Live Sand (from either Aquamarin or Reefdepot) effective?

chanbi

Hi, am thinking whether it is worth it to get a few packets of the above? Are they really live sand? Anyone has experience with adding them? Will u recommend? :unsure:

what live sand is that? AM should be selling Nature's Ocean and RD sells Caribsea. Both are equally good.

Nature's Ocean got some water in them so have to take into acct some of the weight is actually water not sand.

I used Caribsea. No problems

i myself brought live sand for two of my tank my 4ft i buy from RD indeed it shorten the time of cyclying and algea problem lesser compare to the first time i set up till now notice got no algea problem liao

as for my 3ft i brought from ah beng 2 boxes it does also do the same and the algea problem is lesser week by week

but both i also got mix with grade 0 dead sand as big hole later lol

but if u plan to cycle ur tank long enough before u start live sand is not a must as u can caltivate it by bateria dose to make live

so it depend on weather how u wanna start ur system but take note some element doesn't exsit in our bateria dose

Hi, am thinking whether it is worth it to get a few packets of the above? Are they really live sand? Anyone has experience with adding them? Will u recommend? :unsure:

I used them for my sand together with SW purchase from LFS.

I have added 4 fishes with just a couple days cycling time and till today I have not seen any spike in ammonia or nitrite.

I have been dosing bacteria for the initial week though.

The other factor is that I have been using cured rocks and rocks from reefers.

Verdict: Overall I think it helps to shorten the cycling time tremendously but pls do not treat it like a miracle sand.

Ultimately if you understand the nitrogen cycle and practice sensibility, you will be able to leverage on these sand capabilities.

I would recommend using them if you can.

bro, if u need some, i may be able to help u get good deal but no promise got stock. pm me if u need help.

do chk the grade with him, good deal also.

hmmm dun think there is diff grade for livesands, pls correct me if i am wrong.

only diff colour.

i meant the sand size....grade 0, 1 and so on....pardon me if i sound confusing. Thanks for the correction.

hehe.. thats what I meant. there is only 1 standard sand size for live sands right?

not really...super fine is grade 0....there is grade 1 also.....and those shell type....grade 0 good for wrasse....but for strong current....and clearing....lol

i think the higher the grade,

the larger the size of the grain of sand..

Solo, thanks for the reminder.. Nature Ocean do come with various grain size whereas Reefdepot is standard (but within the pkt there is a range of sizes).. Didn't realise that Irwana and Reborn also sell Live Sand? Any idea what is the brand? :thanks:

RB has nature's ocean.

CaribSea also has their 'oolite' range which can be counted as grade zero.

I brought my grade 0 from ah beng price wise i know not bad when i brought though forget liao. but my goby and wrasse love it compare to my 4ft larger grade

offtopic. anyone know where to get argonite for substrate (all white), natureocean argonite substrate come iin diff shades of color.

Solo, thanks for the reminder.. Nature Ocean do come with various grain size whereas Reefdepot is standard (but within the pkt there is a range of sizes).. Didn't realise that Irwana and Reborn also sell Live Sand? Any idea what is the brand? :thanks:

Irwana yes this's the one

BLACKSEALAB Premium “VolcanALive†Trace & BioSubstrate

VolcanALive is specially processed substrate found in regions where intense coloration corals thrive with great water clarity. VolcanALive provides much more than essential trace minerals elements and will reduce cycling time in new tank setup as it contains essential marine bacteria.

Guaranteed corals will thrive and water clarity enhanced in your marine tank with addition of this product! With it's unique magnetising effect, you can see the immediate effect for the clarity of your tank's water!

Directions

- Sand bed,

- Refugium

- Media Reactor.

Recommendation 50% change after 24months period.

Price @ $55 for each 5kg packet!

Why do you need to change them after the tank matures?

for RD come is Caribsea Ocean Direct Caribbean Live Sand not natures ocean 1

Pls dont use the volcanALIVE in your main tank. If you want, put in your sump or FR. Ask around and you will know why.

Irwana yes this's the one

BLACKSEALAB Premium “VolcanALive†Trace & BioSubstrate

VolcanALive is specially processed substrate found in regions where intense coloration corals thrive with great water clarity. VolcanALive provides much more than essential trace minerals elements and will reduce cycling time in new tank setup as it contains essential marine bacteria.

Guaranteed corals will thrive and water clarity enhanced in your marine tank with addition of this product! With it's unique magnetising effect, you can see the immediate effect for the clarity of your tank's water!

Directions

- Sand bed,

- Refugium

- Media Reactor.

Price @ $55 for each 5kg packet!

Pls dont use the volcanALIVE in your main tank. If you want, put in your sump or FR. Ask around and you will know why.

say half dun say half.... what's the reason bro?

already pmed you. Appreciate your understanding. Thanks.

Lol Thanks! I was trying to figure out what that pm was about.

Too many posts this morning lol.

Reborn sells carribsea also..

Anyone has experience with Carribsea black sand? i am looking at the hawaiian 1... looks very cool.

Also, can i mix say some non-live sand, which are finer grade at the bottom (black sand also) and then top it up with the live black sand?

Any difference in this way?