Newbie needs advice from fellow nano-reefers!

hello everyone! this is my first post here. i used to have a FW tank donkey years ago, but it was only recently that i was inspired to make the switch to SW. i've been doing a bit of reading on marine aquarium at the library and visiting various LFSs (LCK, clementi, west coast) for the past 3 weeks, but I do have a couple of questions especially for the more experienced nano-reefers!

btw, i've decided that my tank size would be 1.5ft x 1ft x 1ft due to space constraints (and budget haha). i think as of these moment, i plan to get just the basics; filter, light, live rocks and live sand. after 3-4 weeks of the cycling period, i'll gradually add a couple of fishes and corals (the small and hardy types) over the next few months.

1. filter - in your opinion, what type of filter is the most efficient for my tank? i'm looking for a filter which can do all 3 kinds of filtration. i'm undecided between a HOB filter (i read that HOB has water circulation issues) and a canister filter (pricey and too big for my tank?) (i actually found this small boyu external filter canister sold at $24 but i wonder how effective it is). how about those overhead filters? and how do i ensure that the water in my tank has a good flow for effective filtration?

2. skimmer - do you think it is a neccessity for a tank of my size to have a skimmer? i did read that it would be better for my tank to have weekly water changes. but i would rather buy a skimmer if it means less frequent water changes. anyway, on my LFSs visits, i found a couple of cheap protein skimmers. (e.g classica protein skimmer xl @ $18, boyu wg308 protein skimmer @ $22, rio nano skimmer @ $39) any idea how effective are they?

3. cleaning of equipments - is it okay to wash equipments with normal tap water? if not, what do i need to do if i accidentally did it?

3. chemical test kit - does anyone has any idea on where can i find an all-in-one test kit? and how much does it cost?

any fellow reefers staying in the bukit panjang area? it would be great to meet up and share opinions! ^_^

1. filter - in your opinion, what type of filter is the most efficient for my tank? i'm looking for a filter which can do all 3 kinds of filtration. i'm undecided between a HOB filter (i read that HOB has water circulation issues) and a canister filter (pricey and too big for my tank?) (i actually found this small boyu external filter canister sold at $24 but i wonder how effective it is). how about those overhead filters? and how do i ensure that the water in my tank has a good flow for effective filtration?

canister filter will be good for you. as long it rated for ur tank volume, it will be good. but its better to go over the rated range. just to be more efficient on filtration. dun go overhead filter, it takes up too much space on top. for flow, get a good enough canister should do the job. together with a mini wavemaker, things will get even better inside the display tank. but still, just get a canister first and see what can be improve from there.

2. skimmer - do you think it is a neccessity for a tank of my size to have a skimmer? i did read that it would be better for my tank to have weekly water changes. but i would rather buy a skimmer if it means less frequent water changes. anyway, on my LFSs visits, i found a couple of cheap protein skimmers. (e.g classica protein skimmer xl @ $18, boyu wg308 protein skimmer @ $22, rio nano skimmer @ $39) any idea how effective are they?

its better to have a skimmer for sure, it skims out junk you dun want in your tank. waterchange frequently is a plus. do it, dun think you have a skimmer and do less water change, thats wrong. sadly, i had not use those skimmer so i couldnt comment much but if i were you, i go snatch the smallest size.

3. cleaning of equipments - is it okay to wash equipments with normal tap water? if not, what do i need to do if i accidentally did it?

its okay, you can wash with tap water, i do that. but its best to wash with DI or RO/DI water but thats not cost effective, so far i only know one person that actually use DI water to wash his things.

4. chemical test kit - does anyone has any idea on where can i find an all-in-one test kit? and how much does it cost?

there's all in 1 for sure, if im not wrong its from aquatronica but i think that will cost a bomb. or u can get API's kit, it contains pH, NH3, NO2 and NO3 test kits. for the API's, i believe you can get it at C328 or petmart at about $50. of all, i still prefer salifert testkit, its known to be accurate. that brand doesnt comes in a set though and cost more. this brand is available at the above mention places.

of all those mention above, you might need PO4, KH, Ca, Mg test kits.

theres many reefer staying at bukit panjang. i can name a handful of them. but let them chip in themselves.

happy reefing and a great welcome to this forum. you are welcome to pm me or msg here to ask me qns.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

to add on to bro law's suggestion,

i would suggest u to invest in a hangon-ourside skimmer like redsea prizm. they are considered cheaper and does it job quite well.

as usual, basic test kits needed for new FOWLR="fish only with liverock tank" will be a swingarm hydrometer. for salinity testing.

NH4 ammonia, no2,pH and even kh.

cleaning of eqpts using tapwater is fine. infact,almost no harm done.

as for filter media if u ever to use e.g biohome etc. please do not take them out to wash after putting them in ur tank for awhile.

bacterias house in there will be killed by u resulting in tank crash.

Welcome tribe!

1. If you are not considering sump, do consider canister. Since you are on a budget, I recommend Eheim classic canisters. Cheap, reliable, relatively easy to use. I wouldn't go for those cheap china brands as they have been known to create more problems like leakage problems, pump spoilt etc.

2. Again, if you are on a budget, I would encourage you to invest in redsea prizm. Skimmer is a good investment. Going up the $ chain, you can also look at Aquac Remora, Deltec MCE600. This is another piece of equipment which I would stay away from the cheap skimmers. Doesn't do the job well, and might even create more problems.

Equipment wise, if you are on tight budget, I would recommend you to shop ard the pasar malam section for good 2nd hand deals. Canisters are always on sale in local planted forums. Quality skimmers at bargain prices can be found from time to time here as well. I strongly recommend you to consider having a sump tank to increase your gallonage so your tank parameters can stay more stable. Also, with sump, you won't need to get a canister (but need to get a return pump), have more space to add more stuff in future.

btw I stay a stone's throw away from Bukit Panjang. :)

Hi tribe.

Welcome to the reefing community.

+1 to all the comments posted by the bros here.

I am in your neighbourhood. CCK.

rgds

Jacky

HOB filters can be used if you can modify the intake to be connected to a surface skimmer. This prevents the protein film from building up at the water surface which will affect gas exchange.

For such a small tank, skimmerless if possible if you are careful with your bioload and feeding. I would still strongly encourge weekly water change as this will not only remove organics, it will also replace trace elements in such a small tank. Frequent water changes will solve your water parameters and trace elements issue. Just make sure you let the newly-mixed seawater aerate for at least a day before using it for water change.

Just make sure you let the newly-mixed seawater aerate for at least a day before using it for water change.

What's the reason for doing that Fuel?

Water parameters are not stable for newly-mixed seawater. Some brands of salt mix to an unsually high pH, aerating the water will bring the pH back down to normal values. If your tank volume is large enough you might not notice any difference in mixing direct and adding to your system. If the tank volume is small there can be very big shifts in water parameters like pH.

To let tank parameters stabilise. It might also take longer for some salts to dissolve completely, and adding newly mixed saltwater immediately can cause wild swings in tank parameters especially in nano tanks. Think this is especially true with pH values. Some reefers even let saltwater mix stand anywhere from 2 days to a week.

It will be good to test some basic water parameters of the newly mixed saltwater before adding into your tank to ensure that the values are similar and not shock your tank.

thanks Comy & Fuel.

I usually mix it and let it settle for an hr or so, then scoop just the top layer of water for wc usage.

Those below with salt sediments are discarded.

Not ideal but given the limited time, energy and space constraints that I have, I don't really have much of a choice.

thanks Comy & Fuel.

I usually mix it and let it settle for an hr or so, then scoop just the top layer of water for wc usage.

Those below with salt sediments are discarded.

Not ideal but given the limited time, energy and space constraints that I have, I don't really have much of a choice.

Jacky your 10-15% wc is not alot, maybe just 1 small bucket. Cannot leave it overnight in the toilet under the sink or something?

HOB filters can be used if you can modify the intake to be connected to a surface skimmer. This prevents the protein film from building up at the water surface which will affect gas exchange.

For such a small tank, skimmerless if possible if you are careful with your bioload and feeding. I would still strongly encourge weekly water change as this will not only remove organics, it will also replace trace elements in such a small tank. Frequent water changes will solve your water parameters and trace elements issue. Just make sure you let the newly-mixed seawater aerate for at least a day before using it for water change.

I second this. Regular water changes are more effective in removing waste in a small tank as compared to depending on a skimmer.

If you have not bought the tank yet, you may also consider IOS (Internal Overflow System). You can keep all the filter media and pumps out of sight from the main display.

Jacky your 10-15% wc is not alot, maybe just 1 small bucket. Cannot leave it overnight in the toilet under the sink or something?

10% = 1 normal pail.

hmmm ... can lah but sometimes wife will nag....

my house can have toys all over the place but not my marine stuff.

dun laugh hor, maybe your time will come..... hehe...

10% = 1 normal pail.

get a nice looking container la... then maybe she won't complain so much :P

hahaa better not happen to me in future :look:

10% = 1 normal pail.

haha... i can laugh cos i also kana.. lol... haha..

house full of my dogs toy is ok... marine stuff??? nag nag nag begins! hahah

bros, thank you for all your enlightening replies!

for both canister filters and skimmers, what are the middle-end brands and it's price range?

comycus, i thought eheim is a high-end brand? where do i get them and how much do they cost? as for red sea prizm, i read that it can get pretty noisy. is that true? any feedback on it's performance? how much does it cost btw.

and for the test kit, is the following link the correct one? http://aquariumpharm.com/Products/Product.aspx?ProductID=68

eh, anyone selling 2nd hand stuffs? e.g. canister filters, skimmers, live rock, live sand. i think c328 shall be my new favourite haunt hurhur. :P

Bro, me selling canister filter, brand is From Taiwan, got 2, one is 600lph(h&l, original from otf pasir ris, used less than 3 mth) and the other should be 1200 LPG(jebao). Selling cheap cheap, 20 for first and 30 for second. For ehiem, a reliable brand , paying more but likely to last u a long way. By the wat, prism skimmer is good for small setup. Get those with surface skimming cup one. For noise, it is subject but with regular maintenance, it should be acceptable. Pm me if interested, collection will be at punggol area. Sometime not worth getting second hand stuff due to travelling and risk of faullty or about to spoil which seller also not aware. So when considering second Pdt, pls bear this in mind.reason for getting second hand is budget, for this hobby, depreciation is fast. Hence go for reputable brands for second pdt- aquabee, ehiem, etc. All the best in yr setup.

look through the fw forums for 2nd hand deals on eheim canisters. Their classic range is relatively affordable and is one of their best selling range. ppl have been using their own eheim canisters for >10years w/o it breaking down. To me, tt's saving $$ in the LR.

if you can, save up more and get deltec MCE 300 hang-on back skimmer, can already. Then do weekly 10% water change.

it cost $349, but it is very good...wait for CNY come, with some ang bao come in can fund that toy for youe...meanwhile, just let yr water cycle....sometimes with patience, you can get better things for your hobby.

Comycus is using MCE 500, i think...seen its performance. :eyebrow:

if you can, save up more and get deltec MCE 300 hang-on back skimmer, can already. Then do weekly 10% water change.

it cost $349, but it is very good...wait for CNY come, with some ang bao come in can fund that toy for youe...meanwhile, just let yr water cycle....sometimes with patience, you can get better things for your hobby.

Comycus is using MCE 500MCE 600, i think...seen its performance. :eyebrow:

unbeatable skimmer if you don't mind spending abit more! :)

mce 600 will be too huge for 1.5 ft. mce 300 is more suitable.

keen to know how it fairs.

thinking of switching out the 9002 for my tank.

Comycus is using MCE 500, i think...seen its performance. :eyebrow:

MCE 300 is pretty lousy... :eyebrow: Get the MCE600 if you have the dough.

mce 600 will be too huge for 1.5 ft. mce 300 is more suitable.

keen to know how it fairs.

thinking of switching out the 9002 for my tank.

don't mean to hijack .. bro jacky, 9002 started micro-bubbling again last night btw ...

25 Gal Micro Ocean