Zorden Shallow tank

zorden

• Replies 544

3x3x1.5 cannot lah.. unless i am going for ios.

3x3x1.5 i still need to factor in 0.5 for eos then it will be 3x3.5x1.5. ei... abit weird

Bro, are you going to do a partition to cover up your pipes, eos etc? if you are, I don't see why cannot go for 3x3 luh. if buay sai, then go 2.5 luh. Still better than nothing right. :snore: still have the depth by the 2.5 ft (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Bro, are you going to do a partition to cover up your pipes, eos etc? if you are, I don't see why cannot go for 3x3 luh. if buay sai, then go 2.5 luh. Still better than nothing right. :snore: still have the depth by the 2.5 ft (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

u mean this? post-6893-1257825192.jpg

Hey, this is what i have in mind for my 3x3x2... Cool right the scaping..

haha the scaping is super cool, but then how to recreate in 3x3x2? It looks like a 5x5x3 to me!

btw, RB has 2 really nice tank builds to check out at their shop now, especially if you are interested in 3ft height :)

haha the scaping is super cool, but then how to recreate in 3x3x2? It looks like a 5x5x3 to me!

btw, RB has 2 really nice tank builds to check out at their shop now, especially if you are interested in 3ft height :)

A smaller version lor... I not wrong it is not a cube tank the length is longer... Maybe a 4x3x2... or Somewhere within this aspect ratio..

Hi Ed,

water will definately not come off the edge and it is not suppose to happen that way in any kind of aquarium be it fresh or salt water tanks but what we will not want is for salt creeps which like u say at least abit of creeps is expected.

I have done my "homework" on a fair tank like that years ago and decided to put off the idea due to a visit to a reefers home and his sticky floor really turns me off.

if bro zorden dont mind,than it should be ok.

best is not to have sand on such kind of tank to avoid sandstorm too.

bro zorden,if you intend to keep prata that kind of coral which really need very small and weak current,than you have something real tough to play with.

talking to you afew times and know that you really put in alot of effort to do and research your tank and design.

all the best. hope you have no regrets.

No sticky floors for me lol

I've done 3 shallow rimless (1 is mine and another 2 is local reefers here which I help to set-up) and as long as you get the Steams pointing at an slight angle upwards, you should get the flow - minus the sticky floor. My floor is wooden so wife will kill me if sticky lol.

Just my 2cents

Maybe Ed can share with us how you manage salt creep and sandstorms with your shallow tank, which I understand is only 16"?

Salt creep is to the minimum as with all rimless, even on a 24" created by the wave and not by the shallow tank.

As for sand storm, I used Aragonit Coral sand - 3 – 5mm in size. As long as the streams is pointing at a slight angle upwards, there will not be any sand storm. I used 2 x 6105 and 1 x 6201 for my flow :eyebrow:

18 inch no need bracelah.

Going for braceless i think altantis doing it. going for bottom bracing. don mind increasing to 15 mm thick glass but is there a need? well mine is 12 mm for 3.5x2x1.5

For a brace less (eventhou shallow), I would recommend to used at least 15mm thickness or you might get a slight bow in front. :whistle

can someone sponsr me sea water. will try to run a pail in my rom to see if the floor is sticky...

btw if u looking at side view of tank

do you think the protruding eos is an eye sore?

IMO, you should have an internal overflow instead but set it up off center to be inline with your aquascape. This way, your tank can be flush to the wall (which will look neater) and you avoid having an ugly gap behind your beautiful Ferrari cabinet.

For a 3 side view tank, an internal overflow always looks better and can easily be hidden as part of your scape. :eyebrow:

What's the space you have to work with Zorden??

Maybe I can whip out some different options for you... maybe a layout of your room and location of the tank will help us give you better ideas...

From my reading, I believe your tank is in your bedroom so noise, easy maintainance and clean look should be the key issues here for your overall tank design and there are many ways we can achieve that.

:eyebrow:

well i have space of let say 4ft x 3ft floor area set for my tank but i wont want something too bulky in my room. Especially i may use my floor for my exercise routine. :)

i want something bigger then 3fx2 but something minalist to look at. LOL

As for noise. well in SG, its very pack together thus noise is something common.

well i have space of let say 4ft x 3ft floor area set for my tank but i wont want something too bulky in my room. Especially i may use my floor for my exercise routine. :)

i want something bigger then 3fx2 but something minalist to look at. LOL

As for noise. well in SG, its very pack together thus noise is something common.

Do we allow links to other thread here?? Cause I help design a friend's tank and I think will suit your needs better IMO for your bedroom.

Please advice?

Do we allow links to other thread here?? Cause I help design a friend's tank and I think will suit your needs better IMO for your bedroom.

Please advice?

yes i think they allowed it.

Here...check out a friend's tank I help to design.

http://www.worldwidereefers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2170

This 'tank in the making' is already the talk in HK. His layout is similar to yours (apart from a smaller scale for yours) but you will see an internal off center overflow which I think will look a lot better as you can then flush the cabinet/ tank towards the wall with min space.

A couple of things is also being plan for the backdrop of the tank so stay tune to his build thread..... overall look will be modern, clean and min noise oooh did I mention easy to maintain as well....

:whistle

Here...check out a friend's tank I help to design.

http://www.worldwidereefers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2170

This 'tank in the making' is already the talk in HK. His layout is similar to yours (apart from a smaller scale for yours) but you will see an internal off center overflow which I think will look a lot better as you can then flush the cabinet/ tank towards the wall with min space.

A couple of things is also being plan for the backdrop of the tank so stay tune to his build thread..... overall look will be modern, clean and min noise oooh did I mention easy to maintain as well....

:whistle

wow the build looks amazing Ed! Especially the concept of a slide in sump! (I'm still on page 2... gonna have to read this later after work) Thx for sharing with us!

:bow: Jedi Master!