SRC Member Cedric Posted December 31, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2010 I've been keeping this pair of maroon clown fish for nearly a decade. It all started with a hand me down 3 feet tank, after which I down graded to a small The 12g nano tank works fine but the electronics was breaking down plus it was near impossible to keep the water temp low. Thus after some research, I decided to go for Brief equipment list as follow: Aquabee 2000 - Return Pump Maxspect G2 60w + Lens Kit Bubble Magus NAC3.5 Cone Insump skimmer Vortech MP10es W 2 x DC Fan for evaporative cooling As this is an open top tank, I was able to maintain between 25 to 27 degrees for water temp without the need for chiller. Thanks! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iskay Posted December 31, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2010 Good clean setup. Keep this thread up-to-date. Cheers! Quote "Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted January 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 13, 2011 Looking good ! The clowns must be happy in their new home Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted January 13, 2011 Senior Reefer Share Posted January 13, 2011 nice! i like it! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ketchup Posted January 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 13, 2011 I love the look Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raydiative Posted January 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 13, 2011 makes me wonder while looking at this thread.. should i.. or should i not..? Quote A man with a reef tank is a man with an empty wallet... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted January 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 13, 2011 makes me wonder while looking at this thread.. should i.. or should i not..? ray bro, so long since you MIA.. the reefing poison is still in you.. come back to the BRIGHT side when you are less occupy! and nice setup TS! solid equips Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member comycus Posted January 14, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 makes me wonder while looking at this thread.. should i.. or should i not..? Ray... I have the exact same thoughts Quote My old 3ft Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted January 14, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 Whoa, you kept the pair of maroon clowns for so long. It is an inspiration to me. Happy Reefing! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 14, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 Thanks for all the comments! The pair of clowns are the main reason I stayed in this expensive hobby. I've had my fish longer than I know my wife! (shssssh). In fact, they are really strong survivers! I've even operated on the female once when she had huge fungus growth at her chin area. To cut the story short, I put her under the blade, she bleed but lived on without the fungus. Cheers! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted January 14, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 makes me wonder while looking at this thread.. should i.. or should i not..? Ray... I have the exact same thoughts Don't hesitate anymore! Mai tu liao! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted January 14, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 In fact, they are really strong survivers! I've even operated on the female once when she had huge fungus growth at her chin area. To cut the story short, I put her under the blade, she bleed but lived on without the fungus. That's impressive. You should share more on how you performed the operation so that others can learn from your success. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted January 14, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2011 Ray... I have the exact same thoughts dun wait olredi....go order a 8ft cube Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 16, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 16, 2011 Decided to add some cheato in the sump, found some light diffuser lying around and cut it to size to separate the cheato from the skimmer. I've also decided to rescape the rocks to allow more light to reach the corals. The new FTS! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member poomoon Posted January 16, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 16, 2011 very nice bro, simple and clean look Quote 25 Gal Micro Ocean Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 29, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 Thanks to MadkenZ, managed to get a PAR LED to replace the dymax robot LED which I felt was really too dim to encourage the chaeto to grow well. Took a few of pics before mounting the PAR LED. See how bright it is compared to the Dymax LED! Just to end with another FTS. Any idea how to rid the tiny specks in the water column when taking photographs? Thanks for looking! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ketchup Posted January 29, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 ohh.. what you can try is off your wavemaker and if you want, the return pump when you take pictures then turn it back on afterwards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 29, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 Thanks Ketchup! I didn't know that! I was fiddling with the settings on my camera and kept wondering how to get it right!?! Another FTS, but with the wave maker and return still on. Sorry, only read your post (Ketchup's) after taking the shot. My lights are off now so will probably try again another time. And a shot of maroon clown pair whom has been with me for 10 years! And guess what? I named them Tomato and Ketchup! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member straydum Posted January 29, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 if the space is too cluttered cheato won't grow as well. having a large ball of cheato in a small space is not better than having a smaller ball of cheato in the same area Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 29, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 Thanks for the advice straydum, will go prun the chaeto. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
predatorfish Posted January 29, 2011 Share Posted January 29, 2011 Thanks Ketchup! I didn't know that! I was fiddling with the settings on my camera and kept wondering how to get it right!?! Another FTS, but with the wave maker and return still on. Sorry, only read your post (Ketchup's) after taking the shot. My lights are off now so will probably try again another time. And a shot of maroon clown pair whom has been with me for 10 years! And guess what? I named them Tomato and Ketchup! Beautiful setup 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ketchup Posted January 29, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 haha... I named my tomato clown fish ketchup also... hence my nick Your 2 maroon clowns look so menacing... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member allantang Posted January 29, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2011 hi bro.. nice setup.. i'm going to ur place real soon.. haha can i suggest something? i think is safer to put the sump below the electrical stuff. if not, at least place electrical stuff in a covered plastic box. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 30, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 30, 2011 hi bro.. nice setup.. i'm going to ur place real soon.. haha can i suggest something? i think is safer to put the sump below the electrical stuff. if not, at least place electrical stuff in a covered plastic box. Hi allantang, the position of sump verus electrical stuff was not an available option as I purchased the set complete from Dr Evil. I think the logic was to close the distance between the sump and main tank to reduce the head loss suffered by the return pump. Perhaps Dr Evil would like to comment? However, I do agree with you on the potential risk of water getting to the eletronics. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted January 30, 2011 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 30, 2011 haha... I named my tomato clown fish ketchup also... hence my nick Your 2 maroon clowns look so menacing... Hahaha, they are 10 years old already, perhaps they are just old and crouchy?! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...