Digiman Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 can. big one throw to you I dun mind taking the bigger one. But pls too big i also dun wan! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 I dun mind taking the bigger one. But pls too big i also dun wan! Think biggest on the stock list is 10 cm... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 Chaetodon declivis kept before but only for a short while wanna try it agian. besides. it's so pretty my only worry is 2 roaps in the same tank. this and the mitratus.. hmm.. my tank is big so should be alright Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 Cirrhilabrus aurantidorsalis. apparently dam common but i've never seen it? would like this too! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Digiman Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 Think biggest on the stock list is 10 cm... 10cm is 4inches le. A bit too big. Never mind i'll snatch the smaller one that comes in! Chaetodon declivis kept before but only for a short while wanna try it agian. besides. it's so pretty my only worry is 2 roaps in the same tank. this and the mitratus.. hmm.. my tank is big so should be alright Still trying declivis? Go for Tinker la! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 don't mind my incessant posting. i've made it a point to pen down everything that's going through my mind and what i do. so that i will have a complete thread and not like my half baked previous thread. The tank is clearing up very well with about 60% visibility. sand bed looks so clean now. dread the diatoms that will begin growing everywhere in the weeks to come Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Digiman Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 Cirrhilabrus aurantidorsalis. apparently dam common but i've never seen it? would like this too! Seen it a few times and it's quite dull in person. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 Seen it a few times and it's quite dull in person. isit? hmm. must reconsider when i actually do see it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 Seen it a few times and it's quite dull in person. The Orange is really orange leh.. I find quite okay... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 18, 2010 Share Posted June 18, 2010 don't mind my incessant posting. i've made it a point to pen down everything that's going through my mind and what i do. so that i will have a complete thread and not like my half baked previous thread. The tank is clearing up very well with about 60% visibility. sand bed looks so clean now. dread the diatoms that will begin growing everywhere in the weeks to come They will come in due time.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pokmingsheng Posted June 18, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2010 help me pass the message to RedDevils that i LOVE his car!!! nice meeting you guys while driving.. lol.. Quote My Decomissioned 2ft Cube: (31st March 2011) Carpe Diem~!!! My Current 4ft X 2ft X 2ft: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 help me pass the message to RedDevils that i LOVE his car!!! nice meeting you guys while driving.. lol.. you should see it when he drives his uncle's bently and rolls-royce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 looks like 70kg of liverock is just nice afterall. with a little bit left to spare. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 18, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 18, 2010 my salinity was low, around 1.020. i was lazy so i just poured some salt into the main tank, and let the salt dissolve on it's way down. as the salt slowly floats down, the rocks were immersed in super salted water. it's fun to see stuff crawling out to die. those things that survived the freshwater dip.. THEN OUT OF NOWHERE THIS THING SWAM OUT LIKE AN EEL. WHAT THE HELL! TO THINK I TOUCHED THE LIVEROCK IT WAS IN! EEEEEEEEEEEE Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member desideria Posted June 19, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted June 19, 2010 Wah lan eh.. that's one huge kick ###### worm.... I think I have one somewhere in my tank although not as fat.... is it a bobbit? so how did you catch it? LOL Quote Cheers, Desi Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 19, 2010 Share Posted June 19, 2010 my salinity was low, around 1.020. i was lazy so i just poured some salt into the main tank, and let the salt dissolve on it's way down. as the salt slowly floats down, the rocks were immersed in super salted water. it's fun to see stuff crawling out to die. those things that survived the freshwater dip.. THEN OUT OF NOWHERE THIS THING SWAM OUT LIKE AN EEL. WHAT THE HELL! TO THINK I TOUCHED THE LIVEROCK IT WAS IN! EEEEEEEEEEEE That is a bobbit worm... Not a bristle.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 Wah lan eh.. that's one huge kick ###### worm.... I think I have one somewhere in my tank although not as fat.... is it a bobbit? so how did you catch it? LOL i was lazy to mix salt into my tank so i just poured salt into the main tank. as the salt sank, the water around the rocks became super salty and this giant worm just came out. That is a bobbit worm... Not a bristle.. yeah it's a bobbit. but didn't see the fangs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 found two Cirrhilabrus roseafascia in LCK today. the rose-band fairy wrasse what an unexpected find. super rare and was suprised to see it mixed together with all the lineatus. guess with the attention that the lineatus has been getting, no one saw the "rose" amongst the thorns. (pun intended) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bryanong Posted June 19, 2010 Share Posted June 19, 2010 That's a superb rare find! If you happen to let go 1, please let me know. found two Cirrhilabrus roseafascia in LCK today. the rose-band fairy wrasse what an unexpected find. super rare and was suprised to see it mixed together with all the lineatus. guess with the attention that the lineatus has been getting, no one saw the "rose" amongst the thorns. (pun intended) Quote Main Tank: 3 by 2 by 2.5 ft Sump: 30 by 16 by 16 inch Return: Sicce 5000 Wavemaker: Vortech Mp40wES Lighting: 2 X Maxspect Mazzara, 1 ATI True Actinic, 1 ATI BluePlus Skimmer: Deltec APF 600 CR: Deltec PF 501 Filtration: Carbon FR, Phosphate FR Chiller: Hailea 300A Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 2 very very very VERYYYYYYY rare wrasses. Cirrhilabrus roseafascia. both are very young males. at only 3 inch. they look like female flame wrasses now but when they grow bigger, the characteristic roseafascia appearance will take form. adult roseafascia wrasse have an extremely long tapering rhomboid tail that is almost half the length of it's body. it is also the largest fairy wrasse in the genus and can attain a maximum of 8-9 inch. but it's unlikely to grow so big in the aquarium. roseafascia is an extremely rare fish in singapore and i'm so fortunate to have found it together with digiman. they are in my holding tub only until tomorrow. i will be decomming my holding tub tomorrow and all fish will be temporarily kept with a reefer friend here. here's the picture. they are stressed now and the stress colouration of young roseafascia wrasses look VERY similar, in fact, almost identical to female flame wrasse (which is probably why many reefers over looked it). but look carefully and you will see the blue spot on their lower ventral fins that is a 100% tell tale sign of roseafascias. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 the roseafascia came with hawaii shipment. doesn't make sense since roseafascias don't appear in hawaii. my only guess is, in the hawaii fish holding facility, the supplier mixed up the young roseafascias as female flame wrasses and shipped them together by mistake. it makes sense since roseafascias are very common in the states but not in singapore. this is what they look like un-stressed. the very obvious blue ventral fins are tell-tale roseafascia. the finnage is also same as the ones i have, except for the undeveloped tails in mine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 19, 2010 Share Posted June 19, 2010 Happy ah... LOL... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 Happy ah... LOL... YAH!!!! wth.. anyway i only keeping them for 1 day. i tested my ammonia in my QT today and showed some readings... i dunno from what since i do WC so often. i think my liverock or sponge... so i'm passing all to digiman to safekeep for me tomorrow. hope my mitratus and roseafascia will be ok Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted June 19, 2010 Author Senior Reefer Share Posted June 19, 2010 ok got better photos. this time it's extremely obvious it's roseafascia without a single doubt in my bone! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [V]tEc Posted June 19, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted June 19, 2010 how much u paid for them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...