Zoas and Rics Sharing Club

teebs

Sigh COE ..... another freaking stupid garment system .... wait lor... maybe will drop till < 1k again....

ok dun get me started......

wah.... I am not Peter or Johnson. Small time white+blue collar worker only.

I sponsor you some cable ties... can manage your MaxSpect wires. :)

pray for me that it drops to 1k, if it does i treat you fine dining also can lol

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

• Replies 224

Ehhh...I think u already spent a LOT on your tank already... :eyebrow::whistle Probably more than what I have... :upsidedown:

wah you still want to touch on this subject arh......

I better dun say too much, later you throw expletives again... beep beeep beeeeeeeeeep

pray for me that it drops to 1k, if it does i treat you fine dining also can lol

K K> if till early next yr, it drop to <1k, I come looking for you :)

Hey team

after you have uploaded pics into the gallery, can you please drop a liner into this thread so that everyone can be notified?

just a short post will do, do not have to load pics into this thread.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...mp;#entry882586

Jacky

Hi guys just my suggestion perhaps when u all take apic of the coral,

list down the kind of light interms of colour,"K",watts. and so on.

if possible maybe the specs of ur shot used for taking a pic of the coral.

these are details that will help the traders incase of any backfire.

SG culture often give us such kinda problem.

be safe then sorry! hope the club will go on and on! cheers!

Hi guys just my suggestion perhaps when u all take apic of the coral,

list down the kind of light interms of colour,"K",watts. and so on.

if possible maybe the specs of ur shot used for taking a pic of the coral.

these are details that will help the traders incase of any backfire.

SG culture often give us such kinda problem.

be safe then sorry! hope the club will go on and on! cheers!

Its a good idea. More professional, similar to online frag shops. Saves a lot of time to travel just to find out that it isn't something that you want. However, I'm afraid most of us don't know much about the specs to give an accurate description! :upsidedown:

Rockyboy:

In anticipation, I have asked Larry to create an SPS exchange album too in the gallery. Like what Bino mentioned, SPS reefers are few now in the grp but if you are interested, you are more than welcome to join. Maybe when Ah Lee, Zorden, Justin, Digibee, Dachkie gets up to speed on their collection, you can have more exchange buddies. Hopefully folks like Thairun, Cedricang are interested in joining too. And also I think new SPS beginners need lots of help from reefers like you :)

rgds

Jacky

Thanks Jacky to have the sps exchange.

Not only to exchange sps but exchange ideas, best practises, how to start, maintain sps etc.

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Thanks Jacky to have the sps exchange.

Not only to exchange sps but exchange ideas, best practises, how to start, maintain sps etc.

I think the last part should be in the forum itself or talk to anyone who's buying a SPS during those marvellous shipment days. I am sure anyone will be glad to share their experiences with you (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Re-Org of FxC

Hi all members

Something set me thinking lately regarding the group. While we have managed to build some camaraderie within the group, the progress has not been fantastic.

i think the problem is that the grp is too large. There are some who are not very active and some who are phantom members.

Then there are others not committed to help the group. For the group to work, I think it needs to be a smaller group or reefers who bear a common set of objective.

Else it will be dysfunctional or simply just a waste of time. I really want to carry this on and make it work.

I will be cutting down the no of members in the group to somewhere around 10. For those that I have to leave out, no offence but it simply isn't working and this is something that need to be done. I will be sending out a PM for reefers who has exhibited enthusiasm in sharing and helping each other in the recent weeks.

jacky

i dont think cutting down the number of members is a wise move. u are simply making it exclusive.

There are ppl who are interested in exchanging frags but either their tank in the cycling stage or maybe too bz with their work (overseas) other then this hobby or maybe do not have a suitable coral for exchange.

my 2 cents.

i dont think cutting down the number of members is a wise move. u are simply making it exclusive.

There are ppl who are interested in exchanging frags but either their tank in the cycling stage or maybe too bz with their work (overseas) other then this hobby or maybe do not have a suitable coral for exchange.

my 2 cents.

that's a good point too, Zorden.

maybe let's sleep over this and if anyone else has any thoughts, please feel free to pen them here.

open discussion.

just a suggestion,

if the plan is not to cut down members..

how about splitting the group into 2..

not really 2 seperate groups,

but in terms of where we stay...

for example, the east and west..

those staying in the north/central or south can join either group...

during shipments,

if there're frags to share,

at least it would be easier for reefers from the same area,

to gather/meet up to share frags...

as for exchage,

of cos we can give pirority to the group as a whole..

just a thought..

personally i dont have nice frags to trade with everyone here :paiseh:

i'm in this club more to the point of sharing frags..

but if you eventually still have to reduce the group,

i believe most of us would respect that decision..

not easy to be a Chief,

kudos to you for taking up this responsibility! :peace:

just a suggestion,

if the plan is not to cut down members..

how about splitting the group into 2..

not really 2 seperate groups,

but in terms of where we stay...

for example, the east and west..

those staying in the north/central or south can join either group...

during shipments,

if there're frags to share,

at least it would be easier for reefers from the same area,

to gather/meet up to share frags...

as for exchage,

of cos we can give pirority to the group as a whole..

just a thought..

personally i dont have nice frags to trade with everyone here :paiseh:

i'm in this club more to the point of sharing frags..

but if you eventually still have to reduce the group,

i believe most of us would respect that decision..

not easy to be a Chief,

kudos to you for taking up this responsibility! :peace:

Yes i agree to kikobananas suggestion, maybe can have more smaller group, like north, south, east and west. When shipment arrived individual group can cooridiate and frag the zoa. Then maybe can post individual picture, like today when i go to iwarana, see a lot of reefer but also dun know them. If picture is there as least can recogize when chionging shipment can share frag on the spot. just a suggestion. :eyebrow:

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Yes i agree to kikobananas suggestion, maybe can have more smaller group, like north, south, east and west. When shipment arrived individual group can cooridiate and frag the zoa. Then maybe can post individual picture, like today when i go to iwarana, see a lot of reefer but also dun know them. If picture is there as least can recogize when chionging shipment can share frag on the spot. just a suggestion. :eyebrow:

Hahaha this one good idea with the pics

the location group dividing is also a better alternative as you dont have to minimize

the group. :rolleyes:

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

1. The objective of the group is to share frags.

2. The problem faced is that most of us do not have nice frags to share.

Some of us took the effort to post pics in the gallery, but what happened was that the frags were either too common and everyone had them, or a person who wants something does not have any frag to share in return.

The solution looks simple enough, turn this into a frag BUYING club where we go out, buy coral and frag to share, rather than to wait around for others to drop some polyps in their tank. Once we start BUYING and accumulating a collection, then we have frags to share right? Hahaha.

Yup our problem is that we are a frag sharing club without frags to share, just my observation :P

BTW, I will be breaking up some rocks of zoas in my tank before transferring to my new tank as I do not want large colonies of zoas. The usual common stuff like eagle eye, black face, pink palys and indo zoas etc. Will keep you guys posted via PM.

Some of us took the effort to post pics in the gallery, but what happened was that the frags were either too common and everyone had them, or a person who wants something does not have any frag to share in return.

The solution looks simple enough, turn this into a frag BUYING club where we go out, buy coral and frag to share, rather than to wait around for others to drop some polyps in their tank. Once we have start BUYING and accumulating a collection, then we have frags to share right? Hahaha.

Yup our problem is that we are a frag sharing club without frags to share, just my observation :P

BTW, I will be breaking up some rocks of zoas in my tank before transferring to my new tank as I do not want large colonies of zoas. The usual common stuff like eagle eye, black face, pink palys and indo zoas etc. Will keep you guys posted via PM.

damn i love your idea. Turn it into a frag buying club and let us be like the 2nd thais.. but we will need more member.

well i was persuing thru the exchange forum, unfortunately to say, there isnt much coral to share..

now my question. is this exchange club still onz or limited to 10?

No la not to the extent of being Thais 2.0 hahaha, we won't be able to share or buy everything in sight. On a smaller scale, like these days when I buy zoas, I take into account that a portion of it will be reserved for the club and I keep a 20 to 30 polyp frag for myself. Likewise, when other reefers give me free frags and I have extra, I offer them up to other reefers whom I know might be interested.

Now that our PM is in a thread form and can include multiple parties, maybe we can start 1 and use that to update any activities or frags to share? I don't have a full member list at the moment, if anyone can send me I'll start one.

The solution looks simple enough, turn this into a frag BUYING club where we go out, buy coral and frag to share, rather than to wait around for others to drop some polyps in their tank. Once we start BUYING and accumulating a collection, then we have frags to share right? Hahaha.

yes agree,we can bulk purchase from US those exotic zoas that is not common in singapore, few frag cost only 0.99 at some website..

The issue is that to import corals you need to apply for an import permit from AVA and currently only LFSes can apply for these permits. So this means that you will have to go through a LFS to import any corals you want.

else we would have brought in those nice nice zoas liao, right Peter ? smile.gif

Knock Knock anybody there? pinch.gif

yes there is.

but no answer for you.

if you refer to some of the earlier postw, we are still trying to sort out some issues.

will come back to you later 91l

ic no wonder.. peter, ask shan to help pinch.gif

bro, you are not a newbie lah... then the zoas will cost 500% times more already! kekeke