Easy to make overflow pipe

peong

Hi Guys,

I hv just tried out a overflow pipe which converted from a plastic siphon pump and it's amazingly stable n safe. There is the end product, and it just cost me less than $5. :upsidedown: Cheaper than using pvc pipes n joints.

post-3149-12729836760128_thumb.jpg

omg bro why never tell me 1 week earlier!!! :eyeblur:

It looks pretty neat actually. Any idea what are the flow rates like?

The diameter of my suction tube is 1", no problem for my 2500L/H return pump, I believe it can be up to 3,000-3,500L/H flowrate by controlling the air-intake.

Well, a picture tells everything...

Pointer:

1. sealed with silicon

2. air-intake controller

3. make a hole there and sealed with rubber tube

4. tied with binding band (adjust to your best level...)

5. diameter depend on your desired flowrate, mine is 1", can control up to 2500L till 3500L

6. extended hose to sump

7. suction area, u can modify it to top suction or make more holes at the tube body...

So easy! try yourself lol. :eyebrow:

post-3149-12729859679923_thumb.jpg

Steady... Looks chim... Anyway happy DIYing.

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Hi Guys,

I hv just tried out a overflow pipe which converted from a plastic siphon pump and it's amazingly stable n safe. There is the end product, and it just cost me less than $5. :upsidedown: Cheaper than using pvc pipes n joints.

:)Nice Work...

those intend to try.. might need to take note the siphon suction tube length in main tank to prevent scenario when power outage drain water from main tank.. beside archive desire flow rate.... Switch off return pump after installed to simulate power outage condition... poka yoke concept :) Cheers and enjoy your DIY..

30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif
BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore

:)Nice Work...

those intend to try.. might need to take note the siphon suction tube length in main tank to prevent scenario when power outage drain water from main tank.. beside archive desire flow rate.... Switch off return pump after installed to simulate power outage condition... poka yoke concept :) Cheers and enjoy your DIY..

Yes, that's where u re-adjust the binding band level. :eyeblur:

one thing to add

in the no.1 inside there's two flap which is meant to be one way siphon

it'll tends to jab once small particular flow inside and it cause some flow rate not as desire

another is the flap will be out of shape over time( problem is if power outage u'll be unable to restart it back to siphon)

but it kind of cheap so can buy spare to keep

good thinking and concept for others to have an alternative

one thing to add

in the no.1 inside there's two flap which is meant to be one way siphon

it'll tends to jab once small particular flow inside and it cause some flow rate not as desire

another is the flap will be out of shape over time( problem is if power outage u'll be unable to restart it back to siphon)

but it kind of cheap so can buy spare to keep

good thinking and concept for others to have an alternative

I sealed the air-intake at no.1 is bcos for play-safe-reason, so that no chance accidentally allows the air to go in as result in reducing the desired flowrate or even break the flow to cause water overflow from the tank.

Sharing with u another result:

- tested with a $2 plastic siphon pump - diameter of the suction tube: 1.5cm

1. flow rate result: about 800L/H max. with little of air-intake.

2. using a ehiem compact 1000, with abit of flow rate reduced. see pic.

3. water level inside the tank remained at desired level for 1 hr.

4. total cost: $2+$1.50+misc = about $4 :upsidedown:

Well, happy to get this result as I'm setting up for another new seahorse tank...

Let's try yourself!

Btw, anyone interested with my first product, a 2,500-3,500L/H DIYed plastic siphon pump, just for $5/- hehehe (no use lah...)

post-3149-12731088464558_thumb.jpg

post-3149-12731089259262_thumb.jpg

post-3149-12731090418573_thumb.jpg

post-3149-12731091193413_thumb.jpg

bowdown.gif great improvisation on the siphon tube bro!

have u try to off ur return pump n see how much this thing suck remaining water into the sump? from the pic, it seems like the tube is deep into the tank. unless ur sump is very big else not advisable....u dun wan to come home with a half filled main tank with ur floor all wet?

tEc' date='11 May 2010 - 01:49 AM' timestamp='1273513749' post='909054']

have u try to off ur return pump n see how much this thing suck remaining water into the sump? from the pic, it seems like the tube is deep into the tank. unless ur sump is very big else not advisable....u dun wan to come home with a half filled main tank with ur floor all wet?

I hv the air-intake, same principle as the diyed overflow pipe, but using plastic is much easier that's all, tried the 1" tube no problem to control at desired cut off level, but the small pump i still hv problem to fill the air fully in the top portion, very tiny water flow still go into the sump, will c how i can improve. :eyeblur: