Home-made Food Recipe

AlfaRomeo

From Somewhere else on the Web:

Jason's Special Reef Mash

1/2 CUP RAW TIGER SHRIMP (SHELLS, GUTS, YOU NAME IT)

1/2 CUP RAW SQUID

1/2 CUP KRILL

1/2 CUP UNCOOKED SPINACH

and here is the interesting part...

1 TBS. KALWKWASSER

1 TBS. MARINE DELUXE*

Chop up all the ingredients in a blender until you have a uniform slurry (not quite watery - you want little pieces the size of brine shrimp or larvae). I then strain out the watery leftovers and spread the mixture onto a flat sheet, which I then freeze. Every other night or so I break off a marble-size chunk of the special mash and place it in a cup of warm water to thaw. I then use a medical syringe to feed my small polyped stony corals individually, with the powerhead and return pumps off. After about ten minutes I turn the powerheads back on, but leave the main circulation pump off for another hour or so. This allows whatever is left of the mash to circulate through the tank completely, without being skimmed away. My hermits, echinoderms (brittle stars), and other detrivores (creatures that eat detritus, or organic waste) consume whatever remains in the tank.

*The Marine Deluxe is a product you may or may not be familiar with, but it is essentially a mix of vitamins, essential elements, and some other stuff which the company refuses to divulge to the public. If you can't get your hands on this product, don't worry. I doubt it is anything special, regardless of what they would have you believe. I bet Combisan would work well, or any of those other full spectrum "trace element" solutions you can find. For those daring aquarists, it might be a worthy experiment to try dosing Iodine, Strontium, etc. via food. I have never personally tried this and cannot guarantee that there will be no harmful side effects. I do add the kalkwasser to try and simulate the calcareous nature of some plankton exoskeletons. Give it a try!

Try zoecon also plus DHA and EPA. That's what I put into my stuff and my fish are fat fat...

Can substitute silver fish for krill and the squids is better to be deskinned to aid digestion... :)

Living testimonies... :P

Ask some...when they see my fish, the first comments are usually..."Your fishes are fat!!!" ... :lol::P

Take 2 plaice fillet, pat dry with paper towels.

Rub salt and pepper into both sides.

Powder lightly with flour and pan fry skin side down in one tablespoon of olive oil under high heat. Apply pressure on fillets while frying to prevent curling.

After skin is brown, turn over and cook for same period of time on other side.

Then put fillets into preheated oven at 190 degC for 10 minutes.

To make dill sauce:

Sweat half a finely chopped green onion in sauce pan with one tables spoon of butter then add a tablespoon of sugar.

Add half a cup of single cream with a pinch of chopped dill and reduce heat.

Salt and pepper to taste.

Take 2 plaice fillet, pat dry with paper towels.

Rub salt and pepper into both sides.

Powder lightly with flour and pan fry skin side down in one tablespoon of olive oil under high heat. Apply pressure on fillets while frying to prevent curling.

After skin is brown, turn over and cook for same period of time on other side.

Then put fillets into preheated oven at 190 degC for 10 minutes.

To make dill sauce:

Sweat half a finely chopped green onion in sauce pan with one tables spoon of butter then add a tablespoon of sugar.

Add half a cup of single cream with a pinch of chopped dill and reduce heat.

Salt and pepper to taste.

Is this recipe for mermaid? :whistle

No. Grilled plaice fillet with dill sauce.

Dun wan too many pms so will answer here...so for those who asked...here's the answers... :)

1) Fish Roe

- Didn't use fish roe but red 'miniscule' plankthon(?) from Reborn

and lots of cyclops. Caviar? If you wan but really ex hor... :P

2) Vitamins

- mostly from pharmacies and order from States

3) Silver fish

- the type that look like ikan bilis but is opaque

- buy the smaller version, cheaper and easier to grind :rolleyes:

4) Nori aka Seaweed

- the one that AT ever reviewed

- must definitely get the bland ones

- check for worms and moulds before soaking...yucks... :pirate:

5) Pellet fish food

- I used either Spectrum or the Ocean Nutrition Formula Two.

6) Garlic Juice

- Garlic Guard cheaper version but Kent Xtreme better and can

dose into tank.

- I make my own garlic juice so never use them since then...

Hope this suffices... :)

Regards...

I never said anything about you being old. (=

Aiyah...dun worry lah...maybe I not charboh 'cos I always go around proclaiming my age and telling people that I wish I am 50 years old now...has to do with the 'vision' thingy of my life... :P