Carpet anemone side by side

mengyang_neo

Hi recently bought 2 mini carpet anemone from pinnacle and i am placing them side by side, then i remember reading somewhere anemone will string each other if they are very close to each other. Hence will the 2 carpet anemone string each other if i place side by side? Thanks.

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Thanks bro for all the reply. :thumbsup:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

It is quite safe to keep the same species together but it is still with caution.. Observe if there is any chemical warfare between them..

Bro how to see if there is chemical warfare between them? The anemone will not open? Thanks.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Mini carpet anemones can be placed side by side.

Just ensure they have sufficient gap for their "foot" to be fully encrust on the LR. Advice is to keep the foot 3in apart. This allows them also to open fully with slight overlapping.

Mini carpet anemones can be placed side by side.

Just ensure they have sufficient gap for their "foot" to be fully encrust on the LR. Advice is to keep the foot 3in apart. This allows them also to open fully with slight overlapping.

I see, alamak I placed them quite close together, then yestersday, i tried to shift them, they r like glue to the rock liao, so i just pluck the one out or is there any other method? Thanks.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

I see, alamak I placed them quite close together, then yestersday, i tried to shift them, they r like glue to the rock liao, so i just pluck the one out or is there any other method? Thanks.

For mini carpet, it is difficult becos they bury their foot very deep into the crevice... Dun forcefully pluck it out , it would injure their foot.. One way is if they are really uncomfortable.. They will detach themselves But so far haven seen any mini carpet that detach themselves... ;) ;)

Oh ok i think can only leave it there liao. Thanks for the reply. :welldone:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

not sure if this would work, but it works for me in the past when i want to force an anemone to move away...

direct your wavemaker at it and monitor..

it will slowly move away...

Hee interesting method, will try it if they get bigger. :ThanxSmiley:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Another tip which I've tried successfully is to take out the piece where the mini carpet anemone has stayed, out of the water and turn it upside down for an hour or so. The anemone will drop after more than half an hour. Simply pick them up and placed it where you want it to be.

I bought a few but due to re-scaping period, can't placed them on the rock I want and instead I placed them in a disposable plastic container with a layer of small rock. The mini anemone pushed all the small rock away and hitch it's foot on the plastic container. Realized this happen when I wanted to relocate them from the container to the rock. I managed to pry 1 away from the plastic container but it was a tiring process and was exhausted after that. I then figured the above method and let gravity do the job. Without water, the mini anemone act like a jelly and was soon hanging upside down. Slowly but surely, all the remaining 8 out of 9 dropped off.

While still out of water, I placed them onto the fake rock and wait for it to attached. Once attached, I place them into the tank in a low flow area. The next day, I placed the fake rock where I want it to be, near a high flow area. As a result, a few of them moved because they were placed too close to each other but still in the same fake rock.

Hope this helps!

hey BFG, do you think this will work for mushrooms too?

I've got three very large hairy mushrooms on a small piece of rock.

No it wouldn't work The methods Given above are for anemones which would move about in different situations

which the anemone would move to find the best spot in your tank however a mushroom would not move and would only bleach or die if the condition is not right. Thus unless you frag it,It would still be on that rock. ;)

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg