SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Dear All, Pls advice!! I noticed this morning, my tank glass got a lot white very tiny ants like things moving around at my tank glass!! Ahh... can anyone advise or experience it, is it normal or is it some kind of parasite? How to get rid of it, any medication? ---------------------------------------------------------- My Humble 2Ft Tank: - 1 x 55w PL blue - 1 x 25w FL white - 1 Jebo Side Overflow Filter - 1 AA brand Protein Skimmer - 1 three stripes damsel - 1 fire goby - 1 coral beauty - 1 skunk shrimp - 1 Green turtle weed - 1 Greenish Mushroom - 1 Green Yuma - 1 Green jewel coral - 1 Brown tubeworm - 1 white tubeworm - Temp 26-27C - Amonia 0mg/l - Salinty 1.020 - 10kg LR Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 m]aybe can post a picture here dun really know what u mean "white ants" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Sorry dun have picture becos it is too tiny to take lei, not really like ants but the movement is like ants. White color small 1cm size things, a lot in small group moving at the glass panel & last nite one of my damsel just died also, maybe it is linked!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 perhaps u need to get one of them and place then under microscope and then can see since u mention "it is too tiny" there are too many funny and weird creatures in the live rock that are yet to be found i caught one very chio yellow bristle worm in my tank around 2cm the most ever chio worm ever came acroos in my tank muhahaha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member richng Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 lawerence is it they tend to swim below the water surface and some like hopping around ? ciao! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 No lei, they are all at the tank glass moving on the glass slightly above the sand area!! The shape is like tadpole tiny shape like!!! Ya loh too bad no microscope!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Razo Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Dear All, Pls advice!! I noticed this morning, my tank glass got a lot white very tiny ants like things moving around at my tank glass!! Ahh... can anyone advise or experience it, is it normal or is it some kind of parasite? How to get rid of it, any medication? ---------------------------------------------------------- My Humble 2Ft Tank: - 1 x 55w PL blue - 1 x 25w FL white - 1 Jebo Side Overflow Filter - 1 AA brand Protein Skimmer - 1 three stripes damsel - 1 fire goby - 1 coral beauty - 1 skunk shrimp - 1 Green turtle weed - 1 Greenish Mushroom - 1 Green Yuma - 1 Green jewel coral - 1 Brown tubeworm - 1 white tubeworm - Temp 26-27C - Amonia 0mg/l - Salinty 1.020 - 10kg LR pods.. no need remove.. fish will eat them.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Hi Razo, Thanks for the info, how do pods come about & do any particular fish eat them?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted December 18, 2003 Share Posted December 18, 2003 Hi Razo, Thanks for the info, how do pods come about & do any particular fish eat them?? Eh pods are eaten by many fish. Some example are six line wrasse and mandarin goby Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Thanks for the advise! You guys are the greatest & good samaritans! Btw my six line just died a week ago, seems like i need to get a wrasse or mandrain goby oredi!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jsoon Posted December 18, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 I think it is pods too. Do u do water change or use Seawater in your tank ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alanyeo Posted December 18, 2003 Share Posted December 18, 2003 Your post quite contradictory pal. You said it is small, camera cannot capture. Then you said they are about 1cm long. If 1cm digicam can snap la. If 1mm then likely to be micro-organism. Anyway they should be harmless, could be beneficial baterias too. Usually congregate around sandbed, bioballs, or unclean glass surface. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mAriNe_enthusiast Posted December 18, 2003 Share Posted December 18, 2003 Do pod stick themselves onto fishes? I have such small white thing in my tank sometime back...Some even stick onto my fishes... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted December 18, 2003 Share Posted December 18, 2003 Guys, you have to read up more... go pick up some good marine books. Copepods can be found in almost every marine tank. They are harmless creatures and are good natural fish and coral food. No need to panic. Isopods are much larger and are usually parasitic (those that ride on fish). These have to be removed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 18, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 18, 2003 Your post quite contradictory pal. You said it is small, camera cannot capture. Then you said they are about 1cm long. If 1cm digicam can snap la. If 1mm then likely to be micro-organism. Anyway they should be harmless, could be beneficial baterias too. Usually congregate around sandbed, bioballs, or unclean glass surface. Sorry lah, i meant 1mm not 1cm! Thanks for all the help, sometimes for urgent cases SRC is faster than books lah!! Hope you understand, AT! But i will read up more, library very difficult to find marine books lei! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...