Peter's Newbie 3x2x2 Tank

teebs

Wah it's pretty high maintanence actually. But goes to show it's efficiency :)

Yup, super efficient in clearing away the detritus...I could do a weekly change but only issue is whether the detritus collected by the sock will clog up the sock. :eyebrow:

Now my tank is clearer and cleaner than it has ever been... :whistle

Yup, super efficient in clearing away the detritus...I could do a weekly change but only issue is whether the detritus collected by the sock will clog up the sock. :eyebrow:

Now my tank is clearer and cleaner than it has ever been... :whistle

found an instruction here to clean the filter sock :idea:

http://www.ehow.com/how_4434211_clean-filter-sock.html

God Blessed all who appreciate His wonderful and beautiful creations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

my first reef aquarium 15jan2010

3x2x2ft EOS 10mm tank with sump//deltec sc2060 skimmer//arctica 1/10hp chiller

maxpect g2 170w led//vortech mp40w wavemaker//eheim 1262 universal pump

eheim compact+ 3000 chiller pump//caribsea ocean direct live sands 40lbs

and other misc...

found an instruction here to clean the filter sock :idea:

http://www.ehow.com/how_4434211_clean-filter-sock.html

That's one easy way to clean the filter sock... :eyebrow:

Before using the filter sock, also best to wash it with bleach and RO/DI water first. Filter socks typically will have some chemicals in it so washing it with bleach will totally clean it. :rolleyes:

Probably once every 3-4 days. May use them for ard 2-3 months before changing them. Material of the filter socks is polypropylene felt so I'm afraid that if I wash them too often, the material will stretch and they will not be as effective in the long term.

Of course, ideal scenerio is to use once and throw but too expensive to do that lor... :whistle

Next time will probably get the 10 or 25 micron 4x7 or 4x12 socks.

ya.. get the 4X7 or 4x12 ones.. easier i think.. this long one can use to tie up filter media actually :P

Yup, the 4x12 one can be used to fie up filter media such as Rowa Phos or Carbon and you won't be afraid that any particules from the media will find their way into your sump. :whistle

The 4x7 I think would be the optimal size for any sump. But if your tank is dirty or if you flood your tank with food daily, then the filter sock will clog up very quickly.

Wah it's pretty high maintanence actually. But goes to show it's efficiency :)

hopefully it's only the initial phase that so much dirt is collected

my concern is should i turn off return when feeding? otherwise all those went into overflow will straightly land in the socks...

hopefully it's only the initial phase that so much dirt is collected

my concern is should i turn off return when feeding? otherwise all those went into overflow will straightly land in the socks...

It should be the initial phase. Anyway, I just changed the filter sock that was collecting a lot of detritus from my return. So by tomorrow I should know whether as much detritus has been collected by the sock. Frankly I doubt it will be even 1/2 as much considering that my tank is really super clear now.

As for turning off the return when feeding, it all depends on you. In my case, I don't turn off the return. What I do is that I switch off all the wavemakers in the tank and that's it.

Lastly, cleaning the filter sock is really a PITA... :upsidedown:

Hand cleaning is next to impossible as it is very difficult to turn the filter sock inside out due to the two plastic handles in the sock. After trying a couple of times to wash the filter sock by hand, I finally realised that the best way to wash filter socks is just to use the....WASHING MACHINE... :whistle

Seriously, using the washing machine, the filter sock is as clean as when it was new. :rolleyes:

Hand cleaning is next to impossible as it is very difficult to turn the filter sock inside out due to the two plastic handles in the sock. After trying a couple of times to wash the filter sock by hand, I finally realised that the best way to wash filter socks is just to use the....WASHING MACHINE... :whistle

Seriously, using the washing machine, the filter sock is as clean as when it was new. :rolleyes:

lol i'm sure the filter sock is super clean.

but errr what about the rest of the clothes u put inside? :( I don't think I will waste a machine load of water just to wash 1 filter sock...

lol i'm sure the filter sock is super clean.

but errr what about the rest of the clothes u put inside? :( I don't think I will waste a machine load of water just to wash 1 filter sock...

Of course you can't wash your clothes with the sock... :eyebrow: Unless you want your clothes to smell fishy... :whistle

Ya, just tried to wash one sock with the water level set to small. Still wasted quite a lot of water... :upsidedown:

Next time probably will not do the full cycle and wash just 1 sock. Probably wash 4 socks and use the rinse cycle only. :whistle

Time for me to probably get in more filter socks...25 micron, 4x7 type... :eyebrow:

Get 20 socks, each sock use 3 days then 2 months wash one time 20 socks... :D

use Washing machine???

...ummm does not sound very hygenic......

Better and faster than hand wash... :eyebrow:

Wash with bleach and then rinse with water. Super clean liao... :whistle

Lastly, cleaning the filter sock is really a PITA... :upsidedown:

my family will chop me into half if i use the washing machine :pinch: Maybe can pass to those laundromat to wash, hehehezzz.. :lol:

and other misc...

my family will chop me into half if i use the washing machine :pinch: Maybe can pass to those laundromat to wash, hehehezzz.. :lol:

Get those small portable washing machine. Saw them selling at pasar malam and some other places. Supposed to be used to wash small pieces of clothing but guess can be used to wash filter socks also... :eyebrow:

got meh? kewl... how much ah? ^_^

and other misc...

Better and faster than hand wash... :eyebrow:

Wash with bleach and then rinse with water. Super clean liao... :whistle

you put bleach inside washing machine??? will it cause any damage?! i dare not.....

moreover, mine is front load, so i dont think it helps that much in terms of rinsing....

you put bleach inside washing machine??? will it cause any damage?! i dare not.....

moreover, mine is front load, so i dont think it helps that much in terms of rinsing....

Yes I put bleach inside my washing machine. Washing clothes, I also put it so no problem. Actually front loading or top loading is the same.

small portable washing machine? there IS such a thing? HHHMMMM!!!!!!!!!

:mellow:

Desi

Yup, saw at CCK MRT previously. They had a demo where they washed some clothes and under garments in it. Looks something like this:

c7ba_3.JPG

got meh? kewl... how much ah? ^_^

Not sure how much it costs because I never asked... :whistle

Yes I put bleach inside my washing machine. Washing clothes, I also put it so no problem. Actually front loading or top loading is the same.

yo Peter, i have tried using one of these 'industrial grade' filters sometime back. You are absolutely right, it makes the water ULTRA clean. The downside is that it chokes up very easily and may create a 'flood'. Especially if the 'open' end of the sock is out of the sump tank or can topple out of the sump...

It almost happened to me, and i decided to be safe and not sorry.

but if you do regular cleaning of the sock, then not a problem at all.

btw: nice tank dude!

yo Peter, i have tried using one of these 'industrial grade' filters sometime back. You are absolutely right, it makes the water ULTRA clean. The downside is that it chokes up very easily and may create a 'flood'. Especially if the 'open' end of the sock is out of the sump tank or can topple out of the sump...

It almost happened to me, and i decided to be safe and not sorry.

but if you do regular cleaning of the sock, then not a problem at all.

btw: nice tank dude!

Yup, will have to do regular cleaning of the socks in future... :whistle

By the way, most of the corals you see are no longer in my tank...sold off to make way for future new arrivals... :eyebrow:

Yup, will have to do regular cleaning of the socks in future... :whistle

By the way, most of the corals you see are no longer in my tank...sold off to make way for future new arrivals... :eyebrow:

tsk tsk tsk... so what i heard about you being a RICH man is true???

jokes aside, yes, CNY shipment coming, im sure it's going to 'RED RED' time...

tsk tsk tsk... so what i heard about you being a RICH man is true???

jokes aside, yes, CNY shipment coming, im sure it's going to 'RED RED' time...

no not true. He is not rich.

He is very very rich!

no not true. He is not rich.

He is very very rich!

Not as rich as you lah... :eyebrow::whistle

Can afford district 10 house one... :upsidedown: I can only afford HDB flat leh... :rolleyes: