Livestock?

Went to the Pasir Ris Farm yesterday and bought ALGAE rocks not liverock. Since im a newbie i just bought it washed it.....some animals came crawling out like a snail, two small crabs and a clam. Since i thought they would do no harm i put them back into the display tank. Then, today when i turned on the lights OH MY GOD :o there were a couple of centipides-like animals in the tank. Are these good? AM i doind the correct thing? :(

i think the rock that u bought, seem like live rock. u should cure it before putting it into your tank ;)

SBS_Transit

Taking out the rocks is NOT curing them. Curing is the process whereby the rocks are left in a tub of saltwater and let all the die-offs to occur. After all the die-offs have occured, the rock is considered to have been cured.

Since your in the cycling stage, just leave them in the tank as the die-offs are needed to start the cycling process.

I have one of those polychaete worms in my tank..about 10cm long and looks extremely menacing. So far it has not attacked anything..not even my 1-2cm yellow rock goby.

kill those worms and take out your rock,

hey hey pls don't give wrong information ;););) I think the centuipede like worm is most probably a bristle worms(of course without photo, this is my rough guess) and bristle worm are in fact very good dertivore and scavenger and IMO one should nto remove them, let say kill them. If you dun want the worms i am willing to adopt for you ;);)

a CLAM came crawling out of the rock?! :o:o:lol::ooh:

yeah just like what DA said anyway... might be bristleworms.. ;)

hmmm...pple pay a premium to get live rocks that comes with the critters. It helps to seed the sand. FOr the worms,pods, etc, they play a major role of swifting the sand below, preventing sand from clumping & move the N2 up from below. I would only remove the crabs and mantis only.

Guess pple nowadays are flushing the money out into the bowl!!!

Still its better than pouring hot water onto the rocks!!!

Wei :)

I also got this bristleworm in my LR.. think no harm is done.. my fish corals not affected by it. Very seldom see it... when i do.. he's like a rockworm like that came out from one hole and burrow into another. heheh is a bit scary lah.

I think algae rock is LR, no difference lah just that it's covered with Algae. In my first setup i got a few rocks with these too... but somehow think they cannot survive and a lot turn brown and die off and they just withered and drop to my sandbed... Grrrr messy man and some just drop off and float around in my tank... fed up.. took them out and pluck out all of them LOL.