slow setup

freewill

Finally, after 2 deadly crashes, and MUCH readup... im embarking s.l.o.w.l.y. on my new setup.

It's still small comparatively, but its a small step for freewill, big leap for err... freewill also...

water has been cycled for 3-4 weeks liao. (start cycling the sump abt 4 weeks back), then completed the setup for main tank (plus the plumbing work abt 3 weeks ago).

More details will be posted upon request, as mine is considered nano i guess??

My old tank: (super small tank, with DIY IOF), this tank used to be connected to my 2' DIYed sump (now used in new setup). No inverts, only 4 fish... (i know i know overstock, but pls bear for awhile more, my tank almost ready in 2 weeks) - so far, YT's feeding very well... it almost 'cleaned up' my entire bamboo... (been stealing brine shrimps meant for the fire gobies)

The fire clown was only a recent addition (<1 week) - can't resist, as it was too way too cool... (but now got white spots leh... sad)

The other 2 fire gobies, around (5-6 weeks) super eating kings! everyday eat until stomach big big.

(i feed 1 cube of brine shrimps per night - is this too much?)

btw: im contemplating of selling this tiny setup once my new tank is ready... any buyers??? hahahaha... (not confirmed yet, may want this as a QT - my first DIY setup leh...)

oldtanksetup.jpg

Coming up... my new setup...

• Replies 72

A yellow tank of that size not a good ideal in such a small tank. They produced a lot of poo..... :o

Plus they need more space. And you dont seem to be providing enough filtration. Looks like a converted overhead filter without skimmer and very little life rocks.

Looks like a 15gallon tank rite??

Part 2: here is my new setup...

2' x 1.5' x 1.5'

connected via Internal Side Overflow Box down to

2' x 1' x 1.5'(H) DIYed sump.

i dunno what's the name of those filtration... but in the main tank, Ive placed cotton wool then trickle plate (modified from those LH separators)... water flows down via single 25mm opening.

In Sump, another layer of cotton wool... followed by another layout of trickle plate (same as above).

Middle portion of sump... 5" DSB with a plenum(underneath, cannot see lah)

Return section, using Weipro 6000 (4000L/H flowrate)...

Main Tank has 1 return pipe from sump and split to 2 outputs (16mm head), however, the o/p flowrate Sux! its way too slow... needed 1 PH within the tank, see if anyone can spot it.

Rocks: transferred from old tank, dunno how many kg... never count.

This is update for today... coming up tomorrow... my DIY hood + light... hopefully can collect my T5 from edmund and set it up.

btw: i've placed 2 market big size prawns into the tank, 1 in main + 1 in sump. (now almost disappeared liao...)

New setup:

maintank_small.jpg

Main tank:

tanksetup.jpg

All comments are welcomed (scoldings included)

:ph34r::huh::ph34r:

Plus they need more space. And you dont seem to be providing enough filtration. Looks like a converted overhead filter without skimmer and very little life rocks.

Looks like a 15gallon tank rite??

Wah bro, you super fast sia!

i was typing my new setup, your replies came 2 liao... hahaha

the first post is my current setup. running about 2 months liao. (partial water/sand/rocks were shifted from this into the new tank)

that's why you see very little stuff in this one)

Guess my posting a little misleading...

pai seh...

not sure how many gallons, its those mini tanks...

but this is temporary only... (im trying to imagine this as a QT)...

Sorry.....for bad comment.... good potential for new setup......Hehe

eh, no prob ... i welcome All comments/criticisms inclusive! (i mean it)... if not how to improve??? but maybe constructive criticism will be easier to swallow... hahaha probably some suggestions will be greatly appreciated... :D

btw: i forgot to mention, there will be a DIY plywood cabinet coming soon... (to cover up the sump portion)

the DIY hood is ready, pix should be ready after christmas.

Freewill, got one question, since you wanna keep tangs, why not go for a bigger tank?? your setup and a 3ft slightly diff in price only wat. :P 2ft abit restricted for a Tang

reason is as usual... space limitation. The corner which i can place the tank is only 2plus feet, 3ft will be stretching it a little too far... and little space for 'maintenance' work

Live Stock wise: im migrating my existing ones over... plus addition of 1x flame angel (in 1 month's time)

plan to do it up as a mixed reef... anyway, this is more of a progressive thread (to track my setup... so i can keep track of the tank's improvement)..

Hehe...Can DIY for me too....(JOking)

depends on how big your setup is leh... i dun mind, if you really want, we can buy the plywood together... then do it hehe...

but really DIY finishing is not pro...

will update more pix when my setup is s.l.o.w.l.y upgraded...

last night did up the hood + light holder. when i return my my oversesas trip by year-end, i can start to stock up the tank... hopefully will improve the outlook of the tank... (i guess that's why pple normally show the in-progress pictures... coz it looks crappy... hahaha)

btw: i forgot to mention, there will be a DIY plywood cabinet coming soon... (to cover up the sump portion)

I also using a diy socalled cabinet. Used 1/2 inch plywood. With holes on left side for fan ventilation. The hood was done for PL lights but mod to fit the MH temperary. Will do another Hood. just for reference. :lol:

post-34-1072201513.jpg

I also using a diy socalled cabinet. Used 1/2 inch plywood. With holes on left side for fan ventilation. The hood was done for PL lights but mod to fit the MH temperary. Will do another Hood. just for reference. :lol:

eh, that's exactly what i wanted to do... (after getting inspiration from your previous postings)...

btw: can you advice me where i can buy the plywood?

was told somewhere along kelantan lane has this...

(you lacquered the plywood or laminated it?... colour very the nice)...

I think you should get a bit more LR to increase on biofiltration.Anyway the current rockscape doesnt look very stable.You might want to consider using eggcrates also to improve water circulation

i thot of getting more LR, but was wondering if i should reserve some space for other coral (that comes with LR)?? to create more swimming space for the fish also...

As for egg crates, i would love to do that... but im lost as to how to get it up and running, i mean, wouldn't the pvc pipes and the eggcrates be seen? (i can't visualise how it works)

To Bro Ah Siao: yes, skimmer is in the progress, should be getting the 2011 or 2012... but seems like my sump got not enough space for that... coz i cater too much space for the refugium liao... (need to do some rethinking)

btw: the flame is not going to be so soon, at least a good 1 month or 2 even...

thanks for your suggestions... most prob will rethink of the rescaping and try out the eggcrate method (if i ever get to see how it works..)

thanks a lot.

I used laquer directly over the plywood. Note. do it on a sunny day. after first coat has dried, sand smooth then wipe with moist cloth and laquer again. Will give nice shinny finishing.

Remember to apply a protection coat on your WI stand to pretect from rust. If possible, sand and then apply metal primmer then epoxy paint. The paint from the WI maker dont protect again rust.

hi ya freewill (and All)

would it be possible to share the dimensions of your IOS , cuz I'm getting a 2ft built wif an IOS which incoperates both the return and the flow down to the sump. However, the dimensions that were given to me for the sump dictates that i partition 30% of the already small 2ft tank off for the IOS.....

ps: If possible, could ya share the size of ur bulkhead too?

thanks in adv

Silver

hi ya freewill (and All)

would it be possible to share the dimensions of your IOS , cuz I'm getting a 2ft built wif an IOS which incoperates both the return and the flow down to the sump. However, the dimensions that were given to me for the sump dictates that i partition 30% of the already small 2ft tank off for the IOS.....

ps: If possible, could ya share the size of ur bulkhead too?

thanks in adv

Silver

the dimensions are at home...

the pipe holes are as below:

flow down: 25mm

return pipe: 16mm

total area allocated for the holes: 7" x 5.5" (this one is to be confirmed...)

you will need to cut a slightly bigger one thru the styrofoam/wooden plank (if you are using one)

will let you know tomorrow, once i go back and measure... (probably take some pix for you for clearer reference)

I used laquer directly over the plywood. Note. do it on a sunny day. after first coat has dried, sand smooth then wipe with moist cloth and laquer again. Will give nice shinny finishing.

Remember to apply a protection coat on your WI stand to pretect from rust. If possible, sand and then apply metal primmer then epoxy paint. The paint from the WI maker dont protect again rust.

hey bro... thanks man, i actually did several layers of coating (epoxy varnish) on the WI..

oh yes, i forgot to ask you whether you know where i can buy the 1/2" planks? im planning to do up the cabinets by this weekend...

(most probably re-doing my hood at the same time as well...)

now got experience, can do a better job...

thanks a lot.