3ft tank: planning stage

jerome9731

hi guys, i been in freshwater for years already and been poison by marine life

been reading up marine and finally decide to start up

planning to go for LPS and soft coral and only 3-4 fishes

willing be going to tank maker to customize my new tank this sat

being thinking alot on a sump design

3ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft cabinet tank

custom design follow Melevsreef website sump model F but scale down to 75cm(L) x 38cm(W) x 45cm(H)

3 compartment: Skimmer -------baffles-------> Return <------- Refugium

(20cm) (10cm) (15cm) (30cm)

tank water 80% go to skimmer and 20% T-off to refugium

equipment list

lighting : DE 3ft 4 tubes Retrofit

Hailea HC 300A with aquabee 2000

Aquabee 3000 for return pump

I need help to decide on skimmer, still thinking between AquaC EV120 Protein Skimmer OR Skimz Monzter SM110 Protein Skimmer

skimmer section of 38(W) x 20(L) should be sufficient space for them

Just need to decide on which skimmer to go for and what pump to use with

to all guru and expert need help, any comment on this sump configuration? and about the skimmer which one should i go for and what pump should i pair with?

thanks in advance

Jerome

if u getting the pipings and do up urself, please remember to put the ball valve on the other side of the flow and not the skimmer, reason is u may end up opening the valve full and ur skimmer dont get enough water still.

since u are new, source for 2nd hand item as this will be your learning stage so u will waste alot of $ on "sch fees"

return use aquabee 2ki better as 3000 is weaker interms of headlosses.

skimmer i would recommand a 2nd hand hnS skimmer or a apf600 deltec.

can go for reef octopus too.

when u visit afew lfs dont tell people u are new and going for a new tank.

juz go there open the cabinet see the sump.

visit 5 or more lfs and take note of their design and the media,method they use.

once u let them know u are new comer they will tell u all sorts of stories and reasons to push to u. - when come to this point, its not about how good the system or design is.its more like how good the sales person can talk.

enjoy. :)

if u getting the pipings and do up urself, please remember to put the ball valve on the other side of the flow and not the skimmer, reason is u may end up opening the valve full and ur skimmer dont get enough water still.

since u are new, source for 2nd hand item as this will be your learning stage so u will waste alot of $ on "sch fees"

return use aquabee 2ki better as 3000 is weaker interms of headlosses.

skimmer i would recommand a 2nd hand hnS skimmer or a apf600 deltec.

can go for reef octopus too.

when u visit afew lfs dont tell people u are new and going for a new tank.

juz go there open the cabinet see the sump.

visit 5 or more lfs and take note of their design and the media,method they use.

once u let them know u are new comer they will tell u all sorts of stories and reasons to push to u. - when come to this point, its not about how good the system or design is.its more like how good the sales person can talk.

enjoy. :)

hi thanks for the quick reply,

i will be asking a tank maker to customize a tank since my dad is also customizing a 4ft tank

as for 2nd hand stuff, due to some feng sui things, my parent object me having 2nd hand stuff.

point noted on aquabee200 for return pump.

as for skimmer, any feedback on the 2 skimmer i mention? AquaC EV120 Protein Skimmer had quick a good review on the net.

isit ok to go on with this skimmer and sump design?apf600 deltec seem over over skim as EV120 is already over skimming

but if this is highly recommend, i will considering spending more and try it.

most probably be going to my tank maker this sat

thanks for the fast respond

Jerome

You may want to consider the Eheim 1262 instead for the return pump. As for skimmer, go for Deltec APF600. You will not regret it. In my new tank, it overflow 3 hrs after my tank was setup and livestock added. I had to tune down the water flow rate into the skimmer so that it will run drier.

1 impt question, who i your tank maker?

u got aquaC now? else drop the idea, locally not really avaliable liao. and if u decided to go on for yrs u most prob will get to upgrade and ur aquac is worthless.

deltec maybe overskimming but its alright,juz not too much of overskimming.

recommanded 2times overskim. but trust me on this, its very difficult to overskim when u start stocking ur tank.

if u can,go ehiem 1262/1264.

You may want to consider the Eheim 1262 instead for the return pump. As for skimmer, go for Deltec APF600. You will not regret it. In my new tank, it overflow 3 hrs after my tank was setup and livestock added. I had to tune down the water flow rate into the skimmer so that it will run drier.

lol we post together and have the same idea lol!

Yup..."great" minds think alike... :eyebrow:

I think reddevilz just fell back in love with deltec skimmer :P

or if you cann afford, go for the king (bubble)

If you have the time to spare, look through member threads and see their sump designs and the thinking and the common problems.

I think bubble king will be super duper overkill for him... :eyebrow:

Mini Bubble King 160 will be just nice.

2cents - i think mini bk not impressive leh. i rather go for a ap702 2nd hand skimmer from reefer achilles then mini.

What's so unimpressive about Bubble King bro? Care to share?

Anyway it's unfair to compare btw the 2 skimmers coz they are not competing models at all. Besides this is for a 3x1.5x1.5 tank. Because of the heavier rated capacity, AP702 104W vs mini BK 160 18W. I don't think the AP702 is warranted here.

What's so unimpressive about Bubble King bro? Care to share?

Anyway it's unfair to compare btw the 2 skimmers coz they are not competing models at all. Besides this is for a 3x1.5x1.5 tank. Because of the heavier rated capacity, AP702 104W vs mini BK 160 18W. I don't think the AP702 is warranted here.

true not a fair fight. but i have seen mini performance and ofcoz deltec performance.

the price factor. if i am paying 1.3k for a skimmer. why not go for the a 2nd hand skimmer. well overskim but imho no harm doing that.

i find mini still is a much under performed brother of other bk.

ofcoz but looking at the bubble size..

ei,.. maybe i ot here. :paiseh:

hi sorry for the late reply.

currently i serving NS now

just book out reach home minutes ago

tank maker will be N30 as i already awaiting a 4ft tank from them.ordering another 3ft for this reef setup

will be taking advice from u guys using 1262 for return pump

and using deltec APF600

will be contacting the tank maker tmr or sat

like to ask whether my sump design is advisable as i following melevsreef and i read other forum that this design was quite a popular one.

link taken from melevsreef

design the same but scale down to

intake section(skimmer) :30cm

baffles :10cm

return pump area : 15cm

refugium : 20cm

refugium will almost 10% of tank water and water from tank, 20% to refugium and other 80% to skimmer section

total sump is 2.5ft

water from tank will split to refugium and t-off skimmer, refugium will have a control value to limit the flow to about 20% and rest will go to skimmer section

both water from refugium and skimmer will flow to center and back to tank

design was copied from melevsreef http://www.melevsreef.com/acrylics/sumps/f/sump_f.html

Wat skimmer will u b using? If u wan to control the flow to refug. Ur waterwill go more to the skimmer, but ur skimmer i assume u r goona to gravity feed it so too much water or too little fedin will cost inproper skimming

I be using deltec apf600 with a aquabee1000 for the pump to maintain constant feed

so is my design and equipment choice ok?

equipment list

eheim 1262 for return pump

apf600 with aquabee1000

I be using deltec apf600 with a aquabee1000 for the pump to maintain constant feed

equipment list

apf600 with aquabee1000

equipment list

apf600 with aquabee1000