Tunze/maxi-jet or ...

Thinking of getting a Tunze but afraid it may overkill. Currently it is obvious my 3.5ft x2x2 is not having sufficient flow/current/circulation/wave other than output create by the loc-lines from the return pump. Thus thinking of getting maxi-jets as alternative.

Now my new tank only filled with LR so still wondering what should I go for thus determining LS as well .. Like to hear some constructive opinion. Thanks.

BTW Intending to setup a mixed reef, cos no confident to go full sps .. thus .. ... ...

thanks in advance.

mydog.gif

another PH or maxijet should do the job.

having a 3ft tank cope with a tunze may blow some of your LPS

botak..

"BTW Intending to setup a mixed reef, cos no confident to go full sps .. thus .. ... ... "

sps is = reef too mah..

Hi

I would strongly suggest the TUNZE if budget is not a concern. I am using 1 45W TUNZE with 12000l/hr flow rate in my 4ftx2ftx2ft and I still find it very weak and insufficient to have total tank motion. And I am using grade 0 sand. And no sand storm.

For you tank I think the ~$190 TUNZE sold at PR is sufficient. Its the smallest rated one.

Powerheads are not as effective even if higher rated is used as the flow is very directional and not open as in the TUNZE due to its special designed larger prop blades. And more heat is added to the tank using ph.

But if budget is a concern, then using 2 powerheads blowing and properly secured at both ends of the tank would do too.

smallest rated one

is the one with 6000l/hr or 7000l/hr with controller? is it true it could be tune down to 30% output only? do i need to purchase any other accessories to make it happen?

highest end maxijet only rated 20W but output is far from those of tunze of cos ..

but wif a tunze (eg. 6000l/h) will i be expecting sand storm whirlpool flying mushroom etc?

mydog.gif

The smallest rated one is only 7000l/hr I think. And it has no speed control. You dun really need it from what I feel. I should have saved the money. :(

What i do is place those flying mushrooms right below the tunze where there is almost zero motion. Initially there may be a sand disturbance but no storms. Face the output towards the return pipe output to produce a chaotic current stream.

from Glare pricing (free advertisement here)

Tunze Stream 6060 $185 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

Tunze Stream 6080 $269 (5 units)

Tunze Stream kit TS07 (incl.sngle controller) 7000l/h $$430 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

Tunze Stream kit TS12 (incl.single controller) 12000l/h $529 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

If only i can try before buying ... scare buy liao my tank sand storm leh ...

Anyone can address:

7000l/hr with controller? is it true it could be tune down to 30% output only? do i need to purchase any other accessories to make it happen?

what it base on? high lighting more flow? or can set max at xxxxl/h min at 30%?

mydog.gif

from Glare pricing (free advertisement here)

Tunze Stream 6060 $185 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

Tunze Stream 6080 $269 (5 units)

Tunze Stream kit TS07 (incl.sngle controller) 7000l/h $$430 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

Tunze Stream kit TS12 (incl.single controller) 12000l/h $529 (0 units next shipment 3rd week Dec)

If only i can try before buying ... scare buy liao my tank sand storm leh ...

Anyone can address:

7000l/hr with controller? is it true it could be tune down to 30% output only? do i need to purchase any other accessories to make it happen?

what it base on? high lighting more flow? or can set max at xxxxl/h min at 30%?

yes. 30%

the whole set TS07, with controller n everything.

rest of qns.. dunno wat crap u wanted to know.

english too "cheem".

wat max..? U want max wat for set at 30%?? no logic.

high light more flow? wats tat? base upon wat?? simei lai de??

i am using 6080 - 8500l/hr + ehiem 1262 SWCD closed loop. my return via chiller is ehiem 1260. IMO, the flow is good. BUT, u need to watch for the LS.... my bubble and xenia kena blow away !! so, I go only SPS + Clams which I did now.

FYI, clam dislike strong current, in fact they like slow gentle current which sway their mantle lightly

The TS07/TS12 is a modula unit which uses 2 types of flowrate, normally it is set at Pulse1 - 100% and Pulse2 30%. It will switch from Pulse1 to Pulse2 at an internal set by you(can't remeber the time range). So, inorder to reduce the flowrate, you can set the Pulse1 to less than 100% (for example 30%), this will reduce the total flowrate to 30%.

Two others mode can be use in the Tunze stream -

1) Night mode - need to install a photo cell inorder to perform this operation. When the light is 'on', the stream will perform normal operation swtiching from Pulse1 to Pulse2. When light is turn 'off', the stream will remain at Pulse2 which is set at 30%.

2) Feeding mode - there is a red button in the controller when press will cut off the stream for 5 minutes and will turn 'on' automatically.

As the 6060/6080, there are fixed flow rate stream which provide 6000l/hr and 8500l/hr respectively.

Hope this info helps

I'm using 6060 for my 3 feet tank and I use tonga LR to block some of the current and it works wonders.....1 pump for a total current combine with my return pump.

Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5

Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer

I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor

Arctica Chiller

The TS07/TS12 is a modula unit which uses 2 types of flowrate, normally it is set at Pulse1 - 100% and Pulse2 30%. It will switch from Pulse1 to Pulse2 at an internal set by you(can't remeber the time range). So, inorder to reduce the flowrate, you can set the Pulse1 to less than 100% (for example 30%), this will reduce the total flowrate to 30%.

Two others mode can be use in the Tunze stream -

1) Night mode - need to install a photo cell inorder to perform this operation. When the light is 'on', the stream will perform normal operation swtiching from Pulse1 to Pulse2. When light is turn 'off', the stream will remain at Pulse2 which is set at 30%.

2) Feeding mode - there is a red button in the controller when press will cut off the stream for 5 minutes and will turn 'on' automatically.

As the 6060/6080, there are fixed flow rate stream which provide 6000l/hr and 8500l/hr respectively.

Hope this info helps

understood! thanks ..

now regret neber get urs liao .. :( shld hv ask this question earlier !

mydog.gif