Keeping corals without a CR

uLtRaMaN

Bros,

Is it possible to keep corals without a CR? I am thinking of dosing calcium manually. Will this b bad for the corals in d long run? What r d pros n cons of having a CR n any other things to take note besides this? Thanks!

yes definitely its possible. IMO if its a nano tank i'd rather do manual dosing, but for larger tanks a CR is more convenient.

if you're keeping soft corals like mushrooms and zoas and leather corals you don't even need to dose calcium at all (some people say that calcium and carbonates help coralline growth though)

oh yes, if you're dosing calcium, you have to dose carbonate as well, cause they're tied together in some way if i'm not wrong.

Besides CR and manual dosing, you can also use a doing pump.

300G Main Display - 7 x 3 x 3, 60G Sump

4 x Tunze 6105 + 7095 controller, 2 x Eden 5000 l/hr main return

1HP Reefcool Compressor

4 x Reeflux 250W 12K MH with dimmable ballast + ATI T5 blue actinic

Super Reef Octopus 5000 skimmer, Skimz PO4 Reactor, 36W UV sterilizer

Bubble Magus 7 Channel Dosing Pump

Some SPS keepers here just doing the dosing with successful result such as Hijackng and Klyve. You may ask them how their simple dosing system works for them. Thanks for them as my CR system even cant keep up with the Ca, Mag and Kh demand and now doing their simple dosing, I can maintain them well.

Mix reef-Main tank 3x2.5x2.5ftA

TI 3ft 8tube

Hitachi compressor unit 1HP

1 x AP- 702 Deltec

1 x Coral Lab CR with Ph controller; 1X AquaMedic Kalk Reactor top off

Baby fish dosing kh/Sr&Kcl/mg

DI water thru kalkwasser

1 x Skimz Fr with BRS gfo

2 x Rio 32hF main pump

1 x Pinpt Orp monitor

1 X Pinpt Ph monitor

Aquamedic wave maker

Sump 3x1.5ft plumbed together with;

1.5ft cube live rock

Frag tank 5x1x1ft

yes definitely its possible. IMO if its a nano tank i'd rather do manual dosing, but for larger tanks a CR is more convenient.

if you're keeping soft corals like mushrooms and zoas and leather corals you don't even need to dose calcium at all (some people say that calcium and carbonates help coralline growth though)

oh yes, if you're dosing calcium, you have to dose carbonate as well, cause they're tied together in some way if i'm not wrong.

Thks for d advise pal, will try to.find out more fm experienced reefers

Some SPS keepers here just doing the dosing with successful result such as Hijackng and Klyve. You may ask them how their simple dosing system works for them. Thanks for them as my CR system even cant keep up with the Ca, Mag and Kh demand and now doing their simple dosing, I can maintain them well.

Pls teach me more when we meet up later haha :ThanxSmiley:

just need to do more testing on how much your corals take in then dose back the amount^^

Learnt something new again tks

i keep corals and i've never owned a CR :angel:

Wow nice to hear dat man. Bro if u dun mind can I call u to understand more? Or u can oso call me at 91081181, tks!

I think it depends on what type of corals you need. If it's SPS, i believe you will need to dose more often and thus, dosing pump or CR prob make sense. If LPS, you can prob get by manual dosing after water change.

U r right. Hmmm not going into sps at d moment so manual dosing shld b gd enough for me.

may i know what do i need to dose for LPS tank?

Actually u can try iwarna top up, I used that last time when I am keeping zoa and softies. That alone should be enough liao. ;)

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Actually u can try iwarna top up, I used that last time when I am keeping zoa and softies. That alone should be enough liao. ;)

+1.........

Am doing the same too before jump into this arduous SPS keeping about 2 years back.

Mix reef-Main tank 3x2.5x2.5ftA

TI 3ft 8tube

Hitachi compressor unit 1HP

1 x AP- 702 Deltec

1 x Coral Lab CR with Ph controller; 1X AquaMedic Kalk Reactor top off

Baby fish dosing kh/Sr&Kcl/mg

DI water thru kalkwasser

1 x Skimz Fr with BRS gfo

2 x Rio 32hF main pump

1 x Pinpt Orp monitor

1 X Pinpt Ph monitor

Aquamedic wave maker