blue sponge

benjamintse

i need to know the requirements of this invert.search the web notin gd came out :( .eg lightin requirements?,water currents?,need target feed?(sian i hope nt i only squirt liquid food),and others.. :thanks:

Someday i will dare to put my tanks specification here and u will envy it.PLEASE GIVE ME HIGHER RATING=)my tank

extremely difficult to keep.

they don't need light at all. not photosynthetic.

require good water flow.

requires heavy feeding of liquid food and microplankton.

research BEFORE buying next time.

extremely difficult to keep.

they don't need light at all. not photosynthetic.

require good water flow.

requires heavy feeding of liquid food and microplankton.

research BEFORE buying next time.

this sounds like do nt keep it if u are a nwbie.k gt to reconsider.Heavy feeding :cry: maybe dun wan

Someday i will dare to put my tanks specification here and u will envy it.PLEASE GIVE ME HIGHER RATING=)my tank

i need to know the requirements of this invert.search the web notin gd came out :( .eg lightin requirements?,water currents?,need target feed?(sian i hope nt i only squirt liquid food),and others.. :thanks:

The common blue sponge u saw in LFS (e.g. Ah Beng and CF) requires Strong Lighting and good water flow and pristine water quality. They are collected from v shallow water under exposure to intense sunlight. Most LFS will thought they are like other sponges (those red and orange) that survive on filter feeding and as such put them in dimly lit tank and murky water and as a result the blue sponges are always not in v good condition. Before i decom my soft coral tank, i've kept 2 pieces. One at the v top of the tank is thriving but the other at the bottom of the tank receiving less light jux die gradually. Blue sponge is in fact the easier of the sponges family if u provide enough lights. Good luck.

Interesting info, bro. Your angels never take a liking to it?

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)

Interesting info, bro. Your angels never take a liking to it?

Surprisingly no. The angels i've kept before, blueline, goldflake, conspic, bandit, regal etc, never touch sponges even when i offer to them. Maybe because they are the more mellow angelfish. Yes i remembered i've kept a 14" queen before for a while and it was v destructive! It will constantly pick on all kinds of growths (including sponges) on the liverocks and it's big mouth can pull off little chunks of rock pieces. Quite scary to watch.