Casing for the ATI retrofit

dravan

hmmm ok tinking of using plywood for the casing big n bulky nvm juz swee swee can liao.... tinking about the heat generated by the ballast oso

bro.. this is what ive just done.

see if that's what you are talking abt...

hood%20lightholder.jpg

reflector_side.jpg

reflector_top.jpg

this is not a completed job...

materials used:

wood: from Ikea, i dismantled them from my wooden shelves. cut to size and painted several coats of lacquer... (free)

ballast: bought from fellow reefer (price-undisclose)

connectors, tube holders, wiring: from Sinter (SLT - L3) cheap lah... everything less than $10)

reflector: recycle from neighbour's unused 4 ft light hood. (free)

To Be Done:

Wiring from 3pin plug, still undecided to go 3-pin or normal 2-pin type

Tube Holders, akan datang (do i still need them???)

The final screw-in (pls dun think 'otherwise') will only be done when i finally collect the ATIs from Edmund... (sorry bro, kept delaying...)

light holder will not be fix unto the hood. it will just sit nicely on top of the hood, for ease of maintenance. (see pic 1)

Other DIY Pros: pls advice if this is do-able? or anyone can gimme some advice on how to improve this further?

Jewel,

For the e-ballasts, get from kisptrading.comor SINTER (Sim Lim Tower 3rd flr)

End-caps (non-waterproof), get from SINTER

Reflector, get ATI ones from Eaquanature.

Tubes, also eaquanature (ATI ones).

Depending on the price u get for ur materials, u can save around $100 when DIY.

Hope above helps.

actually, i dun think can save $100 leh...

est. price from eAN:

2' retrofit set with aquablue special:

$278. (with water proof endcaps + reflectors somemore)

this is before members discount... (price extracted from eAN website)

http://www.eaquanature.com/store/product_i...products_id=216

DIY cost:

tubes: $112 (before discount)

Non-waterproof endcaps+wiring+tube holder+reflectors(ATI reflectors): $60 or more...

ballast (market price): $50 +/-

total: $222

Note: this is NOT using waterproof endcaps + no proper casing/wiring done. thus, you may be better off buying off eAN.. (do i get extra discount for this?? :P )

maybe i left out some more items...

So why DIY?!?!? hahaha... i guess its becoz i need it to fit into my hood lah... :ph34r:

ic... DIY cannot save much huh... hahaha

didn't noe the connectors, wiring, reflectors add together is so ex liao.

actually can... provided you already have some materials...

the connectors+tubeholders+wirings <$10. (time+parking+petrol???)

It's the reflectors: $25 ea. (from eAN).

of coz, depending on individual, he can choose to get cheaper reflectors... (i was told arcadia ones are cheaper, much cheaper)

but since im comparing apple-to-apple.. i must get same product to compare...

so why DIY?? hehe, up to each individual i guess, that's why its hard to find pple selling DIY T5 here, coz what eAN is selling, is a very very fair price! (if not cheaper than DIY)..

somemore got delivery!