Jail the irresponsible Romanian envoy!

tian1974

After reading today's ST, I feel utterly disturbed by the "cowardly, irresponsible" romanian diplomat. Justice will prevail. I can't wait to see the verdict and fly him back here to put him behind the bars, big time!

God Blessed all who appreciate His wonderful and beautiful creations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

my first reef aquarium 15jan2010

3x2x2ft EOS 10mm tank with sump//deltec sc2060 skimmer//arctica 1/10hp chiller

maxpect g2 170w led//vortech mp40w wavemaker//eheim 1262 universal pump

eheim compact+ 3000 chiller pump//caribsea ocean direct live sands 40lbs

and other misc...

taken from temasek review...

The Singapore government has received much flak for allowing Dr Silviu, a prime suspect in the case to leave the country three days after the accident.

There were no comments from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) for weeks in the aftermath of the accident except a forgettable “What happened was very bad” remark from Foreign Minister George Yeo.

Strange enough, after maintaining weeks of dignified silence on the matter, MFA suddenly recalled the Romanian Ambassador Neagu to pass a series of diplomatic notes after Dr Silviu embarrassed the Singapore government by accusing them of “framing” him in an interview on a Romanian TV station.

Though MFA has vehemently denied the accusations, it has refrained from taking legal action against Dr Silviu and sue him for defamation.

As there are no extradition treaties between Singapore and Romania, it is highly unlikely that Dr Silviu will return to Singapore soon.

seriously if our garmen dun handle this well...its not good for them in the LR...

Another controversial thread with the potential to blow... let's keep our discussion civil and respectful :)

If not I will flood the thread with nonsense and steer it :off: again LOLOL!!!

The damage was done when he was allowed to leave the country already.

His car plate is a special car plate if I am not wrong. So how can witnesses not notice it.

How could he has been allowed to leave the country...... ??? I have very wild speculations.

Now that he is back in Romania, these are just "shows" to let the public know that they are doing what they can now.

Honestly, they know that nothing can be done now though. I feel so sorry for the victims family.

As to our MP, I dun even want to comment on him after his "rally behind Jack Neo" cries just because they are friends.

His credibility is really in doubt.

** edited to soften my stance :)

Bo pian leh... They cannot detain him cos he has diplomatic immunity and cannot be charged. MFA can only resort to pressuring the Romanian govt into giving him up, but I don't think that is going to work cos what the hell can we threaten them with?

and there are not extradiction laws between us and them.....and he is now a civilian, no longer working for the embassy...that makes it even harder....

Get a Singaporean diplomat to hunt him down in Romania and run him over too, then flee back to Singapore and claim that Romania govt is framing him lol. Just kidding :P

I think MFA's hands are tied la, can't do anything much other than making strong statements, recalling the romanion ambassador, or in extreme cases, follow the lead of the British... expulsion of a senior official.

its the way MFA has respond to this particular case and how they have handled it so far that makes pple furious and disappointed...but at least our court of justice has done well to win back singaporeans' trust....i tell u if the person knocked down is somebody's son...the way it is handled will be different liao...

i tell u if the person knocked down is somebody's son...the way it is handled will be different liao...

Then it's our turn to say “What happened was very bad” :upsidedown:

its the way MFA has respond to this particular case and how they have handled it so far that makes pple furious and disappointed...but at least our court of justice has done well to win back singaporeans' trust....i tell u if the person knocked down is somebody's son...the way it is handled will be different liao...

no comments for now... hahaa I prefer to do this over coffeeshop table :P

U know why right?

no comments for now... hahaa I prefer to do this over coffeeshop table :P

U know why right?

there's not many blogs out there bombarding....n only one section of pple looking into these everyday...

coffeeshop also not safe ok...there r pple deployed to coffeeshops to listen to all these conversations...in fact, over the internet is safer...so long no names r mentioned....MFA can mean museum of fine arts wat...

btw..why r u still here? u shd be on the way to meet us

Let me put it this way. He is a diplomat and has diplomatic immunity. What this means is he can take a hand granade and throw into the MFA and still nothing can be done to him unless the Romanian government lifts his diplomatic immunity which they will never do.

As to why he was allowed to leave Singapore, same principle applies. Diplomatic immunity.

But of course if our Singapore ambassador had run over someone in Romania, I'm very sure our government will lift his diplomatic immunity immediately.

So does this mean for those who have diplomatic immunities can do crimes, ie. man slaughtering and walk away safely under the sun? Where is justice? Where is the law which suppose to protect us? Where are the good people to put bad people in justice? I have faith in the local government and hopefully they will do something right!

and other misc...

Just caught a glance at The New Paper headline where the quoted the Romanian as saying "Why sorry? If I saw a dog dead on the street I would be sorry." (paraphrased from memory)

He is not doing himself any favour by saying things like that. :angry2:

Just caught a glance at The New Paper headline where the quoted the Romanian as saying "Why sorry? If I saw a dog dead on the street I would be sorry." (paraphrased from memory)

He is not doing himself any favour by saying things like that. :angry2:

yeah he isn't bcos he is a dog anyway :)

and other misc...

So does this mean for those who have diplomatic immunities can do crimes, ie. man slaughtering and walk away safely under the sun? Where is justice? Where is the law which suppose to protect us? Where are the good people to put bad people in justice? I have faith in the local government and hopefully they will do something right!

Diplomatic immunity is a form of legal immunity and a policy held between governments, which ensures that diplomats are given safe passage and are considered not susceptible to lawsuit or prosecution under the host country's laws (although they can be expelled). It was agreed as international law in the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (1961), though the concept and custom have a much longer history. Many principles of diplomatic immunity are now considered to be customary law. Diplomatic immunity as an institution developed to allow for the maintenance of government relations, including during periods of difficulties and even armed conflict. When receiving diplomats — who are, formally, representatives of the sovereign — the receiving head of state grants certain privileges and immunities to ensure that they may effectively carry out their duties, on the understanding that these will be provided on a reciprocal basis.

Originally, these privileges and immunities were granted on a bilateral, ad hoc basis, which led to misunderstandings and conflict, pressure on weaker states, and an inability for other states to judge which party was at fault. Various international agreements known as the Vienna Conventions codified the rules and agreements, providing standards and privileges to all states.

It is possible for the official's home country to waive immunity; this tends to only happen when the individual has committed a serious crime, unconnected with their diplomatic role (as opposed to, say, allegations of spying), or has witnessed such a crime. Alternatively, the home country may prosecute the individual. Many countries refuse to waive immunity as a matter of course; individuals have no authority to waive their own immunity (except perhaps in cases of defection).

In short, diplomats or people who enjoy diplomatic immunity are above the laws of any country they enter except their own country's laws.

Sorry to say that the Singapore government can't do anything about the romanian diplomat as long as the government of Romania does not waive his diplomatic immunity and as Singapore and Romania does not have an extradiction treaty, it is also useless even if his diplomatic immunity is waived, as long as he does not step foot into Singapore.

wah peter, u very smart leh..extract all this out, hehezz... :bow: I will vote you if u run for SG govt :)

and other misc...

Our goverment only know how to eat own people. when faced with a situation like this they can only wayang and try not to lose too much face. Useless la... next election vote for that Chee Soon Juan...hahaha... maybe he will send the Army to romania to find that Ba***rd on the pretext of labling him a terrorist just like what the US is doing in Iraq and Afganistan (JOKE)

watever MFA is doing is just for show n to pacify singaporeans...coz there's a lot of angry voices out there...nowadays if u c ST, they r distracting and moving away from this topic...circle line, rising real estate prices, COE, rumours of election, rising oil prices...etc...to help us forget abt this incident...end of the day, typical singaporeans are more concern abt bread and butter issues...car, house and job...

next election will be interesting to watch bcoz there r a lot of incidents worth mentioning by the opposition to play down the ruling party....

younger generation of s'poreans - those born in the 80s will be eligible to vote soon n these group of voters have very different attitude and mentality, exposed to internet, more IT savy, more well-informed, more vocal...are more critical of the current garmen and certainly will not hesitate to cast their votes for the other side...that's why i believe that's one of the reasons the opp is aiming to challenge bishan-toa payoh GRC...coz a lot of middle-class s'poreans there...and pple born in the 80s still staying with their parents...

Useless la... next election vote for that Chee Soon Juan...

I thought that fella still bankrupt, cannot run for election? Very intelligent guy, but I can't say the same for his confrontational style of politics.... :angel:

(Don't whack me hor, I have no political affiliations. Especially since my area always kena walkover, never cast a vote in my life..)