Milch's Reef Learning Journey

Milch_Tan

Hi Bro/Sis!

Hope to have your inputs, suggestions and advises, as I am new and any help is most appreciated!! :)

I have started reefing only late Dec 2009, with a 1.5x1.5x2ft tank, mainly with seahorses and other fishes, and met many nice seniors who taught me things to look out for etc, and have since been dreaming of a bigger tank for more space to play around. By sheer stroke of luck and chance, I met bro Louis from Pasir Ris in mid-March 2010, with the intention of only getting a Denitriator, Calcium Reactor and Fluidised Reactor. Before I knew it, I had taken over almost his entire set up. :upsidedown:

I owe my deepest gratitude to him for his generosity and kindness in letting go his gears and fish tank. :bow: and not forgetting bro Vincent of Aquarium-Artist for expertise in de-com and the band of brothers @ SG Bros! :thanks:

Here are some pictures of how the tank looked like with bro Louis, the tank is actually recessed into the walls, so taking it out indeed proved to be slightly tricky with all the wires behind the tank and the fear of any serious damages to the wall, but the fear was later unfounded as you can see from the pictures posted later. :D

Kudos to Vincent and Sg Bros for the!

@ Bro Louis's house:

2wf4j7d.jpg54t8qx.jpgoanl9x.jpg

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

Randy Pausch, (The Last Lecture)

whats the size? looks like a 6 footer.

looking good :eyebrow:

will aid you by advising and commenting :peace:

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

De-Com Day 1:

Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me during the first day, basically, Vincent and I spent the Saturday clearing equipments and getting ready for the main de-com the following day.

De-Com Day 2 :

Shiong day, transferring of live rocks and scooping out out sand form the tank. Seriously, it's almost back breaking, but Vincent does it with much ease, :eyeblur: Apart from the barrels the tub and boxes are placed in my room (HUGE MISTAKE! as my floor was wet and sticky, kinda like a mini flood :sick: )

Total live rocks :

2 barrel, 1 blue tub and 2 long Styrofoam boxes!!

j67qbm.jpg2ngzytw.jpg

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

some critters I found from the live rocks during the 'bubble-spa' treatment, thanks to bro lemonlemon, who identified them here on the ID thread, I safely turn them to become organic fertilizer! haha :eyebrow: :

1zn79zc.jpg

whats the size? looks like a 6 footer.

looking good :eyebrow:

will aid you by advising and commenting :peace:

Hi bro Law, thanks man will definitely need as much help as I can get!! :) size wise its 6.33 x 2.5 x 2.5 ft, :paiseh: really love creative freedom and space :blush:

if you are very creative, soon, you will realise that the size is not enough for u. :lol:

welcome to the 6 footer club!!!!!!! :peace:

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

Day 3 de-com : Actual Moving!! :upsidedown: Super elated!!

Bro Vincent looking good :

5oc8hu.jpg

Here comes the lifting of tank and the hair-width gap through the door and lift (if you see closer, you'll notice the gates are actually taken out!!), kinda scary :unsure: , but fortunately, all went well :

2qn87rd.jpg2m305lx.jpg25smvle.jpg1zxw2rn.jpg

Cont'd cruising to my house!!!

2bv3ip.jpg2cdwzgh.jpgb5h4au.jpg

Fortunately, they didn't have to take out my gates and the width is again tight ^_^ :

30kvoub.jpg210ztp3.jpgi3clc2.jpg

THE UNTHINKABLE!!! :shock::cry2::cry::( :

2rf7960.jpg2h53b5j.jpg15x9x0j.jpg

The corner of the tank was actually chipped and cracked when exiting the lift............. and to make things complicated, it was the front panel... which is a crystal-glass panel used by bro Louis... I felt shattered, as the tank was meant as a gift from Louis (Super Duper Kindness :bow::ooh: ) , and even he was shocked about it, but Leon of Sg Bros readily offered to replace 1 for 1 the damaged panel, and he assured me the replacement panel will be crystal-glass as well, and I hope it will be the case... well, at least it's some 5-star service. It was cordial and there was no arguments etc at all. Might just top up the Sg Bros for the new panel in bona fide. B)

super sian.. cos now the progress is stalled.. and sitting at various spots of my parent's small 4 room HDB flat..

28bwiko.jpg11c89bc.jpgngocaf.jpg

and the the stinky :sick: : 9asac3.jpg

took the opportunity to re locate the live rocks outta my room to stop the mini flooding!, and they are now soaking outside the house, and my nice neighbors occasionally asked if there were any fishes in the tubs, :whistle

2j3m9no.jpg

and here are some of the inhabitants waiting for their new adobe ^_^ :

my beloved ghost boxing shrimp!! :wub:

11tx7ig.jpgcnqr8.jpg23l4sx.jpg

whats the thickness of the glass?

and also.. maybe to re-formica the cabinet :look:

spcf0l.jpg2sbn213.jpg

special thanks to bro mengyang_neo for the recommendation of Sg Bro, I didn't know they provide such service too, :yeah:

Thanks bro law! haha, yeah, sure hope I won't be yearning for more space! haha :upsidedown:

the glass thickness is 12mm, luckily not more than that, :pinch:

or else cant fit in? :upsidedown:

i got similar experience with your's when come to sgbros.

not bout fitting, but read in forum that anything more than 12 mm for crystal glass it's gonna be a bomb :eyeblur:

gosh, wht happened? they replaced the tank for you as well? Leon told me they'll send it back before 30th April though,

be mentally prepared to clean yr tank like crazy....haha...but since u r getting a replacement, may save u the trouble afterall...

sgbros did my shifting also...they shd have stick sponge on the corners to absorb the impact and handling...

lookin forward to your updates!

Wow .... Great upgrade Milch!

cannot wait to see your tank up and running.

Wow that is a huge leap in size bro. Congrats on your upgrade, should be an awesome looking tank once it is stocked up :D

THE UNTHINKABLE!!! :shock::cry2::cry::( :

2rf7960.jpg2h53b5j.jpg15x9x0j.jpg

The corner of the tank was actually chipped and cracked when exiting the lift............. and to make things complicated, it was the front panel... which is a crystal-glass panel used by bro Louis... I felt shattered, as the tank was meant as a gift from Louis (Super Duper Kindness :bow::ooh: ) , and even he was shocked about it, but Leon of Sg Bros readily offered to replace 1 for 1 the damaged panel, and he assured me the replacement panel will be crystal-glass as well, and I hope it will be the case... well, at least it's some 5-star service. It was cordial and there was no arguments etc at all. Might just top up the Sg Bros for the new panel in bona fide. B)

Very cool tank... now is the most testing part... PATIENCE... :wacko:

Camping here for more updates... :pinch:

aquatronica7na.gif

Main Tank - DECOMMISSIONED ON 24.01.11

48"x24"x26" 12mm thick starfire crystal glass(3 sided) EOS with Black Silicon(Germany)

Sump Tank

32"x15"x20" complete with egg crate, bio-ball, top up reservoir

Equipments

Return Pump: AquaBee up7000

Skimmer: Skimz Monzter sm200 with AquaBee pin wheel and AquaBee up2000(Germany) as feed pump

CR: Skimz Monzter CM150 powered with AquaBee 2000i(Germany), solonoid valve and CO2 tank

FR: Skimz 150

MH Lighting: 2x250W Lumen bright(USA) MH pendant with 2x250W 12000k Reeflux bulb(USA), 250W Coralvue (USA) dimmable ballast

T5 Lighting: 2x54w ATI(Germany) high output T5 bulb with aluminium stand

Controller: Aquatronica ACS ADVANCE Package

Dosing: Aquatronica Dosing Pumps-ACQ450