My Kinda Rescaped/Updated Tank

Tanggy

I was home yesterday and saw my coral banded shrimp ambush a newly intro cardinal (chase by a dominant cardinal very long liaoz). He drag the poor soul behind the rocks to my amasement. 20mins later, I saw the poor fish again with its belly up. behind the rock impossible to reach.

I though what the heck since I got around 40 kg of rocks in the tank and another 40kg curing in another tank, might as well rearrange and add some rocks, take out the poor fish's body and catch the damn yellowbelly damsel I have be trying to catch for a while liaoz.

post-34-1071456420.jpg

• Replies 57

changed 30% of the water and waited an hour for the water to clear a bit. This is what I get for stirring up the sand to I can get rid of the shit!! Had plan like take 2 hrs but taking a lot longer.

Wah loz... 7pm liaoz. have been doing this for 5 hrs liaoz..... back tiar leh....... feel like a ah pek right now. :angry::angry: But finish arranging the rock and hide 2 power head amongst the rocks.

post-34-1071457058.jpg

Thanks Bros.

DA. got one thing to ask you leh. Me thinking of getting some anthias. you got any pointers/suggestion?? heard not easy to keep. R they worse then tangs??

MMM anthias......... More dfficult to keep than tang??? mm well that may depends as some anthias are super hardy while some, we just can't seem to keep them.

Anthias that are difficult keep are usually due to their diet. They just seem to reject every food given and rather starve to death. Some of this anthias are purple queen, evansi and even sunburst. But i have managed to get my purple queen to eat using wild caught frozen zooplankton. So if you wanna keep few of the species mentioned above, you can try zooplankton.(its works very well, and when i feed zooplankton, all my anthias go feeding frenzy)

Anthias which are easy to keep are for example square anthias, truncate fairy, squaminpinnis and even tri- color anthias. They will take almost any food given from brine shrimp to some even pellets. but one word of advice, if you thinking of schooling the anthias i mentioned you better have a large tank with 1 males to ard 5-8 females. other tahn that, 2 males will result in brutal fight.

Ok last of all, it is always a mistake to think that schooling anthias is a must. In fact some anthias do better when they are alone. But of you really wanna school anthias, have 1 male to many female and some anthais which are more possible to school are dispar and barlett as they are less aggressive.

Saw some purple queen last Sat at Pasir Ris. So nice, So pink!! very nice contrast for my tank. Got any pics of your?? post leh.

So I can try zooplankton... hmm.... can feed my corals at the same time instead of using marine snow liao....

Aiyo. have to wait till weekend. Maybe get 2 to test water first. What kinda planton you use? wild caught where to buy?? So it would be better if can setup a refugrium to support the anthias is it?

Saw some purple queen last Sat at Pasir Ris. So nice, So pink!! very nice contrast for my tank. Got any pics of your?? post leh.

So I can try zooplankton... hmm.... can feed my corals at the same time instead of using marine snow liao....

Aiyo. have to wait till weekend. Maybe get 2 to test water first. What kinda planton you use? wild caught where to buy?? So it would be better if can setup a refugrium to support the anthias is it?

My purple queen pic??? mm wait let me check. Not sure have cos my PQ is very shy. Yup IMO zooplankton si so much better than marine snow. I bought the wild caught one from PR. Actually if your tank have enough pods, then you can most probably sustain any tough to feed anthias. But once the pods run out, you are in deep shi* :lol::lol::lol: so its better to get alternative food such as zooplankton .

Nice rocks and landscaping, mind if i ask you where u got the rocks?

Not at all. From multiple places. A few pieces at a time. around 8kg from Su@rerSt@r, 15kg from Rebo@n, around 7kg from Koo Seng Rd, and another 6 from SeaL@fe. Another 40+ Kg from another reefer but mostly in my spare tank.

Everytime I see nice ones, I take a few lor. Like those porous one that's got lotsa hiding places.