Popular Days

Dear All,

Anyone use distilled water for salt mix? Reliable as in 0 nitrate/phosphate/heavy metal. I might be 'carless' soon so might convert to salt mix.... :thanks:

Most distilled water should be ok. Even the cheapest NTUC PURE distilled water has TDS reading of 1-3ppm only. If you want to be totally safe, then get a DI filter and purify the tap water yourself.

Hi bro,

Thanks for the reply. I looking at those 'huge bottle' that they use in the office for drinking. Best is can deliver to my home. So if any bro has contact number to share, pls let me know.

Tank Size: 3 x 3 x 2 with 3.5ft cabinet

buy a second hand crystal pro, then order from Peter bulk purchase of cartidge and resin... :)

i'm using distilled water....but not advisable to do large volume water change using distilled water...will cause big swing in water parameters...coz the pH is 7.0...sudden drop in yr current pH from drastic water change is bad for corals especially...and if u keep sensitive fishes like PBT..may kapuk..

large water change , call Iwarna with their NSW

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

large water change , call Iwarna with their NSW

Hi Bro,

Yap i checked with iwarna. Another alternative is to call for their NSW delivery service, if not i have to get a tub to store the nsw and refill every month or something.

i'm using distilled water....but not advisable to do large volume water change using distilled water...will cause big swing in water parameters...coz the pH is 7.0...sudden drop in yr current pH from drastic water change is bad for corals especially...and if u keep sensitive fishes like PBT..may kapuk..

Usually i dont practice large water change at one go. Weekly i perform 5% water change ah...see how lah...cos now COE went up, sellers' market liao. Time to let go the car....

buy a second hand crystal pro, then order from Peter bulk purchase of cartidge and resin... :)

I trying very hard not to go into that...cos i think is a bit 'troublesome'.....hehe.....

Usually i dont practice large water change at one go. Weekly i perform 5% water change ah...see how lah...cos now COE went up, sellers' market liao. Time to let go the car....

If you do 5% weekly water change, then no point to get Iwarna NSW delivery service if you do not have large tubs to store the NSW. The charge for NSW delivery is only worth it if you take 400L and above of NSW each time. Otherwise you are better off using either distilled water or DI water using Crystal Pro or a DIY DI filter unit.

I trying very hard not to go into that...cos i think is a bit 'troublesome'.....hehe.....

Troublesome to use Crystal Pro to make DI water or to refill the catridge?

yup...i might consider having those tubs...$80 for 400L of NSW is rather worth it.

if u use distilled bottles...very xiong...5% of your current tank is approx 30-50 litres...which means min 20 bottles for each water change...mix until seow...right now i m changing alternate days one small pail each time...abt 7.5 litres each time....so i spread my xiongness...

yup...i might consider having those tubs...$80 for 400L of NSW is rather worth it.

if u use distilled bottles...very xiong...5% of your current tank is approx 30-50 litres...which means min 20 bottles for each water change...mix until seow...right now i m changing alternate days one small pail each time...abt 7.5 litres each time....so i spread my xiongness...

The huge size toyogo tubs can also be used. Ard 150L++ each.

Troublesome to use Crystal Pro to make DI water or to refill the catridge?

All of the above...haha....Yeah u are right, Cos per trip from irwana cost $30/-. So it only makes sense if purchase in bulk. Or another alternative is to share with few reefers, so that the trip fee is shared. Then be more worth it....

u can't share with other reefers since the trip is to one address only. Unless the other reefers bring their 150L tubs and trolleys and unless they are staying nearby I also dun know how they are going to bring the tub with NSW back to their homes... :upsidedown:

i got from some one a blue container of 400l and i got Iwarna to fill up the tub monthly.

I did the calcium , magnesium and kh topup in the container.

Humble tank :

Equipment :

i got from some one a blue container of 400l and i got Iwarna to fill up the tub monthly.

U sure u got the 400L blue tub? The 200L blue tub is already super large. I don't even want to think about the size of the 400L blue tub.

Wah like that not only cost, but tiring right? Hmm..perhaps i have to re-consider. So how bro, wana to share anot the cost of the nsw bo? hahaha.... :eyebrow:

u can't share with other reefers since the trip is to one address only. Unless the other reefers bring their 150L tubs and trolleys and unless they are staying nearby I also dun know how they are going to bring the tub with NSW back to their homes... :upsidedown:

Yah lor, unless stay nearby. see how lah...the logistics part have to think of a way...

Wah like that not only cost, but tiring right? Hmm..perhaps i have to re-consider. So how bro, wana to share anot the cost of the nsw bo? hahaha.... eyebrow.gif

my tank too small to share with you :P

400L can fill up 5 of my tank. hahaha

Then get 4 more tanks lor... :eyebrow:

U mean u pour the nsw in this huge tub, and pour irwana top-up into the nsw? Then use the NSW to change water?

Dear All,

Anyone use distilled water for salt mix? Reliable as in 0 nitrate/phosphate/heavy metal. I might be 'carless' soon so might convert to salt mix.... :thanks:

the truth is that i was in the same situation previously and spent so much money on the distilled water from Pere Ocean when doing water change with salt mix, in stead i got more algae and cyano problem then ever .

Maybe due to the pH flucuations

i got Iwarna who save me the problem.

Currently i used Pere Ocean distilled mix with SeaChem Prime to get rid of the Chlorine in it linked to my Deltec Kalk reactor as water topup

hope this note can help you.

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Tub too big i cant store in the hse also, maybe get a 3 x 1.5 x 1.5 tank with a alumimium stand, pour NSW into the tank and run weipro skimmer and a small HOB (With Carbon).....hmmm......

Why would you want to have another tank just to store NSW??? :eyeblur: