SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 What type of fish will you recommend for a new tank..? Erm..reef safe better..and not too demanding..2ft tank.. (Currently my tank empty cause cycling period..) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockyGoldy Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 I have just finished cycling my 2ft set-up as well and I have thrown in 2 yellow demsels, 2 gamas in. So far so good and they are feeding already. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 Well if finished cycling I wud suggest u try firefish, damsels or small wrasses lah. Very easy to keep. Once acclimatise to pellets, can just use auto feeder no sweat. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spicyball Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 Damsels are damn easy to keep but too aggressive already. You might have problem adding fish in the future.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 ok..cool..i think i wunt add too many fishes..but then starfish easy to keep anot? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 if not you can try clown fish lor.. nemo.. lolz.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
freewill Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 What type of fish will you recommend for a new tank..? Erm..reef safe better..and not too demanding..2ft tank.. (Currently my tank empty cause cycling period..) you can also try green chromis. These fish eat frozen brine/mysis shrimps easily... however, dun put too many in... just 2-3 will do just fine (for 2' tank) They are not territorial, thus adding other fish in future pose no big risk. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 i may add a wrasse and a starfish..banded coral shrimp..and 2 tomato clown fishes..but then what wrasse would u all recommend thats good for cleaning? and easy to rear? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 Dunt ever put in Damsels in my opinion.. very territorial especially in a smaller tank.. will whack other fishes.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 try cheap damsel fishes first. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted December 31, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 Lightningstrike, i think better to use Chromis instead of Damsel , as they are not aggressive and territorial.. :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 can oso, chromis r cheap and not as territorial as damsel. but i find chromis not as hardy as damsel. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 anyway..i will add chromis cause it looks nicer then some damsels.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 wise choice..... Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 but then what type of wrasse would u recommend? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
freewill Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 anyway..i will add chromis cause it looks nicer then some damsels.. personal opinion: damsels look nicer than chromis, but nevermind lah... chromis are quite hardy also... but then again, you must make sure the tank is properly cycled lah... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 haha..depends la..some damsel nicer..thanks for ur opinion anyway.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 I was talking to Jon of Coralfarm and he was telling me that there are certain damsel species that aren't that aggressive. and some damsels do look nice. but. well. never judge a fish by its cover I suppose. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 juz get the $1 chromis first.... at least die oredi oso not so pain!!! Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member betaFISH Posted December 31, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2003 haha..wait later alot of ppl going to scold u..cause advice ppl to use fish to test water....chum liao.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 i mean thats how ppl start off wif their tanks once it finish cycling issnt it??? u dun c ppl go ard putting exp tangs, triggers into their newly cycled tanks do u??? Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 more economical oso.... dun u think??? Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 Go for gobies first. 1) They are not overly territorial nor aggressive 2) They are rather disease resistant 3) They have fascinating behaviours. 4) They have low bioload which enables your biological system to slowly cope. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...