My 1st humble piece of the ocean

jxlex

Hi nice ppl here!

Thanks to all the wonderful information i have gathered from this site, i have finally gotten my tank up and running.

Budget setup and tank is outdoors but shaded :)

Basic specs:

4 X 2 X 2 Main tank

4 x 1.5 x 1.5 Sump tank with small refugium

Mainly filtered biologically with live rocks

DIY Overflow PVC tube with surface skimmer

Beckett Skimmer

Teco tw6 chiller

T5 HO 4 tubes - 2 x ATI Aqua Blue special, 1 x ATI Blue Plus & 1 X ATI True Actinic

Refuguim currently contains chaeto only :)

Pictures below:

Last week

Without light

4630421483_610a5a775e_o.jpg

Currently:

4659997336_fe76cc694b_b.jpg

the heart of the whole system:

4659372617_8b012b626e_b.jpg

:: just a noob ::

• Replies 80

wow... very nice and pleasing to the eye!

thumbsup.gif

some pieces of God's creation i manage to place in my tank:

Elegance Coral

4659460437_dbe329a186_b.jpg

Some coral (dunno what this guy is called)

4659459979_a01a4f3d35_o.jpg

My first Mushie

4660085576_15fe3827d6_o.jpg

Gonio (current a tad too big ;p)

4660086136_4db5268d58_b.jpg

Another some coral (dunno name too)

4659462025_70c15d6b7e_b.jpg

Another mushie (luv this guy cos he's HUGE when fully open, almost palm size per piece)

4660086882_eb3bf3009a_b.jpg

some pieces of God's creation i manage to place in my tank:

Elegance Coral

4659460437_dbe329a186_b.jpg

Some coral (dunno what this guy is called)

4659459979_a01a4f3d35_o.jpg

Euphyllia divisa (frogspawn coral)

My first Mushie

4660085576_15fe3827d6_o.jpg

Gonio (current a tad too big ;p)

4660086136_4db5268d58_b.jpg

Another some coral (dunno name too)

4659462025_70c15d6b7e_b.jpg

Sarcophyton sp. (leather coral)

Another mushie (luv this guy cos he's HUGE when fully open, almost palm size per piece)

4660086882_eb3bf3009a_b.jpg

nice piece of zoa i picked up from one of the bros here:

4660087320_10e250ef84_b.jpg

another colony my CO picked out (cos alot of variety so she like ;p)

4660087730_b7b41715cc_b.jpg

More later la.... CO starring at me eye big big liao...

thanks bro Lemon. Pick up what attracts the eye... hahaha half the time not knowing what im picking up.... lol

i'm guilty of that as well, although it's good to know what you're buying as alot of things are incompatible with other things and it may create tons of problems for you in the future.

it's a good thing the two corals you picked out are fine.

welldone.gif hahahah nice TANK!!! :) is this your first tank? Way to go for the plunge!

your tank looks VERY clean... I like it being a clean freak myself :) Please keep us updated with your progress, it seems to me you have lots of patience by not rushing into it with livestock for the moment. thumbsup.gif

Cheers, ;)

Desi

Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding...

hi jxlex.

nice setup. neat tank and nice scape.

Buying of livestocks need some 'patience' and reading up...

corals are pretty ok, can always rescape or sell them.

Fishes are a little bit more troublesome, once in, it's difficult to catch them... if u have internet access on your mobile, ask the name of the fish and google it before buying.

liveaquaria.com is a relatively good resource.

Very good photography skills too!

will visit here often.

Oh, forgot to add, you may wish to add 2 more tubes of light... it'll help.

i'm guilty of that as well, although it's good to know what you're buying as alot of things are incompatible with other things and it may create tons of problems for you in the future.

it's a good thing the two corals you picked out are fine.

Ya very true... think in future i will open up my mouth more often to ask....

dun wanna risk the whole tank koyak man....

welldone.gif hahahah nice TANK!!! :) is this your first tank? Way to go for the plunge!

your tank looks VERY clean... I like it being a clean freak myself :) Please keep us updated with your progress, it seems to me you have lots of patience by not rushing into it with livestock for the moment. thumbsup.gif

Thanks bro... ok la... yup 1st tank... contemplated and planned for about 2 mths before taking the plunge... read alot from this forum taking down notes etc... since i started this project it has been 2 mths...

patience i am not... hahaha... i keep telling myself to stop but everytime i go i wack... sigh..... must ctrl!!!

hi jxlex.

nice setup. neat tank and nice scape.

Buying of livestocks need some 'patience' and reading up...

corals are pretty ok, can always rescape or sell them.

Fishes are a little bit more troublesome, once in, it's difficult to catch them... if u have internet access on your mobile, ask the name of the fish and google it before buying.

liveaquaria.com is a relatively good resource.

Very good photography skills too!

will visit here often.

Oh, forgot to add, you may wish to add 2 more tubes of light... it'll help.

Thanks bro. Was considering increasing another 4 tubes but scared over kill...

thank god i have internet connection at the office man... otherwise wont be able to start this thread liao... if not because my CO came up and stare at me did i finally stop posting... ahahaha

For fishes, i have a small excel file which i made to refer too. maybe tmr when i go back office again i upload to share la...

Thanks for the kind compliments. Lens good, i lousy... hahaha

bro what's the thing i circled in white. isit a blue velvet damsel (Neoglyphidodon oxyodon).

you might want to remove it if it is as this is one of the fiercest damselfishes you can ever have the misfortune to own.

post-15755-12754086461897_thumb.jpg

wohoooo!! bro!! fantastic tank man!!! haha nice to meet u the other night, sorry had to leave 1/2 way, else i'll be getting an earful the next day from gf, haha. :welldone::score: how are the sally crabs doing?

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

Randy Pausch, (The Last Lecture)

Beautiful tank, beautiful shots bro! :)

On a side note, you have 2 Azure Damselfish in there already? Do be careful in future stocking as these buggers are pretty agressive.

Thanks bro. Yes will take note of it... have been trying to stop my CO from choosing them but epic fail... will not add in further.

bro what's the thing i circled in white. isit a blue velvet damsel (Neoglyphidodon oxyodon).

you might want to remove it if it is as this is one of the fiercest damselfishes you can ever have the misfortune to own.

Yes bro. It is... unfortunately choosen again by my CO and trying to stop her from stocking it would prevent me from stocking mine too.......... how bad a damage can they create huh?

wohoooo!! bro!! fantastic tank man!!! haha nice to meet u the other night, sorry had to leave 1/2 way, else i'll be getting an earful the next day from gf, haha. :welldone::score: how are the sally crabs doing?

Thanks for the kind comments.... yes it was nice meeting you... dun worry about it... it was almost 1am and my CO would be giving me an earful too if i didnnt leave.... they should be doingfine... havent seen them since i dropped them in the tank leh... :fear:

A few more of my corals :)

My orange hairy zoa

4661192167_336e81cb6b_b.jpg

An orange centred piece i obtained from a nice bro here :)

4661813784_0bffe06ee1_b.jpg

Pink piece my wife chose

4661192715_be44dee731_b.jpg

My 1st zoa that came with a mushroom i bought:

4661814288_d4bf8258d8_b.jpg

more later la :) meeting starting soon :)