2 cheapo skimmer Vs 1 branded skimmer

kouz

Yo Guys,

which one do you think will skim better

1) 02 x weipro2014 skimmer running concurrently on a same tank

Or

2)01 x expensive skimmer eg- H&S, Aqua C EV skimmer

IMO, i think option 1 is cheaper and more efficient compare 2 option 2.

So what do u guy think?

HHmmm....i still think it is cheaper if u are talking abt teh price of buying weipor skimmer and pumb...it shouldnt cost u more then $400 for 2 weipro2014 and 2 SCCI Extrema.

talking abt electrical bill, some branded skimmer need powerful pumb <_< with higher watt to drive the skimmer.

i would talk about cheaper not in terms of price, electrical consumption or maintenance... for me cheaper means getting a quality product that will do the job well.... no point getting talking about a cheap product when it does not work efficiently, its a total waste of money.... but then again, it's just my opinion.....

precisely. an expensive skimmer doesn't necessarily mean it needs a top of the line pump to work.

when it comes to using two things in tandem, do remember that the replacement will be for the two items. pumps times 2. hose x 2. work x 2. after a while you'll get sian of maintaining two items at one hand.

economically, it may be cheaper. but do remember that the thought of maintaining something so troublesome may dampen your spirits and cause you to give up altogether.

precisely. an expensive skimmer doesn't necessarily mean it needs a top of the line pump to work.

when it comes to using two things in tandem, do remember that the replacement will be for the two items. pumps times 2. hose x 2. work x 2. after a while you'll get sian of maintaining two items at one hand.

economically, it may be cheaper. but do remember that the thought of maintaining something so troublesome may dampen your spirits and cause you to give up altogether.

you got a point :idea:

actually the main point is that the 2nd skimmer in the line will just be skimming out just water.

how good the skimmer perform is determine by how tiny the bubbles it can produce. so it doesnt mean that 10 weipro skimmer in parallel beats 1 top notch skimmer.

anyone correct me if i am wrong. i dun wanna be passing on wronf info too.

2 weipros may be as efficient as 1 H&S, Schuren, AquaC...but the long term cost of running 2 pumps and with the heat generated by 2 weipro pumps as opposed to one Aquabee (usually used for Schuren, on't know about the others) will not be worth the while.

Also, the material(acrylic) for the better brand are thicker and better quality.

Anyway, 2 weipros is about the same price as 1 AquaC EV. I'll go for the better brand.

of coz reefer guy, weipro skimmer can skim pretty well too compare to those expensive skimmer. IMO, weipro skimmer are cheap and efficent.

EH I am a weipro user and my uncle has a h&S skimmer, IMO the skimmate of weipro is no way compared to h&S. Yes there maybe dark kopi old but i notice weipro skimmate has very little foam.

2 weipro's might cost as much as an aqua-c actually... 2 skimmers = $200 approx... 2 good pumps to run them... maybe $100 so makes it $300... :rolleyes: