My Second Reef Tank!!!

reaper78

kiko

you are still facing brown algae problem?

your tank has been running quite a number of months already.

might be due to the sheer number of fishes you have in your tank.

ya.. time to offload some fishes..

big problem is, its difficult to catch them...

and i've been neglecting my tank quite a bit for the last month.. :paiseh:

ya.. time to offload some fishes..

big problem is, its difficult to catch them...

and i've been neglecting my tank quite a bit for the last month.. blushing.gif

after your papers bro :)

it will be clean and swee again ...

Hey bro,

Yah lor, once the aquarium lights are switch on, live stock and feeding starts....algae start cming......So far, my sand kena liao, brown algae..Should be new tank syndrome bah. Should improve over time once i haf more flow in the tank...i update again if the sand dollar are doing a fine job?? :unsure:

Went RB few days ago, but didnt buy the brine shrimp as i tried before. Comet doesnt seem to like it....very choosy eater...

increase flow can help?...i tot no choice...coz when the tank is stabilised, good n bad bacteria comes together...

ok..looks like this month i will be broke...haha...

increase flow can help?...i tot no choice...coz when the tank is stabilised, good n bad bacteria comes together...

ok..looks like this month i will be broke...haha...

Hi Bro,

In my opinion, it does help in a certain extend to reduce 'dead spot'. But of cos, not only flow that you have you to consider, other impt factors like excess nutrients do contribute to unslightly algae. Meanwhile continue with your regular dosage of bacteria (Dosage wise, follow manufactuer instruction or use ur judgement based on the bioload etc) and hopefully, be able to cultivate a generous amount of 'good bacteria' so as to overwhelm the 'bad bacteria'. Just my most humble 'theory' on the bacteria part, i still experimenting and learning along the way. Reefers, pls feel free to express ur insight.

Wah, this mth then start to be broke ah?? I broke since CNY.....now relying on my sales at ebay...haha.... <_<

Tank Size: 3 x 3 x 2 with 3.5ft cabinet

Kole Tang is a beautiful tang..

Hi Bro,

Yap, the yellowish patch on the eye-circle very cute, like wearing goggle. :upsidedown:

Finally i have a fish that is swimming from pt.A to pt.B. Bring much 'live' into the tank. Hope that it stay that way for many yrs to cme..........

chris,

its most likely new tank syndrome. give it more time, it sure be gone pretty soon.

add flow will help too like you mentioned.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

chris,

its most likely new tank syndrome. give it more time, it sure be gone pretty soon.

add flow will help too like you mentioned.

Hi bro,

U mean the brownish algae on the sand ah? Yap more flow will help but dont dare to switch on for now, water evaporate abt 3 pckts of irwana sea water in a week! Till day one, i have not got the chance to change water, top-up water only. But i think water evaporated = changed of water?? Hmm....

Anyway the sand-dollar seems to be doing their part and the kole tang is pecking on the sand as well..... :upsidedown:

The color will get nicer once it settle down...

Hope so, and minus point is the temp hover btwn 29-31 degrees. Keeping my fingers cross that the chiller arrived asap....

Do u dip in to freshwater before put inside the tank ah? i should do the same thing too....

Zebradanio, if you can, invest in a bottle of CoralRX.

Several positive feedback from the reefers using it including myself.

Do u dip in to freshwater before put inside the tank ah? i should do the same thing too....

Erm....at ur own risk bro as it might stress the zoa further although some reported that it should be able to withstand short moment of FW dip.

Alternately, you can invest in coral RX as mentioned earlier by urself and bro jacky lor. :rolleyes:

chris,

off topic abit. bruce lee show no longer exciting. didnt bother to watch it these days. do you feel so?

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

chris,

off topic abit. bruce lee show no longer exciting. didnt bother to watch it these days. do you feel so?

Hi bro,

Oh haha...yah lor, cos now he busy filming movie at hk. Not much opponent to spar with. I think the last to spar with bruce is the Thai Boxing "king" lor. If i not wrong, the next opponent should be that fellow from hk(the guy who make bruce almost paralyzed).

But i still watching it, hoping for more 'sparring' action.

Hi bro,

U mean the brownish algae on the sand ah? Yap more flow will help but dont dare to switch on for now, water evaporate abt 3 pckts of irwana sea water in a week! Till day one, i have not got the chance to change water, top-up water only. But i think water evaporated = changed of water?? Hmm....

Anyway the sand-dollar seems to be doing their part and the kole tang is pecking on the sand as well..... :upsidedown:

bro, topping up water to replace evaporated water is never changing water!!! check your salinity and make adjustment. but still, for new tank with LS, better to change water often.

Hi bro,

Oh haha...yah lor, cos now he busy filming movie at hk. Not much opponent to spar with. I think the last to spar with bruce is the Thai Boxing "king" lor. If i not wrong, the next opponent should be that fellow from hk(the guy who make bruce almost paralyzed).

But i still watching it, hoping for more 'sparring' action.

yeah, i think the HK guy is next. but getting boring man. but his headache is coming, which leads to his death. so soon will be the end i felt.

bro, topping up water to replace evaporated water is never changing water!!! check your salinity and make adjustment. but still, for new tank with LS, better to change water often.

yeah, i think the HK guy is next. but getting boring man. but his headache is coming, which leads to his death. so soon will be the end i felt.

Oh haha, bo pian.....if not i have to beg,steal or lie to get extra $$$ for the jbj liao......Yeah, i checking the salinity often, so far 1.022 to 1.023 and still within the acceptable range.

ending soon i guess.......wonder what is the next show after bruce lee....

Oh haha, bo pian.....if not i have to beg,steal or lie to get extra $$$ for the jbj liao......Yeah, i checking the salinity often, so far 1.022 to 1.023 and still within the acceptable range.

ending soon i guess.......wonder what is the next show after bruce lee....

very likely will be some ancient chinese show. :lol:

haha, romance of the "3" kingdom (special edition)? Think china history show featuring some late great emperor be nice..... :upsidedown:

By the way bro, you know the market price for resun CL650? Think of getting a new one (act as a standby), while the hailea 1/2hp is the main chiller......

sometime back, they replayed the qing emperor in the late night. not bad. maybe u got to watch it at stream.

wah, i didnt know you like chinese history related drama. i love the romance of the 3 kingdom too, chased it up and down.

but too bad zhugeliang died young and with most other famous/infamous people, shu starts to fall and no longer interesting. and sima family is bloody cunning taking over wei!