumanohi Posted January 2, 2004 Share Posted January 2, 2004 yea yea~ i ket 1 too~ they r real beautiful! love them much! erm... mine is reef safe. but i dun dare to comfirm urs~mine is also quite hardy~ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neo Posted January 3, 2004 Share Posted January 3, 2004 My sea fan become 'botak' after i introduced my FA. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted January 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 3, 2004 mayb can buy them when they small? then train them not to nib corals? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 3, 2004 Share Posted January 3, 2004 I used to have flame angels... I would say most would inevitably end up being a nuisance... they are peckers... and they just love to disturb LPS. It's probably instinct... and you can't train it not to. How? Punish it everytime you catch it nipping your brain corals? Flame angels are not reef-safe but are less prone than other angels to kill corals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chris21 Posted January 3, 2004 Share Posted January 3, 2004 why got sell flame angel now? what price? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted January 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 3, 2004 It's probably instinct... and you can't train it not to. How? Punish it everytime you catch it nipping your brain corals? Hahaha... Pass an electric current thru the tank everytime it pecks at corals!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 3, 2004 peckers?? haha pecker, sounds lewd. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
solo Posted January 3, 2004 Share Posted January 3, 2004 Yes. Mine gotten head erosion within the 2nd week. Recovered since but the scare stays Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member derf Posted January 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 3, 2004 why got sell flame angel now? what price? juz bought 1 fr ML. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ASH Posted January 3, 2004 Share Posted January 3, 2004 juz bought 1 fr ML. Just bought 1 from Pacific Mar****. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ocean Posted January 5, 2004 Share Posted January 5, 2004 what type of food does flame angle normally eats? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 5, 2004 Share Posted January 5, 2004 Hi all, i like the Flame Angel too, so far the cheapest price is found is $38, for one dat's about 1.5 inch size... any idea where else i could get it cheaper? Vincent Ho Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golf Posted January 5, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 5, 2004 I think Reb**n selling for $35..for each FA. But then again, quarantine condition is terrible....may not eat well. I think risky.. Cheers ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vincegoh Posted January 5, 2004 Share Posted January 5, 2004 I don't buy from Re**** due to the condition, the shop is subjecting the marine life to, I even saw one full tank of sea apple! So many dead fishes in the tank... There is also no quarantine to all the fishes. Don't think I will take the risk to save on a few dollars and risk infecting my existing fishes. Be a responsible marine hobblist. Just my opinions... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ashidiq Posted January 5, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 5, 2004 is butterfly fishes safe to keep in a reef tank ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Razo Posted January 5, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 5, 2004 is butterfly fishes safe to keep in a reef tank ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...