Zorden Shallow tank

zorden

got alot of low ballers ard... tsk tsk. if cannot sell, then act as backup skimmer? :lol: I like the idea of building a small cabinet for the skimmer though. Can act as future space for possible upgrades like a frag tank.

Sure! I wanna enjoy and learn from your tank too. If possible, in future I would like to keep a 3x3x1.5 or 4x3x1.5 if I have the budget actually.

Well 3x3x1.5 is my dream.. well infact i almost wanted to get this but i find it too big for my ROOM thus better don. well for this small tank i seems to invest alot. from future Aircon chiller to CR and skimmer. Well if cannot get a good price. i will use it loh.. just get a cabinet to house the skimmer.

actually maybe i can house the skimmer in the cabinet. Hmm well may bring the skimmer down to the carpenter for a discussion. :)

• Replies 544

what the implication of using this skimmer rated @ 325 gallons for my tank let say 100 gallon max with sump?

will be using dosing pump and CR so what the issue...

got alot of low ballers ard... tsk tsk. if cannot sell, then act as backup skimmer? :lol: I like the idea of building a small cabinet for the skimmer though. Can act as future space for possible upgrades like a frag tank.

Sure! I wanna enjoy and learn from your tank too. If possible, in future I would like to keep a 3x3x1.5 or 4x3x1.5 if I have the budget actually.

we can have coffee nearby GO or Reborn or Ayer Rajah hawker centre....i would like to join too...haha

hahaa told you le bro, no shopping for me anytime soon... but yes, when Zorden sets up his tank... think my wallet should have recovered :P

scary.. i find myself doing something new in SG but its very common in the states to have rimless shallow tank

Maybe coz they never take off their shoes there and don't know how sticky the floor actually is? :fear:

can someone sponsr me sea water. will try to run a pail in my rom to see if the floor is sticky...

btw if u looking at side view of tank

do you think the protruding eos is an eye sore?

Not an eyesore. but flat behind will be nicer.

that the top view as the dark blue will be the IOS?

That will take up precious tank space.

I think a corner IOS will be better instead of the whole length.

I think what bro Jacky meant is to do away with EOS and just have a flat glass panel behind but not a whole length of IOS but a small one at corner..

hmm... LOL from the front. EOS look perfect

Frm side EOS is eye sore... LOL

option 1: leave it as it is. But remember that there will be a gap between the wall and the back of your cabinet. This is an exposed area that will collect dust. you will need to clean and mop it in future. make sure you can access these floor areas.

option 2: change to IOS so you have a flat panel behind and can flush it closer to the wall.

option 3: ask your tank maker to extend the carpentry to cover up the EOS so that the back will be flat. (see pic below)

I am just thinking aloud here. they may or may not make sense. I did not put much thought into it.

just something for you to ponder about. if you are putting this in your room, gotta make sure that the overflow does not make too much noise.

In the dead of the night, even the Vortech humming sound can be quite noisy. (** I am very sensitive to noise. Comy can vouch for that lol)

Maybe coz they never take off their shoes there and don't know how sticky the floor actually is? :fear:

hmm Zorden, I can leave my open tank uncovered for 4 days.

You come and help me mop the flr after that to see if it is sticky. hehe.....

K seriously., my tank was uncovered the 1st 2 weeks.

The floor was not sticky leh.

Maybe becuase

- my tank capacity is small

- I do not have a fan blowing at the surface

- no gushing of water at the surface.

- no overflow

my current tank cover also do not have any salt residue on the underside.

I do mop the floor about 1 - 2x a week.

If flr is sticky, my tank will be in the pasar malam thread already.

maybe RedDevil's friend not very disciplined with housekeeping?

Maybe becuase

- no overflow

your tank has v. low turnover la... the return is less than 800L/hr!! how to compare... Zorden's tank will prob have at least 3000L/hr return back to his pump... tt kinda return+high flow coz keeping sps, confirm got salt creep.

Need Reddevilz to confirm la... he's the pro at setup.

your tank has v. low turnover la... the return is less than 800L/hr!! how to compare... Zorden's tank will prob have at least 3000L/hr return back to his pump... tt kinda return+high flow coz keeping sps, confirm got salt creep.

Need Reddevilz to confirm la... he's the pro at setup.

yeah so if there is a lot of gushing/ splashing at the surface from the return pump, then confirm 200% will have salt spray on the flr.

Maybe becuase

- no overflow

Ok, my floor is mop like every 1-4 times a week. My dear domestic helper will aid me in that..

seriously it's not just the floor. I think the tank gonna be in your room right? So most of your stuff will also kena, and I dunno about you, but sleeping on a bed with salt particles... not fun

ok la maybe exaggerating abit, but tt's something for you to find out if you do rimless and tell us so we can learn :)

yeah so if there is a lot of gushing/ splashing at the surface from the return pump, then confirm 200% will have salt spray on the flr.

post-6893-1257825192.jpg

well i like this idea

Well not alot of gushing i wont let it gush.. just let it GO slow.. well the wavemaker will point below.. OFCOZ if its really jialat then gone will be the hoodless. then i will get a hood.. is tat consider a solution?

seriously it's not just the floor. I think the tank gonna be in your room right? So most of your stuff will also kena, and I dunno about you, but sleeping on a bed with salt particles... not fun

ok la maybe exaggerating abit, but tt's something for you to find out if you do rimless and tell us so we can learn :)

comymus... u manage to scare me..

will find out more from another

just end the call with another REEFER who have few open concepts. Well his advice -> As long no splashing there wont be salt creeps even with a high turnover, splashing can be reduced with proper setup thus salt creeps will be almost zero.

I am very sensitive to noise. Comy can vouch for that lol)

comy do u sleep beside Jack to know that he is very sensitive to noise @ the middle of the night. :lol::lol:

just end the call with another REEFER who have few open concepts. Well his advice -> As long no splashing there wont be salt creeps even with a high turnover, splashing can be reduced with proper setup thus salt creeps will be almost zero.

comy do u sleep beside Jack to know that he is very sensitive to noise @ the middle of the night. :lol::lol:

okie... then really looking forward to your setup. I also like rimless, will model your setup for my future tank! :)

err... hahaa how come Jacky sabo me! ya la... he's quite sensitive to noise one. His tank is super quiet even when compared to mine. And those who have seen my tank will know mine is moderately quiet (if there's such a thing) already...

Well my equipment so far shld be dead silent . tunze inside the tank as for the Skimmer.. well it going to be noisy as there is 2 pump and lots of h20 gushing...

post-6893-1257825192.jpg

well i like this idea

Well not alot of gushing i wont let it gush.. just let it GO slow.. well the wavemaker will point below.. OFCOZ if its really jialat then gone will be the hoodless. then i will get a hood.. is tat consider a solution?

If there is no splashing at the surface then I think it is okay especially if you have maid to do the cleaning for you.

If the situation gets really bad which I doubt it, you can always make an acrylic cover - something like mine.

well mine is a simple no brainer type, but you can make something nicer, not affect the look of the tank and still be able to look down from above with clarity.

PS: I am no guru hor, just expressing my logical thoughts. So dun curse and swear at me if you realize I am wrong in the future. Better put disclaimer 1st. hahaha.......

will do it SLOW.... i like it slow :evil:

get tank and cabinet first.. if really cant tahan then add hood loh...

do it slowly... slowly.. .well i am sensitive to sound but my neighbour is noisy..