Tentative plans for 5ft

Tanggy

Ordered 15bags of grade 0 sand and 20kg of tropic marin salt in anticipation for new tank. Tegether with the 30kg of sand I already have hopefully will be enought o fill a 4inch sand bed for the tank.

Will be hurting around for more rocks, big rocks.

Ai.... why saturday still so far away!! :P

• Replies 347

Just got myself a Teco RA680. Know some will say it's underpowered. Trying it in my 3ft and can bring down my temp by 1deg in <15mins But try and see how first lor. If really not enough then change lor. Cos I cal that in order for a 1.25 to be cost effective, The 1/2 hp Techo woulf have to run 3time the period of the 1.25. Meaning for every hour the 1.25 runs, the teco must run longer then 3hrs inorder to see a little saving in elect bill.

So let say a 1.25hp RR run for 8hours a day + approx 1.50 per day. For a teco to run for 20 hrs = 20hrs x440watt/1000 x $0.15/Kwh= $1.32 perday. 20cts more aday is negligible. so I really dont see the advantage of using a 1.025HP chiller in terms of elect savings.

Unless the Teco is unable to chill the tank then will I upgrade. From what I know the 1.25 RR runs for few hours a couple of times a day. so dont see any sunifficant savings.

Congrats man!!!

Hope it's a well-spent investment for you.

Hope so too. If this can work. will safe on chiller and chiller bill. Plus all my pumps so far are placed out of water to reduced heat generated. The only heat source will be the MH lights. So thinking of using fan to blow across the light to minimise the heating on the water.

If I go for a 1.25, have to get an electrician to put an extra line from the fuse box. cos afraid of overloading the point. Cos every group got a max of 3000watt. if a 1.25 chiller = 1200watt plus the lights = 600+watt plus the pumps 200watts will add up to 2000 plus watt. add the rest of the point runing parallel with this point. a bit risky. So btter get new line then burnt down the house.

actually if you did not do major rewiring work when u moved in, each hdb installed power point is allocated to an individual module that you said can tahan 3000W of appliance i think.....i think they did not make the sockets share one module...coz i counted the modules and and number of sockets, same...so should be 1 to 1..hehe

so can save abit on electrician costs.....can follow the electrical lines from the socket you wanna use...back to the power box to confirm...hehe

Did add quite a lot. plus every jumper on the fuse box is controling a few point sharing same source. normally, one per room. So the wires are run in parallel.

Well must calculate the total amount not to exceeding 3000 cos the fish tank runs at the point beside the tv. so all amp, tv, dvd all connect to same fuse. So if all on together then probably trip the breakers. :(

i was about to add...hehe

if your hall/room lights was tapped off those lines..more often than not.....means confirm sharing some load liao...

mine was quite straight forward...u came to my place before you know...tank in the hall..the socket is at the tank side..i traced it back to the powerbox and realised did not get shared...so i went ahead without asking electrician..hehhe

whereas the tv and other stuff was in the deeper part of the hall, so they went to share the other modules...which i dun care anyway....lol

but to be safe, you should, after all, how much more only hor..hehe..price of safety...is priceless :)

Just got myself a Teco RA680. Know some will say it's underpowered. Trying it in my 3ft and can bring down my temp by 1deg in <15mins But try and see how first lor. If really not enough then change lor. Cos I cal that in order for a 1.25 to be cost effective, The 1/2 hp Techo woulf have to run 3time the period of the 1.25. Meaning for every hour the 1.25 runs, the teco must run longer then 3hrs inorder to see a little saving in elect bill.

So let say a 1.25hp RR run for 8hours a day + approx 1.50 per day. For a teco to run for 20 hrs = 20hrs x440watt/1000 x $0.15/Kwh= $1.32 perday. 20cts more aday is negligible. so I really dont see the advantage of using a 1.025HP chiller in terms of elect savings.

Unless the Teco is unable to chill the tank then will I upgrade. From what I know the 1.25 RR runs for few hours a couple of times a day. so dont see any sunifficant savings.

Your calculation is detailed and correct on paper. I've bought my chiller based on this paper calculation too!

my is a 3ft, so cannot proof anything, bec 3ft is too easy to be chilled down. With your 5ft, you should be able to prove the 'new' school of thought, that not higher the Hp, the better the chiller! :P