Terryz_ Posted April 10, 2011 Author Share Posted April 10, 2011 wow terryz, many MANY MANY seafans! Thanks... Running out of space liao.. Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 10, 2011 Author Share Posted April 10, 2011 It looks nicer after settling down.. Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member straydum Posted April 10, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 10, 2011 perhaps not getting enough food? when i had a black sun before, the skeleton could be seen when i first got it. but after feeding every mouth every day for a few days it recovered entirely. placement was also in a low flow area. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 10, 2011 Author Share Posted April 10, 2011 perhaps not getting enough food? when i had a black sun before, the skeleton could be seen when i first got it. but after feeding every mouth every day for a few days it recovered entirely. placement was also in a low flow area. Hmmm.. Feed everyday leh... ????? Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted April 10, 2011 Senior Reefer Share Posted April 10, 2011 the purple and yellow tip seafan is awesome. the "springeri damsel" is freaking gorgeous! i'm super jealous!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 10, 2011 Author Share Posted April 10, 2011 the purple and yellow tip seafan is awesome. the "springeri damsel" is freaking gorgeous! i'm super jealous!! It is super shy too... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cool guy Posted April 10, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 10, 2011 Lemon, im jealous too.... Terry if u happen to c it again, do cal me hor... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 11, 2011 Author Share Posted April 11, 2011 Lemon, im jealous too.... Terry if u happen to c it again, do cal me hor... Need to wait for Reborn to reopen bah... The only place I seen them... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BFG Posted April 11, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 11, 2011 Broadcast feeding won't work for sun. Need to feed each mouth directly. Mine is in the same situation as yours. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 11, 2011 Author Share Posted April 11, 2011 Not very targetted feeding but the mysis is spray around them and they managed to catch the mysis... So Maybe I have to step up my feeding regime liao.. Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Underwater Posted April 12, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2011 Your suns are not opening. I feed my suns individually with frozen / freezed dried cyclopeeze every other day and they will open up nicely once they sense food. Really got to target feed them, if not, they will start to recline and eventually not opening up at all. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member desideria Posted April 12, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2011 terryz, I used to use the 1.5L coke bottle to cover my old super suns and then squirt in the mysis.. But at the time I only had like 2 colonies of super suns.. but you have LOTS... so ... good luck there! Cheers, Desi Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member poomoon Posted April 12, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2011 terryz, I used to use the 1.5L coke bottle to cover my old super suns and then squirt in the mysis.. But at the time I only had like 2 colonies of super suns.. but you have LOTS... so ... good luck there! i'm too concerned about messing up the water , so i am painstakingly feeding one head at a time, small and big heads ... all 40+ of them but so far the fruits of it have been great ... i guess you got more heads there terry ... so good luck as well 25 Gal Micro Ocean Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 12, 2011 Author Share Posted April 12, 2011 Your suns are not opening. I feed my suns individually with frozen / freezed dried cyclopeeze every other day and they will open up nicely once they sense food. Really got to target feed them, if not, they will start to recline and eventually not opening up at all. I only feed them when they open up after lights off... Becos i still can see them from my living room light... So can see them catching the mysis... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 12, 2011 Author Share Posted April 12, 2011 terryz, I used to use the 1.5L coke bottle to cover my old super suns and then squirt in the mysis.. But at the time I only had like 2 colonies of super suns.. but you have LOTS... so ... good luck there! Hahaha... That is recommended but the angle and size is difficult for me to use this method... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 12, 2011 Author Share Posted April 12, 2011 i'm too concerned about messing up the water , so i am painstakingly feeding one head at a time, small and big heads ... all 40+ of them but so far the fruits of it have been great ... i guess you got more heads there terry ... so good luck as well Will do it your way then maybe will need to spend 1 hour doing so... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member poomoon Posted April 12, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2011 Will do it your way then maybe will need to spend 1 hour doing so... hehe yup, for sure. your case should be just like turkey blasting. btw, have you tried squirting some at closed heads (or 'some' tentacles are a little exposed) during lights on ? i noted after some time of doing this, they eventually also open up during lights on. 25 Gal Micro Ocean Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Underwater Posted April 12, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2011 i use this method...a normal clinical springe and insert a white plastic stick (with hollow centre) used for holding children's balloon. Then simply squirting at each sun's head. Should be very quite fast. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 12, 2011 Author Share Posted April 12, 2011 i use this method...a normal clinical springe and insert a white plastic stick (with hollow centre) used for holding children's balloon. Then simply squirting at each sun's head. Should be very quite fast. Yup. I do that... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tench1 Posted April 12, 2011 Share Posted April 12, 2011 Terry, have u ever experience missing super sun head? I had a missing one since 2 days ago. I suspect, eaten by something. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 12, 2011 Author Share Posted April 12, 2011 Terry, have u ever experience missing super sun head? I had a missing one since 2 days ago. I suspect, eaten by something. Missing???? Dun have leh.. Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member poomoon Posted April 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 13, 2011 Terry, have u ever experience missing super sun head? I had a missing one since 2 days ago. I suspect, eaten by something. can't go missing if eaten .... even if totally eaten that fast (?), then the skeleton should still be there. unless it's a single head you have, maybe fell off and went under or in between some of your rocks. 25 Gal Micro Ocean Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tench1 Posted April 13, 2011 Share Posted April 13, 2011 can't go missing if eaten .... even if totally eaten that fast (?), then the skeleton should still be there. unless it's a single head you have, maybe fell off and went under or in between some of your rocks. I happened to have only 1 x Super sun head. Small one, kinda approx 4mm in Diamter. What;s left only the rock with orange base....nothing else... I m suspecting, culprit = Green wrasse or Copperband Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member poomoon Posted April 13, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted April 13, 2011 I happened to have only 1 x Super sun head. Small one, kinda approx 4mm in Diamter. What;s left only the rock with orange base....nothing else... I m suspecting, culprit = Green wrasse or Copperband hmm ... orange base ? not a closed head ? i had one baby super die before (about 3-4mm head), and i still see the skeleton after the orange skin melted. had the same problem before, that's why i let go of my flagfin angel, because it was nipping my supers. 25 Gal Micro Ocean Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...