SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted April 21, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 21, 2010 Yup Jacky you are right about the noise reduction. Only thing is that the silence is canceled out by my use of filter sock, so there's no sponge or wool to reduce the sound when it hits the sump haha. Siang, Dr Evil dropped by my place last night with the BM skimmer... we opened up the carton together and admired the skimmer until we found the body cracked from shipping . I'll get a replacement in a few days. And yah, hahaha my scape always very skinny with minimal rocks one... your rockscape is Zen style... nice of dr evil to come by yr place to help u install....i will be ordering BM from him...model NAC66 running on 2 pumps... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member LaW Posted April 21, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 21, 2010 Hahahaha, maybe you didn't know cos you are so used to large tanks that nano tanks are too small for your eyes to notice lol. dun say that lah, i started from small also. smaller than urs. 10gallon only. but i really like ur set up. wahla wahla Quote If a man could beat his own fantasy. Then to only breed in captivity. Then its pointless. Genesis 1:20 And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day. || Tank: 78" x 30" x 30" || Sump: 48" x 22" x 20" || Lights: PowerModule 10 X 80W|| Returns: 2 x HF32 || || Skimmer: BubbleKing Supermarin 300 || Wavemaker: 3 x 6100 & 1 x 6200, 2 x Wavebox 6212, WavySea || || FR: 2 x FR150 || NR: Sulphur Denitrator || CR: RM Custom Made 8" || KR: Deltec KM500 || TopUp: Tunze Osmolator 3155 || || UV: Coralife 12X 36W || Ozonizer: Sanders C200|| Controller: GHL Profilux Plus II Ex || Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter mitlancer Posted April 22, 2010 SRC Supporter Share Posted April 22, 2010 Bro, more pics pls..... So far running into 3 pgs liao but only first page got pic.... more leh... from all angles, BM skimmer, everything, lai lai lai.... hahaha... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 Did a rescape yesterday, as always it is an hour or two arranging the rocks and many hours more cleaning up First, pics of the Bubble Magus cone skimmer which was delivered by Kevin last Saturday! Still a lot of micro bubbles right now, hopefully they will disappear after the skimmer breaks in. Second last pic shows skimmate 10 hours after switching on. Overall, the skimmer is very well built and solid. The subtle cosmetic finishing like notches and numbers for tuning the water level, rubber seal at the neck of the collection cup and the embossed logo on the cover really leaves a very good impression. Performance wise, will have to wait for it to actually pull skimmate before I pass judgement. Video of the skimmer in operation, for those of you with bubble fetish (Sorry for low quality of the vid. I shot in HD, but only have Windows Movie Maker in the office computer)... Skip to the 45 second mark to see the amount of micro bubbles in the sump: Specs from BM website: Bubble Magus Protein Skimmer BM-NAC3.5 Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackywongto Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 wow really a lot of microbubbles.... hope it gets better with the run in and cotton filter in the sump. Quote Eqpt: Deltec MCE 600, Tunze 6055 with Tunze 7091 controller, Artica 1/15 HP chiller, AquaIllumination Sol Blue LED Light System 2011 resolution : Do it simpler, better and in an easier way! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member teebs Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 Ur micro bubbles very tok kong... Quote My Setup: 3x2x2 tank with IOS Equipment List: Chiller: Artica 1/5HP Chiller Pump: Sicce 4000 Return Pump: OR3500 Skimmer: Deltec APF600 Wavemaker: Tunze Wavebox/2x Hydor K2/SCWD wavemaker Lights: DElighting 2x150W MH + 2x 39W T5 Atinic FR: Skimz FR Pump: Atman AT-104 Tubby ATO, Kalkweisser Reactor with magnetic stirrer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 Some corals and frags I've acquired over the past month or so: Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 did u place yr skimmer with the return pump? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raydiative Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 why the picture so purple one?? lol Quote A man with a reef tank is a man with an empty wallet... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackywongto Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 why the picture so purple one?? lol ya hor.. why arh??? Quote Eqpt: Deltec MCE 600, Tunze 6055 with Tunze 7091 controller, Artica 1/15 HP chiller, AquaIllumination Sol Blue LED Light System 2011 resolution : Do it simpler, better and in an easier way! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 New tank pic, including the custom built chiller housing: Pic of the overflow compartment: Laser cut acrylic cover for the overflow: Maxspect 60W LED clipped onto the tank (I'm glad I kept this light fixture, it looks very minimalist and sleek on the tank ): Yellow tang, bought under peer pressure from cedricang : FTS!!! Any comments on the scape? I love the large flat live rock (14"!!!), I can't think of any other way to use it. Quite cool as a "shelf" for my frags as it is right now lol. Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 why the picture so purple one?? lol Coralline algae lah! noob Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 did u place yr skimmer with the return pump? The return pump is in a different compartment, on the right. The skimmer is in the same compartment as the chiller pump (cold water goes to last compartment). Any problems that might arise from that? Seems okay to me so far. Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 New tank pic, including the custom built chiller housing: Pic of the overflow compartment: Laser cut acrylic cover for the overflow: Maxspect 60W LED clipped onto the tank (I'm glad I kept this light fixture, it looks very minimalist and sleek on the tank ): Yellow tang, bought under peer pressure from cedricang : FTS!!! Any comments on the scape? I love the large flat live rock (14"!!!), I can't think of any other way to use it. Quite cool as a "shelf" for my frags as it is right now lol. looks good Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member comycus Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 I like the scape! like u said, lots of room to place frags. Yea, the maxspect's really sleek and powderful Quote My old 3ft Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackywongto Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 Yellow tang, bought under peer pressure from cedricang : FTS!!! Any comments on the scape? I love the large flat live rock (14"!!!), I can't think of any other way to use it. Quite cool as a "shelf" for my frags as it is right now lol. Always better to get stable fishes from reefers. I have no regret getting mine from Norman. The FTS looks great. Very nice! Coralline algae lah! noob lol..... Quote Eqpt: Deltec MCE 600, Tunze 6055 with Tunze 7091 controller, Artica 1/15 HP chiller, AquaIllumination Sol Blue LED Light System 2011 resolution : Do it simpler, better and in an easier way! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 Why does it still look so small.. LOL... The scaping is very minimalist... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 looks good Thank youse many many I like the scape! like u said, lots of room to place frags. Yea, the maxspect's really sleek and powderful Hahaha yah man, organic frag rack. I'm just placing all small zoa frags there and let them grow on their own. Always better to get stable fishes from reefers. I have no regret getting mine from Norman. The FTS looks great. Very nice! Hahaha yah, that's the <2" inch YT I bought from SL after we had chicken rice that day. Cedric kept poisoning me with the benefits of keeping a small YT.... eat algae lah, cute lah, colour very bright la, eyes very nice lah... and I caved Why does it still look so small.. LOL... The scaping is very minimalist... What looks small? Anyway I'm not very happy with the scape yet, the large rock protrudes too much to the front, and the bottom half is now very dark when I take photos LOL! I think I will end up like Jacky, do 10 rescapes a year Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tian1974 Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 splendid nice! Quote God Blessed all who appreciate His wonderful and beautiful creations. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ my first reef aquarium 15jan2010 3x2x2ft EOS 10mm tank with sump//deltec sc2060 skimmer//arctica 1/10hp chiller maxpect g2 170w led//vortech mp40w wavemaker//eheim 1262 universal pump eheim compact+ 3000 chiller pump//caribsea ocean direct live sands 40lbs and other misc... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 What looks small? Anyway I'm not very happy with the scape yet, the large rock protrudes too much to the front, and the bottom half is now very dark when I take photos LOL! I think I will end up like Jacky, do 10 rescapes a year Haha... The tank lor... Perfectionist... :upsidedown: Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 splendid nice! Thank you! Haha... The tank lor... 1.5ft cube mah, what were you expecting haha... Maybe my gf's mom will put a flower pot on the empty space when I get back tonight, can take a pic for you to see the scale haha. Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 Tot will be bigger than your old one mah... LOL.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted April 26, 2010 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 Just slightly bigger, 2 inch taller, 3 inch wider and with a sump Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 26, 2010 Share Posted April 26, 2010 Just slightly bigger, 2 inch taller, 3 inch wider and with a sump <_< Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raydiative Posted April 26, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2010 Coralline algae lah! noob i thot coralline algae is red and slimey one? hahaha Quote A man with a reef tank is a man with an empty wallet... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...