roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 i prefer the commercial one.... never mind..when my teco spoils..then i think where to put this artica... hmm..then those 1over hp TR/RR quite inefficient hor...use so much electricity yet not say cool very much faster Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 roidan, it's been 3 months since I last saw the TW6, I can only give you the dimension of this 1/2hp artica and you go measure your TW6. Specification: Model: DA-500B Cooling capacity: 1170W (1hp = 746W so 1170W = 1.56hp ) compressor: 0.5hp Fan Motor: 16W weight: 25kg size: 21"x14"x15"(WXDXH) Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 may not be able to fit unless tilt a few angles.... coz my cabinet footprint is 24inches by24 inches... but due to internal beams..the inner space is much less...so it may be very tight and if the hose directions are not changeable...then really no space liao... thanks for the dimensions weileong Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 the hose are at the side of the chiller so if you place it sideways then no issues. Hang it on the ceiling Go for it man Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 the TR/RR chillers are rated according to the cooling power instead of true compressor rating. If you follow this then this chiller is rated for 1.56hp already Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 agar sketch is like this....how to do the hosing? ...hmmm got space for hose meh? coz my cold air draw from right of cabinet and exhaust to the left of cabinet.... Top View... Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 got space Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 u mean the hose like that ah...very tight leh i feel..sigh Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 exactly! you get the idea already? heheheh. I got a feeling you're getting it soon Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 Weileong, yup... trying to see where is the best place to place the chiller. I got a spot up the wall about 5-6m high. Do you think a MD55 can deliver water up that ht? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 but i seriously dun like the idea of putting it in...as u can see..very hard to maneouvre.....have to do a few right angle bends to get to the hole in the wire mesh... i think putting below is out..if i get it..have to put somewhere...maybe have to get 1hp and put it on the aircon ledge like my aircon compressor...but scarly no space again... got 2 compressors sitting on the concrete aircon ledge liao... forget it.....wait till i do my 12fter somewhere and then transfer everything out of the house...lol Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 Weileong, yup... trying to see where is the best place to place the chiller. I got a spot up the wall about 5-6m high. Do you think a MD55 can deliver water up that ht? MD55 rated for 6m head. so high up? wow... I intend to just place it 2m high only with 25mm tubing. Bro Roidan, I think put on the aircon ledge then. Wow... if you go for the 1hp that means a sudden huge increase in cooling power Can breed polar bear already. Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 think i reserve my resources for the skimmers first...since not say the chiller breaking down or providing improper operation...hehe then consolidate for 12fter anyway...thanks for the chiller info Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 so many things to buy.... hiak... me too next step is skimmer. $$$ draining hobby. Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 wow...very yummy. I "lao nwar" (drip saliva) liao. I guess I have to stick to my Atman for now.....may be next time.... still got so many things to buy...e.g CR, KR, Rowaphos R, Denitrator, etc..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 19, 2004 Author Share Posted April 19, 2004 You always away got time to tweak the Denitrator ??? Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 Good to hear more reviews about this chiller. It should be about time some new products comes along to knock another off the throne! Some things just don't deserve to be up there. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted April 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 20, 2004 You always away got time to tweak the Denitrator ??? Huh??? Got to tweak one mair??? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 20, 2004 Author Share Posted April 20, 2004 If you go ask those that use it, then you know that it got to tweak. Somemore your tank is 5ft? I supposed you need a large unit. Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted April 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 20, 2004 Good to hear more reviews about this chiller. It should be about time some new products comes along to knock another off the throne! Some things just don't deserve to be up there. Or new product to come in and create competition for the old throne to improve. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 20, 2004 Author Share Posted April 20, 2004 Errmm.. a side-by-side comparison will yield very interesting results. Anyone keen to setup a side-by-side comparison with my 1.25hp Ti???? Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted April 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 20, 2004 Weileong, actually it has been proven that the artica chiller is much more efficient even with only a 1/2hp rating. In my case , the exact same situation was used between the older and the newer chiller. Same cupboard, same tank, same lighting ritual ,photoperiod and same temp probe . In fact , i lowered the lights closer to the water surface as a test and the new chiller didnt even noticed the difference. it went on cooling just like before. Lights are now 6 inches above the water surface as opposed to being about 9 inches off. The older chiller was already struggling to cool down the tank at 9-12 inches ht. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 20, 2004 Author Share Posted April 20, 2004 I've tried with the lights at different height from the water surface, 3,6,9,12" and all did not make a noticeable difference! The ambient temp does make a great difference. My initial review of the 1.25hp Ti was done in Jan/Feb period when the ambient was cooling. Now is April = hot season so you can see the difference in the performance!!!! Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted April 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 20, 2004 So in conclusion a 0.5hp Artica chiller beats a 1.25hp Ti? Wow.... may be have to sell my Atman and buy a Artica liao. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted April 20, 2004 Author Share Posted April 20, 2004 No conclusion yet because the artica has yet to break-in Can only tell say 2-3months later. Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...