pweesng Posted December 29, 2009 Share Posted December 29, 2009 Hi Guys, Newbie here trying to start a tank... Tank ordered, but everything else is still in planning stage. One Question: Do we need a wavemaker for a FOWLR tank? I wanted to get a MP 10 , but the problem is that MR10 only allow maximum of 9.5mm glass and my tank glass is going to be 12 mm. Any advise or opinion would be greatly appreciated. cheers, EDIT: The size of the tank is 3 by 1.5 by 2. (sorry, left that out) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted December 29, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted December 29, 2009 whats your tank size.. A wavemaker will definitely be useful as it helps to keep the detrius off the live rocks and sand bed, it also create "oxygen" in event of your return pump being faulty.. my 2cents Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuzzy Posted December 29, 2009 Share Posted December 29, 2009 Agreed wavemakers can be very beneficial even in FOWLR setups for improved circulation and preventing the buildup of detritus. As a plus you will find that some of your fish will spend quite a lot of time playing in the current. You do want to ensure that your wavemaker is not too powerful for your tank though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pweesng Posted December 31, 2009 Author Share Posted December 31, 2009 Thanks for all your advice. Appreciate it! I shall hunt for one, hopefully i can get a good piece at a reasonable price. Thanks and cheers, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mun Suk Posted May 21, 2010 Share Posted May 21, 2010 Agreed wavemakers can be very beneficial even in FOWLR setups for improved circulation and preventing the buildup of detritus. As a plus you will find that some of your fish will spend quite a lot of time playing in the current. You do want to ensure that your wavemaker is not too powerful for your tank though. What if the wavemaker is stronger than needed but not too strong to that extreme, would it affect the fishes ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted May 21, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted May 21, 2010 What if the wavemaker is stronger than needed but not too strong to that extreme, would it affect the fishes ? if you see your fishes struggling to swim every second, yes it would as the fishes might be in a tornado. the fishes should be swimming happily <-- dont know how to describe but surely can see one haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DUCADOS Posted May 21, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted May 21, 2010 Yes... Wavemaker will be good to have. Fishes will play against the current. And play more use more energy then will eventually eat more. End day = healthy fish. Quote Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mun Suk Posted May 21, 2010 Share Posted May 21, 2010 if you see your fishes struggling to swim every second, yes it would as the fishes might be in a tornado. the fishes should be swimming happily <-- dont know how to describe but surely can see one haha haha! I see. Thanks. sometimes I was just wondering what is their limit on that. For example, in a 6ft tank, may be we may need 2 wavemaker to reach the ideal optimal wave strength as example, but if only 1 wavemaker is inside, so they may still swim well, maybe I should have added 2nd wavemaker then they are happier, haha. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted May 21, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted May 21, 2010 erm,6 feet tank imo should at least have 4 wavemakers and 2 returns (also depends on the pump litres/hour) my 5 feet tank have one return pump + 4 wavemakers (it's just enough for fishes)... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mun Suk Posted May 21, 2010 Share Posted May 21, 2010 erm,6 feet tank imo should at least have 4 wavemakers and 2 returns (also depends on the pump litres/hour) my 5 feet tank have one return pump + 4 wavemakers (it's just enough for fishes)... Wow! then mine is definitely under strength. Only 1 wavemaker in my 5ft. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BamBoo Posted July 3, 2010 Share Posted July 3, 2010 Wavemaker is definitely good as it help to reduce dead spot with low water flow. For 3 ft tank, 2 watermaker should be enough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pweesng Posted July 6, 2010 Author Share Posted July 6, 2010 2 Wave marker? I think no need lah.. my return is quite strong, i'm using a MP 10, i think it is sufficient... If i add one more, the clown will be sticking to the wall Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Goondoo Posted July 6, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted July 6, 2010 I have a Tunze Wavebox, a Tunze 6045 and a Tunze 6025 in my 3 footer. I would say just nice. Quote Regards, Billy Cheong 70gal, 250w MH (Reeflux 12000K), Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206, Tunze 6045, Tunze 6025, Teco TW4, Rio HF20, Aquabee 3000L, Rio HF17, SM100 Scrubber box (4x24w T5 2700K) Fish: Amphiprion ocellaris (Ocellaris Clowns), Nemateleotris magnifica (Firefish), Pterapogon kauderni (Kaudern's Cardinal) Inverts: Calcinus laevimanus (Hermit Crab), Lysmata amboinensis (Cleaner Shrimp), Sand Dollar Corals: Capnella (Purple Hairy Finger Leather), Plerogyra sinuosa (Green Bubble Coral), Euphyllia glabrescens (Torch Coral), Dendrophyllia (Supersun Coral), Rhodactis spp. (Hairy Mushroom) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member johntanjm Posted July 11, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2010 highly recommend if its within budget and you can afford the space in the tank. Will remove detritus and is beneficial for all tanks. However for the wavemaker to serve this purpose, it should not be solely used to create a one-directional current. It is best to use a wavemaker that causes a pulsing / swosh effect. this way all your detritus will stay in suspension and get drawn into the filter. Cheers! Quote --------------------------------------------- The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB! http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dreamlover Posted July 14, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2010 2 Wave marker? I think no need lah.. my return is quite strong, i'm using a MP 10, i think it is sufficient... If i add one more, the clown will be sticking to the wall LOL stick to the wall.. Just like kick start a turbo car. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Goondoo Posted July 14, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2010 LOL stick to the wall.. Just like kick start a turbo car. Next time can try rearing fish in washing machine liao.... Change water also easy! Quote Regards, Billy Cheong 70gal, 250w MH (Reeflux 12000K), Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206, Tunze 6045, Tunze 6025, Teco TW4, Rio HF20, Aquabee 3000L, Rio HF17, SM100 Scrubber box (4x24w T5 2700K) Fish: Amphiprion ocellaris (Ocellaris Clowns), Nemateleotris magnifica (Firefish), Pterapogon kauderni (Kaudern's Cardinal) Inverts: Calcinus laevimanus (Hermit Crab), Lysmata amboinensis (Cleaner Shrimp), Sand Dollar Corals: Capnella (Purple Hairy Finger Leather), Plerogyra sinuosa (Green Bubble Coral), Euphyllia glabrescens (Torch Coral), Dendrophyllia (Supersun Coral), Rhodactis spp. (Hairy Mushroom) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest daryl68 Posted July 27, 2010 Share Posted July 27, 2010 hi guys, with a few wavemakers in tank, do your tanks have chiller? my worry is heating up the water cos i don't have chiller (mine is fowlr tank). Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted July 27, 2010 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2010 hi guys, with a few wavemakers in tank, do your tanks have chiller? my worry is heating up the water cos i don't have chiller (mine is fowlr tank). Thanks nope bro,generally tangs and angels can survive in ambient temp. only for those deep sea fishes you will need it, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapster Posted July 28, 2010 Share Posted July 28, 2010 thanks onizuka. i see alot of MP10. is this the one which has the motor outside the tank, with only the propeller inside the tank? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapster Posted July 28, 2010 Share Posted July 28, 2010 my tank is 422. i have a seio, not very strong one. pls see attached. did want to buy a tunze 6045, think it costs ard $145 at reborn. think now price gone up liao. is there a good place to buy tunze? daryl Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...