My Slice of Ocean

divinesloth

My marine hobby started in 2002 after a visit to the popular aquarium store at Chinatown. I stood at the shop for almost 2 hours to wait for the busy auntie to teach me how to start a marine tank. Paid for a luohan tank with a overhead hanging filter($22), wool($2), marine salt($8) and a hydrometer($5.50), I went home and started my first marine tank. A little while later, with my newly bought 33.6k modem, I found sgreefclub.

My first inhabitant was an Orbicular Burrfish. Henry just took over MarineLife and had imported one piece from Sri Lanka. Bought it, took a bus home and dumped it into my newly "cycled" tank. I had alot of hit and misses along the way. Bought some really crappy skimmers (Sanders airstone, Prism), canister filters, learned some lessons and made some good friends. One of the nicest guy I've met was Henry's helper, Chan. He taught me alot on how to setup the tank with limited budget and brought me all over LCK farms on foot. I wonder if the old timers here are still in contact with him. If you do, let me know.

To cut the grandfather story short, I commissioned a new 4x2x2 aquarium just before the Chinese New Year. The tank was delivered to me 2 weeks ago and here are some photos.

post-231-12694930677777_thumb.jpg

Life rocks from my previous 2x2x2 cube aquarium dumped into the new tank for cycling.

post-231-12694930741174_thumb.jpg

My sump tank with a refugium compartment...

post-231-12694930809898_thumb.jpg

and I managed to con Zorden of his H&S.

I am still as clueless after so many years of reefing. I don't plan to invest in high tech equipments and I will try to keep track of my water parameters as much as I can. I am just hoping that this new setup will survive for a long long time.

Why all the venom? Reefing is just a hobby, dude.

• Replies 108

Beautiful new tank, bro. Do update often! And don't worry about the grandfather stories, I'm sure newer members like myself will be fascinated by them ;)

i like grandfather grandmother stories...n your story is quite similar to mine...i also started with a 2ft tank with very basic equipments and my current 4ft tank is also stuffed with second-hand items...haha...

nice set-up!...mine also a 4x2x2 tank...conned by binosage...

Wow.. Bro sloth... nice tank!!! :upsidedown: I enjoy your story. Its very interesting, and give a sense of the history of the hobby in SG. Will definitely serve to educate young punks like me... :paiseh: More pictures and stories please! By the way, love the colour of your cabinet and the size of your sump.

Sometimes when I see new tank like this, I get so filled with envies........

See that your power plugs are all secured outside the sump behind the cabinet. Good move!

nice tank bro.

more updates as you progress along please.

Sometimes when I see new tank like this, I get so filled with envies........

See that your power plugs are all secured outside the sump behind the cabinet. Good move!

nice tank bro.

more updates as you progress along please.

U dun have to be envy lah...just get a bigger tank...

ok we are not going back to that topic. i have made up my mind oledi..... :)

Hi guys, thanks for the kind comments. I was a little hesitant to start my own thread because I don't think I have anything interesting to contribute at all. This will probably just be a tank diary, for me to track of my tank's progression. Of course I appreciate all your comments and advice as well, if you don't find the content too bland. As you can see, I'm a nudi and I have alot to learn from you guys!

I have little photos of my old tanks. Did not have the money for digital camera. These photos of my very first tank were shot with my company's Canon G1.

post-231-12695034541957_thumb.jpg

post-231-12695034826214_thumb.jpg

I started adding liferocks and corals after my puffer died. The blue sponge was my very first coral. It cost $5 from Sealife.

post-231-12695035087856_thumb.jpg

I love Christmas Tree Worms, I have not found a more beautiful rock since. $15 from the aquarium at Havelock Road.

post-231-126950364069_thumb.jpg

post-231-12695036617873_thumb.jpg

Finally the love of my life, Anglerfishes. Bought the red one from Ah Bak at LCK.

And now, the tale of the death of my Red Angler...

Red Angler had a White Angler neighbor similar in size in an acrylic container placed by the side of the tank. One fine day the White Angler choked to death after I fed it a Chromis. It was not big, but somehow the White Angler choked and died. Maybe it was his time to die and being a cheap $6 butt ugly Angler, it's death did not matter much to me. Not wanting to waste food, I dangled the dead White Angler in front of the Red Angler. It took the bait and sucked up the dead White Angler...and choked to death too. That Red Angler cost $60....choked to death by a $6 Angler....who choked to death by a $1 Chromis.

What is the moral of the story? I have no idea but I have never tried feeding anything that is bigger than the Angler's bodysize since.

LOL I feel bad for laughing at your story... The food chain visual of big fish eat small fish comes to mind. Are these fish in your main tank too? Wouldn't they whack your other livestock?

Hey Jacky, I read through your tank thread. Very nice nano you have. I totally understand the dilemmas of a family man :P

My previous tank taught me not to have the power sockets inside the cabinet. I touch it everyday thinking I will be electrocuted with all the water and salt spray. This was one of the core reason I gave my better half for the approval of a new bigger tank. Heh!

LOL I feel bad for laughing at your story... The food chain visual of big fish eat small fish comes to mind. Are these fish in your main tank too? Wouldn't they whack your other livestock?

Hi binosage, its ok. I had the same mental image too. Haha!

The Anglers were kept in acrylic betta boxes. Easier to feed :)

The only reason I have a refugium is for Anglers. Yesh! I shall put Anglers in the refugium!

Hi guys, thanks for the kind comments. I was a little hesitant to start my own thread because I don't think I have anything interesting to contribute at all. This will probably just be a tank diary, for me to track of my tank's progression. Of course I appreciate all your comments and advice as well, if you don't find the content too bland. As you can see, I'm a nudi and I have alot to learn from you guys!

I have little photos of my old tanks. Did not have the money for digital camera. These photos of my very first tank were shot with my company's Canon G1.

I started adding liferocks and corals after my puffer died. The blue sponge was my very first coral. It cost $5 from Sealife.

I love Christmas Tree Worms, I have not found a more beautiful rock since. $15 from the aquarium at Havelock Road.

Finally the love of my life, Anglerfishes. Bought the red one from Ah Bak at LCK.

Red Angler had a White Angler neighbor similar in size in an acrylic container placed by the side of the tank. One fine day the White Angler choked to death after I fed it a Chromis. It was not big, but somehow the White Angler choked and died. Maybe it was his time to die and being a cheap $6 butt ugly Angler, it's death did not matter much to me. Not wanting to waste food, I dangled the dead White Angler in front of the Red Angler. It took the bait and sucked up the dead White Angler...and choked to death too. That Red Angler cost $60....choked to death by a $6 Angler....who choked to death by a $1 Chromis.

What is the moral of the story? I have no idea but I have never tried feeding anything that is bigger than the Angler's bodysize since.

interesting....but funny....

My marine hobby started in 2002 after a visit to the popular aquarium store at Chinatown. I stood at the shop for almost 2 hours to wait for the busy auntie to teach me how to start a marine tank. Paid for a luohan tank with a overhead hanging filter($22), wool($2), marine salt($8) and a hydrometer($5.50), I went home and started my first marine tank. A little while later, with my newly bought 33.6k modem, I found sgreefclub.

My first inhabitant was an Orbicular Burrfish. Henry just took over MarineLife and had imported one piece from Sri Lanka. Bought it, took a bus home and dumped it into my newly "cycled" tank. I had alot of hit and misses along the way. Bought some really crappy skimmers (Sanders airstone, Prism), canister filters, learned some lessons and made some good friends. One of the nicest guy I've met was Henry's helper, Chan. He taught me alot on how to setup the tank with limited budget and brought me all over LCK farms on foot. I wonder if the old timers here are still in contact with him. If you do, let me know.

To cut the grandfather story short, I commissioned a new 4x2x2 aquarium just before the Chinese New Year. The tank was delivered to me 2 weeks ago and here are some photos.

post-231-12694930677777_thumb.jpg

Life rocks from my previous 2x2x2 cube aquarium dumped into the new tank for cycling.

post-231-12694930741174_thumb.jpg

My sump tank with a refugium compartment...

post-231-12694930809898_thumb.jpg

and I managed to con Zorden of his H&S.

I am still as clueless after so many years of reefing. I don't plan to invest in high tech equipments and I will try to keep track of my water parameters as much as I can. I am just hoping that this new setup will survive for a long long time.

Hi Bro!

Glad to see ur tank tread. Nice white cabinet you have there and looking good. Will be camping my 'hand & foot' here... :upsidedown:

Tank Size: 3 x 3 x 2 with 3.5ft cabinet

Hey Jacky, I read through your tank thread. Very nice nano you have. I totally understand the dilemmas of a family man :P

My previous tank taught me not to have the power sockets inside the cabinet. I touch it everyday thinking I will be electrocuted with all the water and salt spray. This was one of the core reason I gave my better half for the approval of a new bigger tank. Heh!

thanks bro ...... Ya I see your nick from time to time on my thread, wondering who is this fella.... keke.

nice to see you posting your beautiful tank here and I am sure it will be a great reference for other reefers in time to come. :)

ha ha ha ha.... Your story very farny! LoL ..... Hope you have better luck with them this time round.

Beautiful setup you have there bro. :) I'm sure everyone appreciates you sharing ure diary!

your story is so interesting that comycus reappeared!

Brown SPS > Kinder Surprise

White SPS = Kinder Surprise after expiry date

Assumption killed the dinosaurs, they didnt have test kits.

your story is so interesting that comycus reappeared!

Wah...MIA for long time...must be busy with work and gf... :eyebrow:

lol I always loved reading tank diaries and all the beautiful pics ma :) keep the pics coming bro!

yeah... have really been busy with work and gf. Tank taking a backseat now. Anyone wants to buy exotic looking algae can look for me, I have many many nice looking ones growing in my tank :P

phone.gifwhat a lovely story.. :) We like grandma grandpa stories.. giving peeps a background of one's reefing history with such ancedotes like the chromis < White angler < red angler is though sad but dare I say it .. morbidly funny....

Hope you will always enjoy reefing.... we all go through some drama ( I'm currently going through one RIGHT NOW) so yeah ups and downs.. perservere and reef on! biggrin.gif

Desi

Cheers, ;)

Desi

Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding...

A little bit about my piping...

post-231-1269579509473_thumb.jpg

One big pipe for the water to flow down and one smaller pipe for water to go up. There are no valves.

post-231-12695795488849_thumb.jpg

No Durso so water just gush down into the overflow. I love the sound of water but not my family. The evil bio-balls are there to cushion the noise.

post-231-12695796315694_thumb.jpg

AB7000 in the foreground. Very strong pump creating very strong flow...how could anyone do flow that is more than 10x the volume? Wouldn't that make the tank a washing machine?

AB1000 in the background will be the feed pump to the H&S. I wonder if this will be enough.

post-231-12695797640732_thumb.jpg

Artica 1/4hp chiller to cool the tank.

That is like all the equipments I have at the moment. Pretty low tech. Budget...budget...budget :P