How to save $ on a system to cool ur tank?

nicholasloh

• Replies 60

Let's us see when the heat wave hits Singapore in a few mths time, how wonder the fan can be

2ft cube with 2.5 sump

400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5

Hydor wavemaker controller

Aquatronica controller

Daikin compressor with double coil

RM CR

H&S out sump skimmer

i used to employ 2 of the clip fan on the 3ft tank!!with 300w of mh on, the water can hit 35deg within hrs of running without a chiller! fans are useful for small tanks without mh! for my case, fans are like small ice cubes trying to cool tanks.

toyom* brand

single head clip fan.

my 6 inch but also got 7 and 8 inch at the shop.

Hint* Would like this to be a most viewed thread B)

Tis is no bullshit .

bought my at $25

yeah juz use those ordinary clip fan. if you get those fabricated for tanks type, it is quite ex. im using an old fan that was bought for my baby previously. temp sol until i sort out my chiller space problem. fan can only bring down to 27-28, depending on ambient temp. if heat wave come, i think at noon time can go down to 29 onli or maybe worse, 30!

i used to employ 2 of the clip fan on the 3ft tank!!with 300w of mh on, the water can hit 35deg within hrs of running without a chiller! fans are useful for small tanks without mh! for my case, fans are like small ice cubes trying to cool tanks.

true. but if is, ice bottles come in handy.

nic: sooner or later, you'll be a trillion times amazed by the other age-old invention that helps to keep the temp down. Chiller! if you wanna go into serious reefing, MH's probably THE equipment to invest in, slapped with the bill for the purchase of a chiller of coz! unless a fish only tank is wat you want in the long run...

Nic,

You are new n its good to share new lobang.

Hehe.. like expert liao hor..

Anyway oki, for fan, it will bring temp down 1-2c max depending on tank size.

Subsquently fans add on will only helps bring down to a region of another 1c.

Fan works by blowing at the surface of the water, dispel the heat from the surface of water via evaporation.

Bigger tank with larger water surface gain in this way. Disadvantage of fan is that pretty topup of water is necessary due to water loss.

Hope it answer most queries..

good understanding of how the heat is dispel gives u better placement of the fan..

BTW, I am using MH with two one head fan cooling my tank. Temp goes up to 29c.

So it limits to the type of corals I can keep, fishes no problem.

Hole..? the only types I am interested aren’t on the water surface.

eh.. use only tapwater with anti-cholrine added to topup.

the salt won't go with the evaporation. if not,

as times goes by, your salinity will goes way up..

changing of water is different. (replacement of water

via manual scoping out, n then add new self mix salt

water)

nice to know u..! :)

go library borrow books, its a cheap alternative to go.

which I did when I just started. gives u the foundation,

rather than memorise how the things goes abt in reefing.

I buy a few books to keep for reference purpose.

(eg. Marine fish ID book, Coral reference)

Do i sense some sulking.

Dont thing its that. I myself use to use 4 fans blowing the surface with around 200watt of PL. due the the amount of light, the temp is arounr 27.5-28.5 and when the heatwave came acouple of months ago, the temp range 28+ - 30deg. If using fl or T5 suspended high with open top, it is still ok to use fan. But fans gets very dirty, daily topups, etc. Had once bubble got into the return pump createing bubble, fans blow out, whole floor become very sticky. Out of question for MH unless very big fan employed and design properly.

true. but if is, ice bottles come in handy.

Hope you got a lot of ice , alot of time and very hardy live stock. Great variance in temp is never good, not to mention the amount of effort involve.

Fan can work but dont exspect it to fix all your temp problems. But its a great start. :rolleyes:

yah, but sometimes salt is splattered on the light. causing salt loss. refill according to the salinty.

U r really good if u can do that..haha.

No worry abt that. U should be more concern abt using saltwater

to replace evaporated water.

Frequent water changed plus monitor your salinity will do the trick.

Also save u plenty of money topping salt mixed water.

Oh yes.. I forgot the ice issue..!!!

Don’t do it. Using ice pack won’t be effective if any.

If it really does, then I believe it’s a smaller tank.

Drastic change in temperature is not good.

Eg. Yourself after exercise goes straight to a chiller.

Even though u feel shiok awhile, its not doing your body any good.U more liable to get cold because of this. Sama sama for fishes..!