Removing sand from the existing tank

mengyang_neo

Will be removing all the sand in my existing tank in dec, will remove the fishes and rocks before removing the sand. Understand there will be a nitrate spike, so after i removed the sand, will need how long before i can put my fishes in? As the holding tank is not very big, dun think the fishes can last long in the holding tank with only the air pump.

Anyone has done that? any standard step that i will need to do to ensure the fishes can survive? Thanks a million. :rolleyes:

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

1. Turn off all pumps and let any sand/detritus settle.

2. Siphon off 65% of your water from your tank and store. Only siphon from the water column so you don't get any of your sand in.

3. Store 5% of the collected water in another container.

3. Remove rocks. Dip them in the 5% water and swirl around to get rid of any sand on the rocks.

4. Catch fishes out and transfer to holding tank (which should contain the old tank water). Remember to add some pipes for the fishes to hide in as they will be stressed.

5. Clean your main tank.

6. Add 40% NSW or premixed saltwater.

7. Add Live Rocks. Scape and allow any sand/detritus to settle. Filter them out with a siphon.

8. Add old tank water and fishes.

9. Turn on pumps and dose bacteria.

10. Rub deep heat.

2. Siphon off 65% of your water from your tank and store. Only siphon from the water column so you don't get any of your sand in.

3. Remove rocks. Dip them in the 5% water and swirl around to get rid of any sand on the rocks.

4. Catch fishes out and transfer to holding tank (which should contain the old tank water). Remember to add some pipes for the fishes to hide in as they will be stressed.

5. Clean your main tank.

7. Add Live Rocks. Scape and allow any sand/detritus to settle. Filter them out with a siphon.

10. Rub deep heat.

LOL.. i like the last step...

5. Clean your main tank.

10. Rub deep heat.

hahaha... lol... the last step almost make me chock on my coffee.... hahaha

heh must cover all avenues ma!

Actually I found out to my dismay tt the last step is v. impt. I suffered from severe neck and back muscle aches the last time I spent too much time rearranging my corals.

lol... funny....

go for spa after that lah.... more effective.

5. Clean your main tank.

10. Rub deep heat.

I see, but step 2, quite hard to follow, my tank should be around 500l, 65% will be around 350l. How to store the water? what u use to store last time? Hee yup last step very important, mine tank height is 2.5ft, after scaping confirm ache every where. lol.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

I see, but step 2, quite hard to follow, my tank should be around 500l, 65% will be around 350l. How to store the water? what u use to store last time? Hee yup last step very important, mine tank height is 2.5ft, after scaping confirm ache every where. lol.

try contacting Chris and see if his tub is still ard

hahaa err... toyogo box? :) actually just guesstimate la. your tank height 2.5ft, just take out ~1.8-2ft water can already lor. Actually I made a mistake. Once you take out sand, will need to add more water later to account for tt. Take out as much tank water as possible w/o sand will be good.

lol... funny....

go for spa after that lah.... more effective.

That's why after I finish rescaping I already booked a spa appointment the following day le. lol

try contacting Chris and see if his tub is still ard

Hmmm can pm me his nick? =p hee dun know which chris u refering too. :paiseh:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

You can go giant to get the largest toyogo container. I got 1 from giant, 79x54x52cm ard 200 litres volume. Got wheels so easier for you to move it near your tank to siphon the water and later pump the water back to your tank.

Hmmm roughly how much is one largest toyogo container cost? :thanks:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Hmmm can pm me his nick? =p hee dun know which chris u refering too. :paiseh:

paiseh, I think his is the large jelly cans, not tub.

Maybe you would like to post and see who has one lying around.

Chris = peihao83