SRC Member kee Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 pls giv advise.. thx... need?? or just off everything?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SBS_Transit Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 i think just off everything Quote SBS_Transit Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted December 17, 2003 Share Posted December 17, 2003 not an expert...I switched on the actinic blue 1 to 2 hours before the white lights are turn on and 1 to 2 hours after they are off...so as not to shock the LS and corals.... advised by LFS bosses when I just started....been doing that for near to 2 years liao... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted December 17, 2003 Share Posted December 17, 2003 same as deepblue. I use it like a "dimmer" effect. 6am blue onz.. till 9am. at nite blue will comes abt 11pm till 2am. the MH goes off at 11:30pm. the lazy YT (opps sorrie deepblue) will still sometimes sleep abit more after the blue light are onz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Virus Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 me too i usualy on the blue light 1 hr b4 and after. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted December 17, 2003 Share Posted December 17, 2003 dun worry bro, my wife's triggers continues to wedge between rocks when lights are turned on...they just move their eyes ard to see the tangs swimming ard.... I think they got problem climbing out of bed...keke..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shiok Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 sorry borrow this thread kee can you guys advise this: blue light turns on 7pm - 8.30am white light turns on 8pm-7.30am moonlight 7.30am-7pm do you think that this lighting timing is too extent? will it cos outbreak of unwanted cyno.?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 So in conclusion... Just off everything at night... Kekekeke Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Regal Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 sorry borrow this thread kee can you guys advise this: blue light turns on 7pm - 8.30am white light turns on 8pm-7.30am moonlight 7.30am-7pm do you think that this lighting timing is too extent? will it cos outbreak of unwanted cyno.?? I think U "AM & PM" put wrong place ???? Should be Blue light on 7am to 8.30am White light on 8am to 7.30pm moon light on 7.30pm to 7am Right ??? This is what U mean ???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kee Posted December 17, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 hmm then u guy think i get both white or white and blue better?? currently i have 155w pl white and blue one dymax t5 white and blue Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shiok Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 I think U "AM & PM" put wrong place ???? Should be Blue light on 7am to 8.30am White light on 8am to 7.30pm moon light on 7.30pm to 7am Right ??? This is what U mean ???? no the timing is right, i reverse the timing cos i'm working in the daytime and can only enjoyed my marine at night esp. during the weekend can c longer time ma..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 17, 2003 Share Posted December 17, 2003 howcome everybody turn on blue first before white. my white comes on before my blue. hmm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 Initially when i start off with Marine, I on all the light throughout the whole day 24 hrs or sometimes just actinic thru the night! Then when i advise to off the all the lights at night at this forum, I noticed my Jewel Coral at the next day it expand almost twice its sizes than normal. I guess too much light will stress the coral or fishes too! ---------------------------------------------------------- My Humble 2Ft Tank: - 1 x 55w PL blue - 1 x 25w FL white - 1 Jebo Side Overflow Filter - 1 AA brand Protein Skimmer - 1 three stripes damsel - 1 fire goby - 1 coral beauty - 1 skunk shrimp - 1 Green turtle weed - 1 Greenish Mushroom - 1 Green Yuma - 1 Green jewel coral - 1 Brown tubeworm - 1 white tubeworm - Temp 26-27C - Amonia 0mg/l - Salinty 1.020 - 10kg LR Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member anakjoh Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 blue before white and then after is to mimic dawn and moonlight. Also not to "shock" the corals with white light immediately. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 17, 2003 Share Posted December 17, 2003 I'm using dimmable lighting....so I wonder if I still must do that? hmm coz my photo period for white is 1800 - 0200 and blue is 2000 - 0400 takes 45 mins to dim on and another 45 to dim off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 hmm then u guy think i get both white or white and blue better??currently i have 155w pl white and blue one dymax t5 white and blue Get both white and blue... Although your corals will very likely do fine with all white, the blue light makes your tank look better overall (gives the corals a glowing effect).... And before you turn on and off your white lights you can turn on the blue first.... Mimics nature... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted December 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 17, 2003 since u already have blue, IMO get 2 white. u need the strenght of white for yr clams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...