Gary's Marine fish Tank

mengyang_neo

Passer angels are one of the easiest and hardiest Holacantus species to keep. It was feeding on pellets at lfs.

Oh how come it is the easiest and the hardiest? mean see whether one lucky or not?

but do take not passer angels are not reef safe!

Yup I clear away most of my LPS and zoa liao, so should be ok. =)

Unique line on yr regal :yeah:

More angels coming on yr way :evil:

Hee yup my regal got a big X near to the face. =)

If today no recall, maybe going down to lck to get french angel. =)

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Sweet blueface, bro! :thumbsup:

Thanks bro

What i meant is that they are not as finicky as other large angels. They will readily take pellets or frozen

I see, hee i just get a french angel from LCK, start to see aggression from my blue face liao, hmmm i think maybe add 1 or 2 more cannot add liao. =(

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

The trick i learned from some senior reefers is to use an egg crate to separate the new fish from the old fishes. After a month of getting use to each other they will live in harmony, if not they will chase but harmless chasing.

I see, thanks for the tips. =)

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Long time never update, colour of SPS not as good as last time, maybe because I am using tap water with saltmix for water change, a lot of my sps also stn. <_< Haiz if possible will go get the DI resin today and hopefully the colour and health of SPS will come back.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Long time never update, colour of SPS not as good as last time, maybe because I am using tap water with saltmix for water change, a lot of my sps also stn. <_< Haiz if possible will go get the DI resin today and hopefully the colour and health of SPS will come back.

yeah...get DI resin

see u around

Jia you.

Do a full rescape, and suck out all the sand, bare bottom now. =)

post-11499-0-99580100-1320229774_thumb.j

post-11499-0-30754400-1320229830_thumb.j

post-11499-0-59236500-1320229846_thumb.j

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

wow lower ur SPS and took out some rocks

Ya lor, so that it is not so crowded, actually ATI sunpower are super strong, those SPS I put right at the top, most of the time will bleach. :chair: So lower down the whole scape.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

i manage to keep my N03 to a very low level ever since i change to a bare bottom running with bio pallets. i almost couldnt believe it with the amount of fish i had in my tank . I have to test with 2 test kit just to confirm lol...

Good move on going bare bottom. It just make the tank cleaning much more easier.

Yup totally agree, all the dirt will gather at 1 point then during water change just need to siphon themout. =)

Agree... bare bottom will not be a nitrate factory. Can siphon out dirt much easier.

Ya lor, hee bro when u starting your new tank thread? :thumbsup:

i manage to keep my N03 to a very low level ever since i change to a bare bottom running with bio pallets. i almost couldnt believe it with the amount of fish i had in my tank . I have to test with 2 test kit just to confirm lol...

I heard a lot of reefer recommanding bio pallets, thinking of trying also, I am using bio-home plus now, if I run bio pallets do I need to remove the bio-home? Thanks bro. =)

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Yup totally agree, all the dirt will gather at 1 point then during water change just need to siphon themout. =)

Ya lor, hee bro when u starting your new tank thread? :thumbsup:

I heard a lot of reefer recommanding bio pallets, thinking of trying also, I am using bio-home plus now, if I run bio pallets do I need to remove the bio-home? Thanks bro. =)

No need to take out your Bio-home since it is best to have those together. Bio pallets is purely solid carbon dosing when the pallets melt to remove N03 and P04, but do not use too much especially when you started.

did u rescaped?

looking good...what happened to some of yr angels? still around?

Yup do a full rescape after a few of angel up the lorry. Now only left with watanabe angel pair, yellow belly regal,pottery and flame angel. <_<

Larry, I'm also planning to use biopellets. In fact am running during cycling... not sure if that's the right thing to do though. Haha..

Gary, too busy to start a thread. But I will, to share my experience...

Hee will be waiting. :friends:

No need to take out your Bio-home since it is best to have those together. Bio pallets is purely solid carbon dosing when the pallets melt to remove N03 and P04, but do not use too much especially when you started.

okok hmmm when u mean do not use too much mean half a packet of bio-pallets? :paiseh:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Angels all died! What happen?

Omg omg omg

I am not sure also, it just happen over night, after I add in the watanabe angel pair. I wake up to find king, bellus, french and blue face died on the tank floor and the water slightly cloudy. I do some water change and add carbon, I thought is velvet but the rest of the angel is eating well and do not have any white spot on them. Strange!!!!!!!

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Do a full rescape, and suck out all the sand, bare bottom now. =)

bro, your tank still as nice as before leh.. not as bad as you had sound out to be la.. keke

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

I am not sure also, it just happen over night, after I add in the watanabe angel pair. I wake up to find king, bellus, french and blue face died on the tank floor and the water slightly cloudy. I do some water change and add carbon, I thought is velvet but the rest of the angel is eating well and do not have any white spot on them. Strange!!!!!!!

Aei yeo so sad, could it be when you removed e sand bed some ying and yang was disturbed? But seriously could have been a bacteria infection

bro, your tank still as nice as before leh.. not as bad as you had sound out to be la.. keke

Haha actually is quite bad, but as time passes, the condition improve, lol. :idea:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es