Algae Scrubbers

lauep

Hi bros,

recently read a thread in SRC on algae scrubbers.

I will be getting a new 3ft tank this Friday and I am contemplating whether to get an algae scrubber or not.

I understand on the super cool benefits (like high copepods, reduced Phosphate & Nitrate levels and not having unwanted algae growth in the main tank! :shock: ) of having one in the sump compartment.

So far I have not heard any bad reviews or comments of an algae scrubber, which I think its hard to believe. <_< Hmm....

I would like to hear your good & or bad reviews (if you have one, even better!), bros.

Can share your experiences if I should get one for my new tank?

Sincerely to hear from you all. :thanks:

Main Tank: 3ft x 2ft x 2ft

Sump Tank: 2ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft

Overflow Pump: 4500 l/hr

Lighting: T5 HO Metal Halide

Wavemaker: MP40w

Skimmer: BK Mini 200

Chiller: Arctica DBM-250 1/3hp

Phosphate Reactor: TLF Phosban 150

"Various public and private aquaria have used algae scrubber filters on their reef aquaria, with disastrous results. The microcosm at the Smithsonain Institution has yet to keep scleractinia alive for more than a year. While Dr. Adey has stated how well corals grow in this system, those viewing the system have failed to find these corals. In an interview with Jill Johnson, one of the techs responsible for the Smithsonian tank, she stated to Frank M. Greco that frequent collecting trips were needed to keep the system stocked with live scleractinia."

From http://www.seasky.org/aquarium/aquarium_faq_page02.html#2.9

"Various public and private aquaria have used algae scrubber filters on their reef aquaria, with disastrous results. The microcosm at the Smithsonain Institution has yet to keep scleractinia alive for more than a year. While Dr. Adey has stated how well corals grow in this system, those viewing the system have failed to find these corals. In an interview with Jill Johnson, one of the techs responsible for the Smithsonian tank, she stated to Frank M. Greco that frequent collecting trips were needed to keep the system stocked with live scleractinia."

From http://www.seasky.org/aquarium/aquarium_faq_page02.html#2.9

thats a very good website/article.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

Wow..! thanks so much for the article.

It looks so "easy" to place an algae scrubber in our reeftank system,

but there is so much more to it.

I wonder how are our fellow reefer bros coping with their algae scrubbers in their reeftanks?

Any bros who owns an algae scrubber would like to give their 2 cents worth of comments on their previous experience?

:look:

Iwarna has a giant scrubber at left side. Seems to have a full bloom of algae. You may want to check it out and ask them for advise. I am sure there is some good out there from the algae scrubber if done correctly. Problem in many cases is wrong installation method ( flow, lighting etc) that leads to not so favorable results. My main problem is space, don't know where to put the scrubber, sump got no more space. If you designing from scratch it may be better, since you can plan where you want to place the setup. The guy in US ( Santa Barbara) has lots of ideas and many success stories, seek help there perhaps?

Wow..! thanks so much for the article.

It looks so "easy" to place an algae scrubber in our reeftank system,

but there is so much more to it.

I wonder how are our fellow reefer bros coping with their algae scrubbers in their reeftanks?

Any bros who owns an algae scrubber would like to give their 2 cents worth of comments on their previous experience?

:look:

i've use on my 3ft reef tank before it does serve me good no3 and po4 almost 0ppm, with less algea problem on the main tank.

however previously i setup in the exposure of the whole sump, so the sump tank as long got lighting will have algea bloom and cleaning problem

So i advise u to built it to a bpx up type with min light exposure like this it'll only glow within the screen in the box

info of my previous reef tank mainly zoas but mushie doesn't really doing well in it as nutrient was relativly low

as the artical said but not advise to have algea scrubber in an SPS tank?? how does it really affect to it maybe some others bro can advise more on it??

Hi StevenKoh Bro,

I see your point, as long got light the sump will grow algae.

How often do we need to clean the sump tank?

in my humble and honest opinion.. algae scrubber is a good to have.. but it should always be a supplement to your skimmer and other chemical means of keeping your water clean..

Yeah I agree.

An algae scrubber should not be a replacement of changing tank water or skimming.

It should be a complement filter for the tank.

I am looking to have the algae scrubber only for the main reason to reduce Phosphate & Nitrate.

My tank is arriving this Friday and am so excited about the setup.

I wonder if one or manufacturer makes algae scrubber? Would anyone know who does it? :thanks:

Yeah I agree.

An algae scrubber should not be a replacement of changing tank water or skimming.

I am looking to have the algae scrubber only for the main reason to reduce Phosphate & Nitrate.

I wonder if one or manufacturer makes algae scrubber? Would anyone know who does it? :thanks:

Congrats on your new tank :) Patience during the setting up/cycling period pays off in the long run!

Anyway there was a bulk order done previously on a custom build algae scrubber. Can see if you can contact the same maker to do another bulk order. Not sure if iwarna still sells their custom built scrubber too, can check with Victor.

Do remember to set up a thread to show us your new tank! :lol:

Yeah I agree.

I wonder if one or manufacturer makes algae scrubber? Would anyone know who does it? thanx.gif

All the best for you new tank dude! Please do start a tank thread!

I think you can rely on your scrubber to "propagate" pods as well.. a fantastic food source for your fishes..

+1 on comycus point.. do be patient on your cycling.. its damn diffcult but its also the most important point as well..

i know of someone who does acryliv work.. but not sure it he still do it anymore...

Thanks so much bro.

I'll ask Victor to see if he can help to make the scrubber for me.

Btw, I also ordered the tank from him. Heh heh.. :eyebrow:

I will keep my tank setup log in another thread soon. Remember my nick: CLAM CHOWDER! Haha..

I still do not know what type of marine critters in my tank leh. Any suggestions?

But the majority of the livestock will be clams (my nick explains all).

Thanks so much bro.

Btw, I also ordered the tank from him. Heh heh.. eyebrow.gif

I will keep my tank setup log in another thread soon. Remember my nick: CLAM CHOWDER! Haha..

I still do not know what type of marine critters in my tank leh. Any suggestions?

I suppose we can take your clams out to make clam chowder next time too yeah? lol..

give victor a call... their previous scrubber was quite well done..

marine critters? you mean CUC (Clean Up Crew)??

Thanks so much bro.

Btw, I also ordered the tank from him. Heh heh.. eyebrow.gif

Nice. Looking forward to see your clammy tank bro!

clam dominated tank! That could be a first! :) Looking forward to lots of top down shots in future.

Haha anyway, can give us some indication like tank size so we can recommend what LS suitable? What has caught your eye so far?

okies, thanks for the recommendations.

Critters as in any marine life (eg: Clean up crews, fishes, corals, anything to recommend??)

Currently I have a 2ft tank in operation liao (consists of 1 tomato clown, 1 blue tang, 1 green wrasse and 4 SPS).

I will migrate them into the bigger tank soon. Heh heh... They will be the first residents in the new tank.

okies, thanks for the recommendations.

Critters as in any marine life (eg: Clean up crews, fishes, corals, anything to recommend??)

Currently I have a 2ft tank in operation liao (consists of 1 tomato clown, 1 blue tang, 1 green wrasse and 4 SPS).

I will migrate them into the bigger tank soon. Heh heh... They will be the first residents in the new tank.

Depends on what you like! i've always kept nano tanks so i will go for small fishes... Lol.. i think a school of anthias makes the best inhabitants of any fish tank..

the recent fish craze is wrasses..

For corals? Zoas? Rics? Aussie Acans? Super Suns? etc etc etc... look around at members tank thread.. see if there's anything theme you like or any corals you like and plan from there.. afterall you still got 1 month to cycle your tank.. plenty of time to do proper planning! =]

clam dominated tank! That could be a first! :) Looking forward to lots of top down shots in future.

Haha anyway, can give us some indication like tank size so we can recommend what LS suitable? What has caught your eye so far?

______

A bit of insight....

My tank dimensions: 3ft x 2ft x 2ft with sump tank, similar to yours. ^_^

As for my sump tank, it would be a 4 compartment (1 collection/ 1 skimmer/ 1 Refuguim/ 1 Return)tank. I also dunno how it would look like but I will take photos for all to share.

As for the number of clams, I plan to have 19 of them (1 & 9 are my lucky numbers).. :heh:

But I dunno if this is too many?? Wad do ya all think? :evil:

I dun mind having less fishes in the tank actually... cos I scared to see fishes die in the tank and usually fishes tend to die easier than clams... (thats wad I presume lah..) but you can correct me if I'm wrong.

Wad would ya all bros think?

Depends on what you like! i've always kept nano tanks so i will go for small fishes... Lol.. i think a school of anthias makes the best inhabitants of any fish tank..

the recent fish craze is wrasses..

For corals? Zoas? Rics? Aussie Acans? Super Suns? etc etc etc... look around at members tank thread.. see if there's anything theme you like or any corals you like and plan from there.. afterall you still got 1 month to cycle your tank.. plenty of time to do proper planning! =]

Bro raydiative,

I have a sun coral but it has not opened at all since the first day I bought it.

I have tried all methods (low light to strong light, high water flow to low water flow.. etc)

But haven't open at all. Sigh... :wacko: "Kek Sim"

At least I know what corals I should not keep in future.

19 clams.... wow....

Clams are best viewed from the top.

It looks much darker/ duller when viewed from the front glass.

ever thought building a shallow tank for that you can bring out the clam's best traits?

Dun worry Comycus bro, I will take top-down views and post them up for all to share.

I hope the pics will turn out nice lah... if not nice, then "lao kui".. :wacko:

Bro raydiative,

I have a sun coral but it has not opened at all since the first day I bought it.

I have tried all methods (low light to strong light, high water flow to low water flow.. etc)

But haven't open at all. Sigh... wacko.gif "Kek Sim"

super suns are different from suns.

Super suns are pretty easy to keep.

just feed your fishes and they will gradually open.

Bro raydiative,

But haven't open at all. Sigh... wacko.gif "Kek Sim"

Suns and supersuns do not need light.. in fact some reefers would say that they do better without light! medium to high flow would be good as in the wild thats how they get their food. Relying on the current to sweep the food to them.

took me awhile to dig this out of my thread.. try use this method to feed your corals next time.. see if it works!

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=72975&st=580

But haven't open at all. Sigh... :wacko: "Kek Sim"

Bro, sun corals are not photosynthetic, they don't need light as a food source. They need to be target fed regularly with meaty stuff like mysis and brine shrimp. They are quite easy to keep as long as you feed them. Personally, I feed them with pellets cos I'm lazy to prepare a separate diet for them haha.

19 clams.... wow....

Clams are best viewed from the top.

It looks much darker/ duller when viewed from the front glass.

ever thought building a shallow tank for that you can bring out the clam's best traits?

_______

Yeah... when I saw the display clams at Iwarna, I was totally awe-struck by the colour and

serenity of the clams. That was where my decision came, to keep clams. I will get a couple more

HO T5 lights for the clams.

They are stationery as compared to fishes; but might be boring. Thats where I will keep some

fishes for movement beauty. (Need your recommendations on clam-safe fishes)...

As for a shallow tank, that will come later until at least I stabilse this 3ft tank first.

I also got space constraints at home lah.. even though I would like to have another tank. :eyebrow:

Haha...

Aside to all the above, I even have a themed-name for my tank, and it will be called, "Clam Valley"