MaxSpect Aquarium LED Lighting

comycus

lol I only listen to LED gurus :P

Jacky do the blue leds look like royal blue to your eyes?

Ya ... I am LED goondoo

wah you guys really want me to power it up now arh?

12:25 am.

From memory, its a very pleasing colour.

• Replies 260

Ya ... I am LED goondoo

wah you guys really want me to power it up now arh?

12:25 am.

From memory, its a very pleasing colour.

no need la.... lol I will see for my own eyes tmr! :)

btw, there is a 70cm version coming out too for those who need longer fixtures :rolleyes:

bruthen, please post your finding its very interesting to know that there is one product that will be the next big thing and not another rip off.

is this the same products. sorry a LED nooob here

different lah. 1W vs 3W LED.

Hmmm big thing... dun think so.

But a good thing for hobbyist out there since there is now a cheaper alternative.

I do not think this can be classified as a top notch prod but it certainly is decent for its price.

bruthen, please post your finding its very interesting to know that there is one product that will be the next big thing and not another rip off.

bro, he already bought, test, show quite alot of pics le... how can consider rip off? Think China is really stepping forward v. quickly in the products they make. Sure, there are still cheap pirated stuff, but times are changing :eyebrow:

This product may not be able to compete with aqua illumination in terms of performance, but price n design wise, I think this scores quite well!

bro, he already bought, test, show quite alot of pics le... how can consider rip off? Think China is really stepping forward v. quickly in the products they make. Sure, there are still cheap pirated stuff, but times are changing :eyebrow:

This product may not be able to compete with aqua illumination in terms of performance, but price n design wise, I think this scores quite well!

oh was zorden trying to say that I am trying to rip ppl off?

no no,... i mean those cheap led that claim to be able to perform..

i mean those really cmi led lah... zzzz

i am really interested looking at this product hoping it can replace my t5. :)

peace peace...

i am hoping this is a solution for marine lights as i am thinking of getting led for my 3.5ft shallow tank. paiseh if my earlier statement got misrepresented.

:blush: :blush: :blush:

i still find my above statement innocent leh... bro comycus don sabo me lah...

another question. i am using ati 6 tubes. my new tank will be around 2.5ft - 3ft wide and 18inch shallow. is this LED suitable for me if i am keeping sps and lps?

wiping of my cold sweat....

I don't think is the same thing.

'cos they using 1 watt leds

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

no no,... i mean those cheap led that claim to be able to perform..

i mean those really cmi led lah... zzzz

i am really interested looking at this product hoping it can replace my t5. :)

peace peace...

lol cool....I did not interpret it that way too till I saw Comy's post.

Maybe its the early hours, brain not functioning already.

cheers!

another question. i am using ati 6 tubes. my new tank will be around 2.5ft - 3ft wide and 18inch shallow. is this LED suitable for me if i am keeping sps and lps?

18 inch is of the same depth as mine.

As the 110W model light intensity has been verified that it matches the 150 W MH , I am assuming that logically, the 160W / 180W should match at least that of the 250W MH.

So then the next question is would you be able to keep SPS with 150W MH equivalent or 250 W MH equivalent?

I dunno coz I have never kept SPS before.

LPS should not be an issue.

This is assuming the spectral coverage is the same as indicated on their chart.

18 inch is of the same depth as mine.

As the 110W model light intensity has been verified that it matches the 150 W MH , I am assuming that logically, the 160W / 180W should match at least that of the 250W MH.

So then the next question is would you be able to keep SPS with 150W MH equivalent or 250 W MH equivalent?

I dunno coz I have never kept SPS before.

LPS should not be an issue.

This is assuming the spectral coverage is the same as indicated on their chart.

I think if the spec is as claim, then for easy to keep SPS keep it above the mid level of your tank or

6 inch from the LED.

This is only a general guide based on SSC,Cree and Luxeon leds.

Hope it is true for your LED also :eyebrow:

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

:blush: :blush: :blush:

i still find my above statement innocent leh... bro comycus don sabo me lah...

lol no sweat la! No worries

I agree with you about your concerns with led life of more unknown brands, I feel manufacturer has been very upfront in saying this is not an A grade product, and led life is only recommended for 2 years giving performance estimates. I guess the deal clincher is really the 18 month warranty.

Anyway for your shallow tank, think these LEDs will work just fine. Like what Jacky has mentioned, PAR values are 150W equivalent.

lol no sweat la! No worries

I agree with you about your concerns with led life of more unknown brands, I feel manufacturer has been very upfront in saying this is not an A grade product, and led life is only recommended for 2 years giving performance estimates. I guess the deal clincher is really the 18 month warranty.

Anyway for your shallow tank, think these LEDs will work just fine. Like what Jacky has mentioned, PAR values are 150W equivalent.

most important is the HEAT well led not much heat so okay.

so one LED-G1-400-180W: SGD785 is enuff for the spread let say tank is 3.5x3x1.5?

and the led will need to replace? sorry this led stuff is too heavy for someone who know nuts abt wires...and diagram

most important is the HEAT well led not much heat so okay.

so one LED-G1-400-180W: SGD785 is enuff for the spread let say tank is 3.5x3x1.5?

and the led will need to replace? sorry this led stuff is too heavy for someone who know nuts abt wires...and diagram

I just left Iwarna, victor installed the 180w version on one of the tanks. Very impressive, will try to load photos when Im home... It's not enough to cover 3ft, prob 2ft is optimal. not as blue as royal blue, but I believe it is sufficient to bring out the luminous effect

Pics of test unit from Iwarna. The shimmer is nice, lights look pleasing to the eyes, and is powerful enough to reach this 1.5ft deep tank. Of course this is with the help of 2x30W white LED. (my mistake in my earlier post, it is the 160W version, not the 180E version) Might not be as energy efficient as the normal led fixtures in the market now.

post-16489-1257661655_thumb.jpgpost-16489-1257661726_thumb.jpg

Picture of the clip on hanging kit. I don't think it is practical, especially for many of us with bracing. Prob need to diy a hanging kit.

post-16489-1257661963_thumb.jpg

the cool driver :) with vortech pump behind for scale

post-16489-1257662024_thumb.jpg

The compact, sleek design is really really mind-blowing! :eyebrow:

FTS which doesn't do justice to how bright this thing actually is. I have to agree with Jacky, the Iphone camera... not tt fantastic. <_< If you look at the light distribution, the sides are alittle dark. This is a 3ft tank, so like I mentioned earlier, prob would perform best at 2ft and smaller tanks.

post-16489-1257662213_thumb.jpg

I have to disagree with Jacky on the fan sound level. I think it's normal and at an acceptable level. Of course the unit is mounted in an outdoor environment, and compared to the home, might have a slight difference. Overall, it looks like a great product!

I just left Iwarna, victor installed the 180w version on one of the tanks. Very impressive, will try to load photos when Im home... It's not enough to cover 3ft, prob 2ft is optimal. not as blue as royal blue, but I believe it is sufficient to bring out the luminous effect

sigh then have to burn 2 hole for 2 led if its good... abit chor.. on my pocket....

Hmmm... I'm not sure if its just me, but I felt that my 4 tubes T5s seem brighter. Of course, the PAR values speak for itself, and its kinda unfair as I'm comparing my indoor tank vs an outdoor one with my eyes. I was told that the fans only kick in when it gets hot, so if your environment is pretty cool already (mine's in the office with AC :P ), noise from the fans shouldn't be a major issue. Sounds like regular PC fans to me.