My Second Reef Tank!!!

reaper78

hey bro,

Sorry to read about your loss.

Just a question tho:

Did you dose vodka during your tank setup? :)

Hi Bro, didnt......running on NP pellet in the sump and azno3 to bring nitrate down, rowas to control the PO4........any advice?

Tank Size: 3 x 3 x 2 with 3.5ft cabinet

Install Par led.....i not sure if the white patch on the SPS are caused by it...perhaps i didnt allow enff time for the sps to adjust to the new lightings..but anyway i thought the tank look brighter, especially at the left and right-hand side!

post-15684-006225100 1284265461_thumb.jp

post-15684-045875500 1284265486_thumb.jp

Some white patch on the Bird nest, is that sign of RTN?? milli......and FTS....

that white patch could be stress out~~

only white tip is a sign of growing tips.

Looks like your Sps polys not really extending fully.

maybe can check on your flow pattern as well

Bro.

Advist you to check your water parameters

If water parameters is gd.

then could be sign of Parasites

Advise to dip your sps into Coral RX if so.

All the best..

that white patch could be stress out~~

only white tip is a sign of growing tips.

Looks like your Sps polys not really extending fully.

maybe can check on your flow pattern as well

Bro.

Advist you to check your water parameters

If water parameters is gd.

then could be sign of Parasites

Advise to dip your sps into Coral RX if so.

All the best..

Hi Bro, thanks for the advice...perhaps could be due to stress...recently added quite a number of stuff...

Yap, the poly used to extend better till i added the half-moon angel..... <_<

Hi Bro, didnt......running on NP pellet in the sump and azno3 to bring nitrate down, rowas to control the PO4........any advice?

NP pellet. could be the problem. releasing too fast or smth.

Explains the pale colours of your SPS as well as your peach fuzz. Please look into it.

Either you shut down for a period of time on the NP or you don't use rowa. Too much phosphate removing stuff you have in the system. Water could be too clean for the SPS.

My take is shut down NP; continue using your rowa till your SPS recovers :)

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

heard that Rowa Phos content is too strong for Sps

Not Very sure on this also

but like what Marcovan suggested

best to use one type of PO4 remover only~~

as too much strong chemical reaction may

strip off Sps tissue or affect in a way of another

High Level of PO4 reading normally

contributed by heavy stocking of fishes

For a Full Pledge Sps tank , best is to keep

fishes to minimum so as to achieve a lower nutrient

System :)

NP pellet. could be the problem. releasing too fast or smth.

Explains the pale colours of your SPS as well as your peach fuzz. Please look into it.

Either you shut down for a period of time on the NP or you don't use rowa. Too much phosphate removing stuff you have in the system. Water could be too clean for the SPS.

My take is shut down NP; continue using your rowa till your SPS recovers :)

Thanks for the advice bro...looks like i need to troubleshoot one by one.....

check yr KH and pH...rowa has a tendency to affect KH...and LED is quite strong...may be another cause of your sps bleaching...if kena RTN..within 48 hrs the sps will be completely botak liao...

Hi Bro! I think is not RTN....start to turn white more than a week ago.....i think is STN or something.....Perhaps i need to back off the led light abit....

perhaps reduce your duration of the lumen lighting...and increase your KH...(can go NTUC buy the baking soda powder..one box cost less than $2)

anyway..i'm just a newbie when comes to sps...one of my blue acro tio RTN 2 weeks ago out of the sudden...hur hur

perhaps reduce your duration of the lumen lighting...and increase your KH...(can go NTUC buy the baking soda powder..one box cost less than $2)

anyway..i'm just a newbie when comes to sps...one of my blue acro tio RTN 2 weeks ago out of the sudden...hur hur

Mi too....also just started out on 'full-scale' sps....i still have the grotech kh (powder form). But my KH is abt 8 now.......just 2 weeks ago before i added more sps. it was abt 11.8.

u may want to try wat i m doing...dosing ca and mg using something improvised from hospitals to feed patients...hur hur...get one of these from the pharmacy to dose your KH

post-15124-037551000 1284354532_thumb.jp

u may want to try wat i m doing...dosing ca and mg using something improvised from hospitals to feed patients...hur hur...get one of these from the pharmacy to dose your KH

Thanks for sharing bro.....i think if keep adding more SPS....CR also not enff...perhaps haf to consider your suggestion....

• 2 months later...

Some updates...sps almost complete annihilated by unknown cause despite stable water parameters. Decided not to add any more sps for several months or so. Anyway some pics of the 'old' fishes and new ones.... :paiseh:

post-15684-047127500 1290255176_thumb.jp

post-15684-078965400 1290255189_thumb.jp

post-15684-094989600 1290255200_thumb.jp

post-15684-082147200 1290255212_thumb.jp

post-15684-032430300 1290255227_thumb.jp

Recently sudden 'fever' in angel fishes but trying to bear in my mind the small tank i have and i kissing my clams and zoas..."goodbye :blink: "....

The big boss of my tank at the moment (despite challenges from PBT), Blue face angel.....Nickname..."Mask of Zorro"....hehe....

post-15684-005532400 1290255631_thumb.jp

post-15684-013239800 1290255667_thumb.jp

post-15684-040141600 1290255717_thumb.jp

post-15684-096115100 1290255725_thumb.jp

post-15684-015177700 1290255737_thumb.jp

post-15684-080614700 1290255746_thumb.jp

post-15684-091697700 1290255754_thumb.jp

post-15684-054109000 1290255801_thumb.jp