Zoas and Rics Sharing Club

teebs

Jacky, really appreciate all the effort in organizing and making things happen. :bow:

you are most welcome bro.

• Replies 224

just read through the whole thread.. i must say this is quite an interesting idea.

here's my challenge for the club members.. see if you can limit your frags for trade to corals that you have propagated yourself. since rics n zoas grow really well under the right conditions, I think this is definitely possible and would help the sustainability of our beloved hobby.

also since its called the frags exchange club, limit it to just frags exchange and remove the bulk purchasing idea. as you mentioned, as the group grows it'll be impossible to coordinate bulk purchasing.

would love to join the club but am currently too busy with work so won't be able to contribute much.. but when i'm 'back', will definitely apply for membership. hehe good luck!

Hey hi Mark.

Have not seen you online for some time.

Thanks for your inputs and looking forward to see you back on the forum soon.

FACEBOOK! :D

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

I am also leaning towards FB especially since SRC already has a FB acct.

maybe we can congregate there for communication purpose.

This will also increase the traffic on SRC FB and generate more publicity about this forum as well.

At the moment, it is rather quiet there.

So it is a win-win for all.

just my thoughts now... will sleep over this....

I am also leaning towards FB especially since SRC already has a FB acct.

maybe we can congregate there for communication purpose.

This will also increase the traffic on SRC FB and generate more publicity about this forum as well.

At the moment, it is rather quiet there.

So it is a win-win for all.

just my thoughts now... will sleep over this....

^ +1.

Sounds like an idea! :D

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

anyway just some thoughts about the recent rics bulk buy ,

i personally felt that it was not such a good idea on my part ,

reason being , somehow some of the nicest of this batch of rics bleached in my frag tank and i also is on the verge of loosing 1 of the polyp as witness by kimkim / raydiative and wilson

my biggest concern was what if the other guys thought that i choose the best for myself and gave them the lousy 1s, but luckily i have showed the guys that i took the worse of the lot and the guys who did the bulk order was understanding enough .

the unneccesary stress was almost too much for me to handle when i 1st saw signs of bleaching , so my advise for future bulk buys if there are any would be for reefers to collect on the same day if possible. and bulk buys organisers must be prepared for the stress and losses if any.as this was my 1st time organising this i wasnt prepare for something like this to happen at all

ok just my 2 cents and once again thanks to the guys for their understanding, last thing i want is to get a bad rep out of this

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

reason being , somehow some of the nicest of this batch of rics bleached in my frag tank and i also is on the verge of loosing 1 of the polyp as witness by kimkim / raydiative and wilson

my biggest concern was what if the other guys thought that i choose the best for myself and gave them the lousy 1s, but luckily i have showed the guys that i took the worse of the lot and the guys who did the bulk order was understanding enough .

the unneccesary stress was almost too much for me to handle when i 1st saw signs of bleaching , so my advise for future bulk buys if there are any would be for reefers to collect on the same day if possible. and bulk buys organisers must be prepared for the stress and losses if any.as this was my 1st time organising this i wasnt prepare for something like this to happen at all

ok just my 2 cents and once again thanks to the guys for their understanding, last thing i want is to get a bad rep out of this

lol no worries lah bro. shit happens and we learn through these.

bad reps dun come from 1 incident, so dun worry. yeah its best that we collect on the same day else no guarantees on survival.

thanks for your effort... now go detox and have a good trip!

This is one of the reasons why I'm not in favour of having bulk buys for corals. Shit always happens when u least expect it and the organiser is always the one who is stressed... :upsidedown:

Thats why we need nice reefer like buyers who understand and nice reefer like Dachkie who takes the extra mile.

The only issue I have is what happens when the corals belonging to other reefers melts while the organiser's corals are ok... :upsidedown: This can happen to rics for example and then what happens??? :eyeblur:

End of the day the organiser is the one who takes the time and effort to make the bulk buy possible but he is usually the one who gets all the stick when something goes wrong. :rolleyes:

As long as there is integrity and element of trust within the group. then everything will be ok and I am glad that within the group, most of the reefers are people I have dealt with and they are all nice honest folks.

Dachkie bro...

first up, thanks for helping buy the rics!

Your kind gesture to help fellow reefers "chiong" the quality rics, is already a helpful act... cant possibly make you pay for such unfortunate losses.

But i do understand your point about the stress of being 'black labelled'. If the people that you help to buy are understanding, then your effort has not gone to waste. However, if they don't appreciate, you know who have you been 'helping'. We can tell that you did your best to salvage and maintain the rics. So +1 for you!

I agree with Jacky that we should attempt to collect on the same day of purchase. (Buyer also need to arrange for separate collection timing - quite siong too).

Else, must absorb the risk of coral dying.

In addition, as a suggestion, the next buyer can just take a shot of the coral after purchase? This could help partly to eliminate any guess work from those 'doubters'.

thanks bro , nice meeting you and anyway will be praying hard that the 2 polyp of uncollected rics do better after my trip back from KL,

well will know on Fri nite, now going to pack back then go sleep already , gonna be a long week ahead

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

The only issue I have is what happens when the corals belonging to other reefers melts while the organiser's corals are ok... :upsidedown: This can happen to rics for example and then what happens??? :eyeblur:

End of the day the organiser is the one who takes the time and effort to make the bulk buy possible but he is usually the one who gets all the stick when something goes wrong. :rolleyes:

ya bro that was also what i was worried about, much as i am human and would love to take the healthy pieces, i decided that i have to take the most badly bleached 1s so that the others who entrusted me to buy for them still can choose . but i am glad that i made that choice, anyway i believe the rics will recover over time as i can see them expanding well

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

taking picture of it after purchasing (when it's in the LFS tank) and when putting inside your tank (or before acclimising) is the best, as it's the proof of it at the condition of it.

this surely will "judge" that the coral is what it is..

ya bro that was also what i was worried about, much as i am human and would love to take the healthy pieces, i decided that i have to take the most badly bleached 1s so that the others who entrusted me to buy for them still can choose . but i am glad that i made that choice, anyway i believe the rics will recover over time as i can see them expanding well

Yeah heard from kimkim that you ask him to take his pick :) Thanks for biting the bullet for us Dachkie.Glad to hear that they are expanding.

That is good news to hear that they are expanding. Hope they all get well soon.

It's a very nice guesture for you to do that but if all bulk buy organisers are expected to do this, then in my opinion, it wouldn't be fair to them.

For rics that bleach, it's most probably due to light shock. Move them to somewhere shady and they will recover their colours within a few days at most. Also if you want your rics to expend to their max, ard 2"+, then place them somewhere shady and where they will not get direct light. They will expand until super huge... :eyebrow:

Bro Dachkie,

Don't take it too hard on yourself. Shit happens and I'm sure everyone trusts the big guy to take care of them well. (:

Cheers and peace to you Dachkie! :D

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Any bros or sis goin to cheong Iwarna's yuma shipment? Maybe we can meetup

not sure what type of yumas it is but do take note that some yumas when expanded, the bubbles / polyps becomes so big that it covers the base colour. So regardless how colourful the base is, if the bubble is plain white, then the yuma will look plain white in the day when expanded. Try to hit those that has colourful luminous bubbles/ polyps.

Just to vouch for the Big guy here.. the bleach rics that he took is the worst colouration of the lot (BROWN)... the rest that are uncollected are much nicer then the ones he took.. Also the rics most likely bleached due to lack of lighting..

go and get a set of maxspect lah Dachkie!

the lack of light is the frag tank lah, using t5 , my main tank using aqualumen and 250w mh already lor

of coz if you would like to sponser me 2x230w maxspet i really wont mind because this yr i cant anyhow spent , saving up for the stupid ridiculous coe which i have to pay early next yr

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

of coz if you would like to sponser me 2x230w maxspet i really wont mind because this yr i cant anyhow spent , saving up for the stupid ridiculous coe which i have to pay early next yr

Sigh COE ..... another freaking stupid garment system .... wait lor... maybe will drop till < 1k again....

ok dun get me started......

wah.... I am not Peter or Johnson. Small time white+blue collar worker only.

I sponsor you some cable ties... can manage your MaxSpect wires. :)

Sigh COE ..... another freaking stupid garment system .... wait lor... maybe will drop till < 1k again....

ok dun get me started......

wah.... I am not Peter or Johnson. Small time white+blue collar worker only.

I sponsor you some cable ties... can manage your MaxSpect wires. :)

Ehhh...I think u already spent a LOT on your tank already... :eyebrow::whistle Probably more than what I have... :upsidedown: