Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 8, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 8, 2010 finally, exquisite variant 5. this is only from rowley shoals in western australia. unobtainable so forget about getting it. look at the flashing colours! simply AMAZING. if you look at all 5 variants of exquisite, the colours are so different and so is their flashing/nuptial colours. this led some ichthyologists to believe that all 5 variants are different species. but no solid evidence yet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AloysiusMun Posted August 8, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 8, 2010 That was the exact same picture I saw that got me into the Exquisite Wrasse Craze. Thanks for sharing the info about Exquisite Wrasses! Variant 1,2,3 they are quite nice. I specifically like Variant 2. The colors appeal to me. Unobtainable. Hmm... I could break some rules in Diving but that be too troublesome. Hahaha. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 8, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 8, 2010 That was the exact same picture I saw that got me into the Exquisite Wrasse Craze. Thanks for sharing the info about Exquisite Wrasses! Variant 1,2,3 they are quite nice. I specifically like Variant 2. The colors appeal to me. Unobtainable. Hmm... I could break some rules in Diving but that be too troublesome. Hahaha. unobtainable coz we dont have shipment from rowley shoals in west australia. the mutant wrasse coniella lives there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AloysiusMun Posted August 8, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 8, 2010 Hahahaha. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 10, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 10, 2010 my 2 baby pocci frags. green one cropped out accidently on the right and the bluish greenish one in the middle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 my 2 baby pocci frags. green one cropped out accidently on the right and the bluish greenish one in the middle. Nice blue pocci... I wann try also.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BFG Posted August 11, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2010 I am definitely going to save up to get that book. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 Nice blue pocci... I wann try also.. shud be super hardy. you know where i got it right? if it can survive there, it can survive anywhere. I am definitely going to save up to get that book. the book is excellent but there's one fairy wrasse that the book has no information on. Cirrhilabrus claire. endemic to Rarotonga @ Cooks Island. extremely rare, no photograph or information or live specimen has ever been documented before except for the original holotype discovered by Randall and Pyle in 2001. In the book written by rudie kuiter, it just list it as.. Cirrhilabrus claire -- N/A gives you an idea how rare this fish is. wonder what's it's real colours.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BFG Posted August 11, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2010 shud be super hardy. you know where i got it right? if it can survive there, it can survive anywhere. the book is excellent but there's one fairy wrasse that the book has no information on. Cirrhilabrus claire. endemic to Rarotonga @ Cooks Island. extremely rare, no photograph or information or live specimen has ever been documented before except for the original holotype discovered by Randall and Pyle in 2001. In the book written by rudie kuiter, it just list it as.. Cirrhilabrus claire -- N/A gives you an idea how rare this fish is. wonder what's it's real colours.. Blue and black with purple eye..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 Blue and black with purple eye..... ..? this is the only known photo of C. claire.. cannot tell from the poorly coloured dead specimen, but can tell there is 2 purple lines on it's face, resembling C. jordani, aka the flame wrasse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 Phymanthus crucifer. the most well behaved anemones one can have. Commonly called rock anemones, for good reasons. they stay on rocks and never move. the pink one is insane but i cannot capture the colour. this is the best i can but does no justice. the red tentacled one with the zebra stripes is my favourite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Phymanthus crucifer. the most well behaved anemones one can have. Commonly called rock anemones, for good reasons. they stay on rocks and never move. the pink one is insane but i cannot capture the colour. this is the best i can but does no justice. the red tentacled one with the zebra stripes is my favourite. OMG... They look so nice... LOL.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 OMG... They look so nice... LOL.. nicer in real life. cannot capture the colour properly. the pink 1 is really omg. especially under actinics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Digiman Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Phymanthus crucifer. the most well behaved anemones one can have. Commonly called rock anemones, for good reasons. they stay on rocks and never move. the pink one is insane but i cannot capture the colour. this is the best i can but does no justice. the red tentacled one with the zebra stripes is my favourite. Are these in your tank?? They will stay at the original position? Dun need sand bed right? Thinking of getting one, v fed up w my RBTA, it keep moving here and there and hide under the cliff, cant see at all. Are these ex and will they eat fishes? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Are these in your tank?? They will stay at the original position? Dun need sand bed right? Thinking of getting one, v fed up w my RBTA, it keep moving here and there and hide under the cliff, cant see at all. Are these ex and will they eat fishes? Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes and No... They are very nice.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Digiman Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes and No... They are very nice.. Thanks, so many yes's and last one no = mux get. Where can i find these now? ML? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Thanks, so many yes's and last one no = mux get. Where can i find these now? ML? Quite ex IMO.. Currently only ML have stock.. But Iwarna and ML both bought in before.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Digiman Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 Quite ex IMO.. Currently only ML have stock.. But Iwarna and ML both bought in before.. last qn, easy to keep as in photosynthetic or mux feed? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 last qn, easy to keep as in photosynthetic or mux feed? Like most Anemone, It should be photosynthetic... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member desideria Posted August 11, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2010 Lemon your tank inhabitants are looking pretty cool... do a full FTS leh... Quote Cheers, Desi Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 last qn, easy to keep as in photosynthetic or mux feed? photosynthetic but don't need much light. T5 will suffice. do note these don't host clownfishes. so if you planning on getting them to host, it won't work. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 Lemon your tank inhabitants are looking pretty cool... do a full FTS leh... seriously there's nothing to FTS lol. it's just rock covered in hair algae. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 11, 2010 Share Posted August 11, 2010 seriously there's nothing to FTS lol. it's just rock covered in hair algae. Just take lar.. Got Xenia and SPS liao... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted August 11, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted August 11, 2010 Just take lar.. Got Xenia and SPS liao... the hair algae bigger than the SPS! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted August 11, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2010 wow super nice rock anemone you have! might plan to look out if there's shipment for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...