Peter's Newbie 3x2x2 Tank

teebs

they have to reduce la...for jireh...the lau jiao here can tell you never ending stories abt them...i myself tio burn visiting this LFS last time.

I told them many times already that their corals are way too expensive and Daniel said that they will price below market rates next time. Dunno how true lah. Have to wait and see... :eyebrow:

when they were at aquarama in may...no one visited their booth...can u imagine...lolx..its really that bad

They built up a reputation for over priced corals... :eyebrow: But the reefmax coral food they are selling seem to be pretty good.

Also Daniels behavious sometimes does turn people off...He told one guy that the Hailea chiller is better than the Artica chiller. In fact I've heard him say that his BM skimmer is better than Deltec... :P

They built up a reputation for over priced corals... :eyebrow: But the reefmax coral food they are selling seem to be pretty good.

Also Daniels behavious sometimes does turn people off...He told one guy that the Hailea chiller is better than the Artica chiller. In fact I've heard him say that his BM skimmer is better than Deltec... :P

there is no brand termed reefmax in the market. it is their own brand if im not wrong.

BM skimmer better than deltec?? that's a very powerful statement.

very hao lian LFS....anyway, not gonna patronise them....time to move on.

BM skimmer is cheaper at LCK...seriously they are overpriced and attitude sucks.

i have used reefmax salt mix and food...i must say its rather good product.

there is no brand termed reefmax in the market. it is their own brand if im not wrong.

BM skimmer better than deltec?? that's a very powerful statement.

Not too sure about Reefmax but on the label it states that Reefmax is a product of USA by Reef Science Research. Couldn't find anything relating to this company though... :whistle

If you talk to Daniel or Julia long enough you will find that they tend to make many powerful statements releted to their products... :rolleyes:

Not too sure about Reefmax but on the label it states that Reefmax is a product of USA by Reef Science Research. Couldn't find anything relating to this company though... :whistle

If you talk to Daniel or Julia long enough you will find that they tend to make many powerful statements releted to their products... :rolleyes:

they always promote their reefmax...they told me their reefmax salt is as good as tropic marin.

Tat's the only salt they carry wat... :whistle

But I have used both Reefmax salt and Tropic Marin and I find that Reefmax salt seems to dissolve a bit faster and better than Tropic Marin. Also it is a lot cheaper than Tropic Marin.

Tat's the only salt they carry wat... :whistle

But I have used both Reefmax salt and Tropic Marin and I find that Reefmax salt seems to dissolve a bit faster and better than Tropic Marin. Also it is a lot cheaper than Tropic Marin.

did u guys compare the right way as in temp,vol of water and way of dissolving are similar?

also,must do a parameter check to be fair.

dissolving fast is 1 bonus point but IF interms give you parameter readings that isnt in favour of your reef,i guess its no point saving that few bucks when we spend tons on livestocks right? ;)

did u guys compare the right way as in temp,vol of water and way of dissolving are similar?

also,must do a parameter check to be fair.

dissolving fast is 1 bonus point but IF interms give you parameter readings that isnt in favour of your reef,i guess its no point saving that few bucks when we spend tons on livestocks right? ;)

Well, in my case, I mix the water to salinity of 1.025 and water is always at room temp. And based on my experience, Reefmax dissolves cleaner and slightly faster than Tropic Marin. In terms of Calcium/Mag concentration, Reefmax typically gives around 400+ of Calcium and 1300+ of Magnesium, not so much different from Tropic Marin.

btw bro peter, ur tank so fast so pack alr man!

suprised that you frequent GO again after hearing your story the last round, i guess they improve quite abit? :)

Actually the corals open up much more in my tank than in GO's display tank... :eyebrow: Must be the fact that I feed my corals twice a day. :rolleyes:

feed them twice a day for how many days a week..? usually once a week is more than enough

usually daily...or sometimes alternate days when i'm busier but will always feed at night :whistle That's why my NO3 levels are always high and also the reason why any corals that are not in the best of health from the LFS I get from will always recover pretty quickly... :upsidedown:

Feeding regime as follows:

Morning - Currently feeding Reefmax zooplankton, phytoplankton, rotifier, copepods, artemis. Sometimes frozen mysis, brine shrimps are included. Pour everything into the tank. Return pump and wavemakers off.

Night - My own frozen food mix fortified with reef vitamins (twice a week), Henry's (Once a week), rest of the week, 1 cube of frozen mysis & 1 cube of brine shrimps. Usually target feeding. Return pump ad wavemakers off for at least 1 hr.

just make sure u dont target feed the coral more than twice a week. will kill them long term if done daily.

This is especially so for suns and super suns... :eyebrow: Not too worried about overfeeding my corals as my fishes will always snatch most of the food from the corals anyway... :upsidedown:

Well, in my case, I mix the water to salinity of 1.025 and water is always at room temp. And based on my experience, Reefmax dissolves cleaner and slightly faster than Tropic Marin. In terms of Calcium/Mag concentration, Reefmax typically gives around 400+ of Calcium and 1300+ of Magnesium, not so much different from Tropic Marin.

better if u state in numbers. more fair :)

Problem now is that I no longer use Reefmax and Tropic Marin Pro Reef salts... :upsidedown: Now currently using Aquamedic Merzsalt. Using it to adjust the salinity of the NSW from Victor when doing water changes. Will probably last me a long while since i got a 20kg bag previously.

still dun understand why the salinity is just 1.020

Peter, maybe you can clarify with Victor?

Kinda funny that you still need to add your own salt to raise salinity when you purchase NSW

actually NSW depend on the weather on the collection location.

by right,from the sea wun be affected much except parameters like no2 no3 and so on.

by left if collected from some places that wash in from sea like mini lagoon etc,the rain will affect the result.

usually daily...or sometimes alternate days when i'm busier but will always feed at night :whistle That's why my NO3 levels are always high and also the reason why any corals that are not in the best of health from the LFS I get from will always recover pretty quickly... :upsidedown:

Feeding regime as follows:

Morning - Currently feeding Reefmax zooplankton, phytoplankton, rotifier, copepods, artemis. Sometimes frozen mysis, brine shrimps are included. Pour everything into the tank. Return pump and wavemakers off.

Night - My own frozen food mix fortified with reef vitamins (twice a week), Henry's (Once a week), rest of the week, 1 cube of frozen mysis & 1 cube of brine shrimps. Usually target feeding. Return pump ad wavemakers off for at least 1 hr.

wow...that's a lot of food...lol

I have many corals...and many greedy fishes :eyebrow:

Upzz for your sale Peter.

Your LPS really look very nice and healthy.